We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredibly pleasant staff”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My Mother, my daughter and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. My mother has very limited mobility: she is unable to walk unaided at all due to arthritis. This necessitates use of wheelchairs and mobility scooters. She remains, though, as independent as possible.
The accessible rooms provided by the Mercure St Paul's proved to be ideal: she was able to get both her own wheelchair into it and a hired mobility scooter as well. The bedroom was pronounced extremely comfortable and she was treated with a great deal of care and consideration by every member of staff with whom she had dealings.
I had researched the facilities before our arrival (having stayed there before a number of times) in order to make sure that this trip would be viable, but the outcome exceeded even my expectations.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Needless to say, my daughter and I were equally happy with our short holiday in Sheffield. The room that we stayed in was comfortable (feather pillows would be gratefully accepted though) and clean and the breakfast as usual delicious and plentiful. We all enjoyed the evening meal.
It is potentially difficult to satisfy 3 women of 84, 56 and 22, but satisfied we were. Thank you for the entertainment recommendation for our second night. It was both fun and reasonably profitable!
Even the pick-up problem which occurred with the hired mobility scooter due to a mobile phone break down on our departure was handled with aplomb and good humour.
We got a very good internet deal for our rooms making our stay very good value. Restaurant and bar prices are as expected in a hotel of this standard.
Well done to all at Mercure St Paul's and thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms equally comfortable in my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilithsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield with your Mother and Daughter I was delighted with your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    721
    251
    110
    60
See reviews for
371
848
132
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed in a privilege room due to my Accor Club status, this was a nice room on the top floor. The view was over the Peace Garden’s fountains.
The room was large, comfortable bed and furnished in a modern style to match the recent construction of the property. The bathroom had a walk in shower and a separate bath. Luxury complementary toiletries were available. As a privilege room I expected to have a dressing gown and slippers provided, but these could not be located.
The coffee machine is on display and while complimentary, you get three capsules provided for your stay. There wasn’t any milk or sugar available, so these were left on the machine. It is supposed to be a perk for the privilege room, bring your own sugar and milk if you stay in these rooms in Sheffield.
Spa facilities: I didn’t book any treatments so cannot comment on those, but the pool was just a basic 18 metre pool. The sauna cabin, steam room are in a fab multizone steam, sauna shower and cool room experience area. The best I have seen in any of my stays.
I stayed here after the ibis Sheffield city the previous night, which didn’t have a room available on the Saturday night and I now wish I had booked two nights here instead, as if you read my review of the ibis I recommended to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. Overall I was delighted with your feedback however disappointed that we didn't fully meet your expectations. I sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Really great hotel, in a very central location, stayed for the one night when meeting friends for a night out in Sheffield. Staff very attentive and really helpful. The hotel is really well decorated and the rooms are very nice, with fab decor and very comfy beds.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay in Sheffield City Centre.
Car park is not on site but the Q park or NCP carpark are a stones throw away.
Champagne Bar is excellent, give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mertel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay for a hen night celebration at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for one night on the 25th July 2014. Really good service, efficient check in and check out with an immaculate room. Very good location, ten minute walk from the train station and right next too all the bars and pubs. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Stayed in 119 very good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

From check in to check out, I cannot rate the hotel and staff high enough. Had an absolutely fab time here. We upgraded room at check in. Was only £20 so bargain, (did book through spa breaks.com) so maybe if paid full price wouldn't have been so much of a bargain. Room totally fab. Food gorgeous. Spa good. Slept like a log, bed so comfy. Breakfast really nice. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in 509 was gorg. Parked In a car park that looked like a cheese grater ( can't remembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p00ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent spa break at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was thrilled to read your feedback and certainly hope you can return to us in the future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Recent one night stay, we had two rooms in our party, both privilege rooms.

The weather was hot and the rooms overlooking the Peace gardens had the sun shining straight in making them hot. Not the hotel's fault.

Aircon in one room worked OK, in the other it was virtually inoperative. Even leaving the key card in continuously, so the aircon did not shut off when we left the room, the temperature never got down to approaching comfortable, bearable just, a poor night sleep, which was a shame as the bed was comfortable and linen of high quality.

Of course the soft drinks are inclusive, but not cold as the fridge wasn't working. When questioned about this reception claimed that the previous owners of the hotel had left the fridge cases but removed all the workings. Strange as it was plugged in and there was a temperature control dial inside. Plus the fridge in the other room worked fine. Oh and why have ice buckets when there are no ice machines?

The other room had the advertised Nespresso machine but not this one.

Then the smell in the bathroom, not sure what going on with the drains but it took a fair bit of water down the bath and shower to reduce it, even with the extractors on.

All these issues were raised with reception for attention.

Other than that everything clean, modern, staff very friendly and helpful apart from the misleading answer about the fridge. Good breakfast, definitely better than average.

Not worth the money frankly, despite the location, and lack of car park compared to other Sheffield hotels we have used.

Afterwards we got an email for feedback. Click the link , get a 404 error, page not found. Sort of sums it up really,

Very disappointing. We will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flat_in_Fifth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was disappointed to read your feedback and would like to discuss the matter with you in more detail. Please contact me directly on 0114 278 2000. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

After a not so perfect hotel in London, we were swept away by this one. It was perfect. Not a hitch.

Counter staff were always one step ahead of use, friendly and offering advice even before we asked.

The rooms are large, perfect for doing business and unwinding. The hotel location is center city, which is also a college town, so there is a lot of activity and very interesting places to eat and relax.

We ate at the Ego, attached to the hotel. The menu is middle eastern. Try the Moroccan lamb cooked in a clay pot. For dessert you have to try the Summer Fruit Eton Mess. Photo below.

Walk the greenhouse area next to the hotel. I would love to see it in the snow.

Room Tip: Get up high so you can see the surrounding country side and the medieval town below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_cindy_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing