We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all round ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic all round ”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We booked as platinum card holders on the wine and dine package ..... It was superb .... 5 courses .... cava(not champagne ) salmon and ham hock ... Red melot poussin. .spring lamb beef medallion ..... rose with apple and raisin crumble with gorgeous vanilla ice cream .... passed on cheese board which looked amazing but was stuffed to gills! Next time won't eat the bread butter at start of meal or dessert ..... love my cheese ...but just too full of delicious food. .. room was privilege 5th floor ... robes slippers espresso machine papers room service ... 154 pounds an absolute bargain for 5 stars luxury. ...great location. .. headed out to Buxton next day. ... oh and I got to say the breakfast was amazing .....only extra 5 for each for room service .... we ordered way too much but was nice to eat it in bed .... all round relaxing indulgent weekend .... will be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your detailed feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    716
    249
    109
    59
See reviews for
370
836
132
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in Sheffield and a few Mecure's across the country and this is by far the best. Excellent staff and service. Brilliant location in city centre with shops and restaurants within a minutes walk. Close to the train station. Beautiful building with everything you could need in the rooms. We stay in the premium suite about once a month and the super-kingsize beds are the comfiest I have come across anywhere. There is a spa and pool downstairs we have yet to use but will be returning and look forward to using these facilities at some point. Could not recommend more.

Room Tip: Go for the premium rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was very pleased to read your comments and I agree with you regarding the beds - they are very confortable. I am also very pleased that you enjoyed the suite with stunning views of Sheffield. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent service yet again, great stay, nice breakfast and friendly helpful staff. Ideal city centre location with safe car parking nearby. One small negative we couldn't get a family room for 4, if this was arranged we would be most grateful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Den F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was thrillled to read how much you enjoyed your stay and please do contact us to discuss the options for a family room. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sea
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have stayed at the Mercure numerous times, either for Christmas, or for a play at the lyceum or Crucible Theatre. 99.9% of the time we have never been disappointed, it is clean, the spa and gym are 1st class, the rooms are always spotless, the facilities won't let you down. The food is always fresh and yummy, breakfast is one of the best I have ever had, apart from the Salutation at Ambleside, although the mercures price for breakfast is very steep at nearly 17 pounds, yes worth it, but still very expensive and the bar drinks can also be a bit over the top. But anyway Free wi-fi, Sky sports in your room, thick walls, large windows with some nice views, very attentive and pleasant staff, please go you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magoo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear GuestThank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. I was very pleased to read your feedback and will ensure the team are aware of it. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here on 30th may for a night we were in Sheffield to see a show at the city hall and then meet up with some friends from sheffield on saturday. Brilliant hotel very clean the staff are excellent and its ideally situated only a short walk from the train station, and about a three minute walk from the city hall, ther are also plenty of places to eat and pubs etc within a few minutes.The bar in the hotel is a bit expensive ( a few pence short of £16 for a southern comfort and lemonade and a kir royale ). Will definately stay here again when we next go up to visit our friends.

Room Tip: we had room 507 excellent view over the gardens with the water features / fountains. rooms 507,505,5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIMON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to to review you rrecent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This year we had our annual dinner dance on 22nd/23rd of May. The hotel was excellent and the room we choose was great a premium room, you get free water soft drinks in the fridge a gift pack of crisps water biscuits and bottled Glenlivet water all free. The meal at night was great some of the best rib of beef I have ever tasted, breakfast was standard full English plus continental. Our room was on the 5th floor over looking the Peace Gardens with floor to ceiling windows. If staying in Sheffield I would recommend this hotel to stay at and cost was £114.00 for the night including breakfast

Room Tip: Pick premium room 5th floor no 509
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bittern1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and the meal you ate with us. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for one night and used both the conference and banqueting facilities. Very impressed overall - the food was particularly excellent at our evening function.
Our room was very clean and well presented, and the bed very comfortable.
Reception staff were very attentive and professional.
I would definitely consider staying here again if I find myself needing to stop overnight in Sheffield.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Turreteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa - I was delighted to read your comments and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing