We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, once again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent, once again!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

With some hotels you can visit twice and get two completely difference experiences - not here, got the same (if not better?) service and quality! This is genuinely my favourite hotel - the staff are warm, patient and helpful, and the food in the restaurant (and waiting staff) are absolutely top notch. This has become 'our' hotel for special occasions and celebrations.

The only problem we had was that we had paid for valet parking but unfortunately, due to the Sheffield marathon being cancelled/not cancelled (Bottled-Watergate!) we had to get traipse our luggage through the hotel to the car park - this was not the fault of the hotel though but they were very apologetic and they made sure that we knew how to get home and avoid the marathon traffic.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a premium room - doesn't cost much but well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwok P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    715
    249
    109
    59
See reviews for
370
836
131
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on business 9 July and congratulations to every member of the staff team. Nothing was too much trouble and the service was second to none. Large room - central location with the option of valet parking. It didn't have dinner in the hotel but breakfast was excellent. Special thanks to Mercedes who made my cappuccino even though the technology was trying to get the better of her - she never lost her sense of humour. No hesitation in recommending this city centre hotel and would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and will ensure the team are aware of it. I sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely relaxing stay at the Mercure. It is very central but once inside it is very quiet. Great spa / gym attached and really friendly staff. The premier rooms are only £20 more than a standard and I think it is worth spending a little more for a high quality room.

I would certainly stay here again and would definitely recommend it to friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darling1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and was pleased to note you had a relaxing stay. I sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My friend booked a very last minute (the night before) trip for the two of us after finding a good deal on Spabreaks for this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were both impressed. The staff were extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble for any of them (hotel and spa alike). The reception area was fancy without being ostentatious, the room was immaculately clean with comfortable beds, the spa facility was second to none and the breakfast in the morning....wow! We were greeted with the offer of Bucks Fizz, and the buffet is the most extensive I have ever seen.

The only one minor point I would have is about the parking. It is not clear at all where to park, so I had to park in a "no parking" area to go in and ask. I was helpfully advised that there is an NCP down the road which the hotel offers a discount for so it is only £6 for 24 hour parking, but it was not the easiest to find.

That extremely minor point aside, I have nothing negative to say about the hotel or the spa, and have in fact already booked a weekend there for my parents' wedding anniversary. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who fancies a little luxury without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: The room was incredibly quiet despite a hen party split throughout the surrounding rooms, however ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We only stayed one night and it was lovely, the location was fantastic as it was very central. We were on the fifth floor and had a great view over the city. The room was very comfortable and bed lovely, very quiet too and the staff very extremely friendly in particular Hannah Hart who was working on reception couldn't do enough for us!my only reservation would be given the price I'm not really sure it was good value for money but it was a lovely place to stay and I would go there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we stayed there as a couple in superior room for one night, we opted for the Privilege room as was suggested on Trip advisor and was worth the money. 3.5 mm jack attachment so you can listen to your own music using the speakers in the bathroom with has separate bath tub and shower, robes, slippers, teeth brushes and many others were there. nespresso coffee machine lovely, the view was good but not excellent. very comfy bed, breakfast was brilliant as expected. couldn't fault it , unfortunately couldn't get the time to try the spa or the pool facilities to comment about them. the only thing that can be better is if the confirmation email give the options of different car parks who have arrangement with the hotel and there exact addresses as not easy to find

Room Tip: Privilege room was worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zafaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley Surrey UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed on business. Friendly check in, fantastic big room, comfy bed, power shower. Huge choice at breakfast and nice cocktail bar. Couldn't fault it! If I needed to go again I would stay here whether business or leisure. Only 7 min walk downhill to train station as well

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing