We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“another excellent stay”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions, the last one being Saturday Feb 1st. The facilities are excellent, rooms well appointed and bathrooms always spotless. the staff last weekend could not have been more helpful, particularly on reception when I arrived and checked out. The buffet breakfast was fresh and well prepared.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spikey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    715
    249
    109
    59
See reviews for
369
836
131
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night for my hen do. There were 12 of us (including me) and we had a fantastic time as part of a package deal booked through spabreak.co.uk - however there were a couple of slight niggles.
The hotel is lovely - a great central location, fantastic light and airy reception and restaurant that is right next to the impressive Winter Gardens. Reception and restaurant staff were helpful and courteous and public spaces were all clean. The rooms (twin rooms for our party) were a good size, although the carpet was bunching in my room, but only a minor detail. The spa was clean and in good shape and I can only praise the food, as we had a three course evening meal included in our package which was great (although the chocolate brownie was quite bitter and most people who had it, left it) and the breakfast (also included in our package) was brilliant - lots of choice of both hot food and continental in a buffet style.

However, there were a few minor things, and while they didn't spoil our trip, made it less than perfect. The lady who did my massage in the spa was great and the massage was lovely but some of the other therapists in the spa were a bit snotty to some of the girls on the hen do and looked down their noses at them a bit. This was out of order and totally unprofessional.
I already mentioned the bunching of the carpet in my room, and the only other niggle was the temperature in the restaurant. All of the glass made it quite chilly, which they couldn't seem to fix, so take a jacket/cardigan! It was a lovely restaurant with a nice atmosphere, though, and this was just a minor niggle.

Room Tip: The views over the winter gardens (even number rooms) were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beakysnouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and will the issues you raised are addressed. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Spent 1 night at this hotel, location is perfect.. Step out of the doors into the city centre. The spa is great various rooms in the thermal suite including an ice igloo! The breakfast was really lovely everything you could wish for! Our room was ok, lovely bathroom and the view really makes it special. Every member of staff I spoke to were cheerful and helpful... Memorable experience.

Room Tip: On one side you have a view of the peace gardens, on the other you have a view of the theatres.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe_craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and will ensure the team are aware of your comments. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night recently for a family gathering in Sheffield. Rooms are lovely, clean and well stocked. Breakfast was tasty and the location was perfect for us. But it was the attitude of the staff that makes this place outstanding.

Helpful and friendly. Top notch service. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who stays in Sheffield.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and will ensure the team are aware of your comments. They will also be delighted hear your comments. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

In a great central location. Reception staff very friendly and always greeted you with good morning etc. the bedroom was a good size however I was disappointed with the bed quality and covers. The most important thing I can mention was if you park at Arundal Gate, you get a plastic disc, it's £18 for 24 hours however the hotel have a machine that reduces this cost to £6:50.. I cannot understand why this is not on web site unless I have missed something. Breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such wonderful feedback regarding you recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read it and will ensure the team are made aware if it. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I recently stayed in Mercure Sheffield with my husband. We had a lovely time and we enjoyed the experience thanks to the guy in reception Amine who assisted us during our check in and check out and was very friendly and welcoming. Also Phillip who gives more value to the hotel and made us feel at home before we had even checked in.Thanks to Sandeep who arrange and booked a train ticket for us . F&B staff are lovely also. We enjoyed the view from the yard restaurant ovelooking the winter garden and the breakfast was tasty and well presented. Thank you once again we will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and will ensure the team are aware of your comments. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel before and didn't disappoint . A short walk from the station and close to bars and restaurants .
Nice large clean rooms. Nice spa area . Although we were missing our robes which was a shame .
The staff were very polite especially in the bar. Dinner in the hotel was nice - overall good value.
Would return - overall a pretty good hotel.
Tip- bring a jumper if you are sitting in the bar or restaurant as it is cold .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueplus4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's. I was pleased to read your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
2,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing