We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teamwork” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Whitley Bay, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Teamwork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were staying at the Mercure for one night to attend a couple of events as part of a large group (100+). At the Saturday evening function in the adjacent City Hall, my wife's existing cold became worse so we returned to the hotel earlier than expected. The following morning she wasn't well enough to attend the formal breakfast but was able to remain in our room as the standard check-out time is noon. When I went to join her in reception around 12.15 it was evident that she was still unwell. Whilst I was settling the bill she fainted. The hotel management provided immediate assistance, together with one of our group. Our bedroom was re-opened so that my wife could rest and recover before we caught our train home, drinks were provided and sensible advice given by the hotel First Aid trained manager. Having returned home we received an email message from the hotel enquiring about my wife's health.
We would rather not have tested these aspects of the hotel's facilities but were pleased that they were not found wanting.
This positive and helpful attitude reflected the approach of all the staff we encountered during our brief stay. The accommodation is contemporary and comfortable and the hotel is well placed in the centre of Sheffield and close to the station (£4-5 taxi fare or a 10minute walk). Other members of our group, including several guests from overseas, took advantage of the spa as they were staying for longer. The food was good, although it would have benefitted the cooked breakfast to have had heated plates. Service was efficient and there were plenty of staff to respond to questions or requests. There is free WiFi in the bedrooms as well as public areas and calls to reception were promptly answered.
This isn't the lowest cost hotel accommodation in Sheffield but it is excellent value, which is high praise indeed from a Yorkshireman about something in his home county !

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for your review.I do hope your wife is now fully recovered and was pleased to read how the team assisted with the matter during your time with us. I was also please to read your other comments regarding the hotel and your stay. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    679
    239
    107
    58
See reviews for
347
806
125
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed one night as our true objective was to visit the Crucible Theatre opposite and see a show. We were pleasantly surprised by our location and explored winter gardens adjoined. Room was large, although not the best hotel bed I've ever slept in, (too wobbly, unstable).
Spa in the basement was a good couple of hours relaxation with igloo and fragrance shower, shame no hot tub or jacuzii, we couldn't figure out the aroma room??? Smelt warm and damp at best.
Breakfast was worth turning up for, offered bucks fizz! Superb selection and fresh. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Best view are rooms overlooking fountains and square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was very pleased to read your feedback and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights this month in a privilege room. The room itself was spotless and had everything I needed for my stay. The bathroom had both a bath and shower cubicle which I thought was great. I had some food at the hotel which was lovely and was delivered to the room still hot.

All the staff were really friendly and go out of the way to do the best for the guests. Will be staying here again and will recommend to friends and family

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Redrose0390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night before Christmas. We used the lovely spa where the staff were really friendly and helpful and the spa was very pleasant and clean. We enjoyed being in the hotel bar and apart from a dodgy carpet that rippled across the room, the room was large and clean but a little worse for wear. The bed however had a thin mattress and was very uncomfortable. After and very bad nights sleep I nursed my back for over a week. At reception we were told that the hotel is undergoing refurbishment of the beds but it would take time. This I found unacceptable! They know some of there beds are not fit for purpose but they haven't got round to changing them! Then I was asked why I didn't come to reception in the night to complain! As if it would have been acceptable to move rooms in the night! I had also heard the receptionist telling a guest they were full, but she told me they always have some rooms for occasions like these. Well if they had better quality beds available in other rooms then why weren't we there in the first place!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolenefaruqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for your review.Please can you call me on 0114 278 2000 to allow me to discuss the matter further. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Delightful room 5th floor privilege room,fantastic views,comfy bed.A member of reception staff unhelpful,when challenged continued his rude approach.Spoke to rooms manager who said he would speak to him .Spoilt atmosphere for us.This was booked for my daughters graduation.Breafast in room was cold.One of the preserves already half opened.Veggie sausage just tasteless.Champagne bar staff first class,just this one bloke who really upset our stay,poor show

Room Tip: Just get past chap 0n reception and you cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janelouise5464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I am sorry that everything was to your satisfaction and please be assured we have taken the appropriate action. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is a very good hotel by any standards. Immensely helpful and well trained staff; quiet though city centre location; really good breakfast and a well equipped room and bathroom all helped a successful stay. Wonderful view over Sheffield. Being picky I would say the bedroom lighting is poor for those of us with glasses and someone from Mercure needs to stay overnight in a room to appreciate that power points are not very convenient and that use of the tea tray raises a few problems. Valet car parking may seem expensive but you actually get quite lot for the money and as Sheffield is a bit difficult to negotiate due to one way streets - we appreciated it. Some of our party used the swimming pool facilities and found them good. Dining in Ego bistro is noisy but the food and service very acceptable.

Room Tip: Rooms high up have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank much_travelled819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for one night and made full use of the gym and pool. Excellent equipment in the gym, and it was nice to have the pool to ourselves.....a bit cool at first but very refreshing!

Excellent 'Privilege' room on the fifth floor, all very well prepared and spotless. All staff pleasant and friendly, and a very nice breakfast with plenty of choice.

Our bathroom fan was also on constantly, and we thought that the reception/bar area was a little cool in the evening. Otherwise, a most enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a 'privilege' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steval75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield.I was delighted to read your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing