We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hen do experince”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hen do experince”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed over here on 19th July for a hen - 13 of us in total.
The hotel was lovely - the staff at reception were very welcoming and all the rooms were ready before check in which was nice.
The staff at the bar were also very good considering there was 13 of us ordering different drinks and food and wanting to pay separately.
The staff in the spa were very good - I had a pedicure with my sister and the 2 ladies (sarah & Shannon) were nice and chatty and made us feel welcome.
The evening meal was fantastic and the fact we were all on the same table for breakfast aswell was a very nice touch.
Would definitely stay again - the staff to the location was just brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elav1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay for a hen night celebration at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    721
    251
    110
    60
See reviews for
371
848
132
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I organised a group booking for two nights and found both facilities and service first class. Sheffield has had some significant regeneration in the last ten years, and through both its design and customer experience, the Mercure hotel is undoubtedly the jewel in the crown of the new development!

Our rooms were clean and spacious, likewise facilities were excellent giving bars for the boys, spas for the girls and plenty of room for little ones to runabout. In addition, the breakfasts were a particular highlight, offering great choice, quality and ambiance which ensured a postive start to each day.

A word as well for the staff - everybody we encountered from concierge to reception to bar staff to housekeeping were tremendously helpful and attentive to our group's needs. They added so much value to our stay and seemed a genuinely nice team who supported each other.

Overall, the hotel is a real find, and delivers that all-too-rare experiance of a classy getaway which many hotels promise, but few deliver. We shall definitely be returning to the Mercure, and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Peace Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having decided to book a hotel to complement a night out in Sheffield for our anniversary we were both delighted with our choice.

We upgraded to the premium room and were given a complementary drink as it was our anniversary from the incredibly helpful staff.

The rooms itself was immaculate and had a great view of the winter gardens.
The bed itself was huge and was very comfortable.

Looking forward to coming back here in the future.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the premium room for the size of the bed alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1977magpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was my 2nd visit to the hotel and it didn't fail to impress yet again. The hotel was immaculate, the staff were smart, polite and very friendly. This was a day spa break that I had booked for myself and my daughter as a treat and we loved every minute. We had lunch in the bar, Mercedes who served us was delightful and brought our order quickly. We then went into the spa, the service was very impressive. Very professional and the spa itself was luxurious to say the least. They have a lovely pool, just warm enough and lit in relaxing colours, quiet and calm for a relaxing, not rushed, swim. Then we went in the steam room, they have an aroma room (beautiful smells), a sauna, drench shower, and lastly an ice room! The ice room is great after you come out of the sauna or steam room as it is chilled and you wash yourself down with crushed ice, great for the immune system and metabolism!!! I didn't think I would like this but it was very cooling after the heat of the other rooms. In all areas there are 'chill areas' with really comfy loungers to relax in. Then on upstairs for treatments. Yasmine and Laura were very welcoming, they made us feel at ease and very special. We were asked if we would like to be in the same room and as a mother/daughter treat we thought this would be great. We had an amazing back and shoulder massage, just what I needed for my aching joints, leg massage followed by the most amazing facial! Luxurious products were used, a warm face mask and my skin looked amazing. After your treatments you can help yourself to a drink of tea, coffee, juice etc and again chill in the relaxation room. And it is relaxing, to say the least.
We had an amazing time, pure pleasure and we can't wait to go again!!! I couldn't find any fault with the Mercure, I would recommend this hotel for anyone, whether you want a day spa like us or to stay over or just for a party/wedding. 5 stars from me!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and will ensure the whole team are aware of it. I sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night with friends. The hotel staff who checked us in were friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. The use of the spa is included in the room rate and I would highly recommend using this. It's a good spa area with a nice swimming pool. The breakfast was very good too. The hotel is in a fantastic location in the city centre. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ALBoro8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing