We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,770)
Filter reviews
2,770 results
Traveller rating
1,441
820
293
136
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,441
820
293
136
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar peace gardens privilege room ice room aroma room experience shower spa facilities winter garden spa break steam room city centre good size crucible theatre lovely hotel ncp car park q park great central location
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 2,770 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

We love coming to St Pauls or does it just gets better and better we stay the night room was beautiful as always came down to the bar the ambience of the bar was phenomenal we entered the restaurant was greeted by a lovely lady called Theresa Hello very lovely young man sorry we forgot his name they couldn't do enough for us then came the food wow the plating was fantastic very picturesque and the flavours were also lovely they really know how to treat a guest so a big thank you to the kitchen staff for a fantastic meal.
We didn't go to the spa as we usually do but thought we would give it a miss this time but the breakfast in the morning was absolutely fantastic also big thank you again to St Pauls Hotel

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alison19681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Alison19681

Oh lovely to read you detailed feedback of you recent stay at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel and Spa.
I am always so delighted and especially so for the team when their hard work and efforts are appreciated. Theresa and her colleagues will be thrilled.
I do hope you will return
Best Regards
Luisa Esposito
General MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

This hotel is perfectly OK and there are lots of positives. The reception staff are excellent and the foyer is great for meeting up with friends and family. Our room was clean and spacious. However, I was disappointed with the basic selection of toiletries. We just had one bar of soap, shampoo and body lotion. There was no shower cap which I find useful. I remember we stayed at this hotel a few years ago and there was a wide selection of toiletries and it felt luxurious. So, I guess they are cutting back as much as possible. Breakfast is buffet style and is well presented. There seemed to be just one chef trying to deal with a busy service on the hot buffet counter. Two customers asked for poached eggs and I noticed this caused staff to argue amongst themselves and there was a bit of an atmosphere. My view is that the kitchen needs more staff so that customer requests can be dealt with in a friendly way. It just feels as if they are cutting back. Having said this the hotel offers a reasonable standard and customers will enjoy the lovely building. The breakfast area has a view of the small botanical gardens and staff are mostly helpful.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2015jnottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel and Spa I was pleased to receive your constructive feedback and I do hope you will return
Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

My partner and I booked a table with a friend for evening dinner.
Very polite and friendly team of staff.
Overall the meals were good but a couple of points I feel need a mention.
Our friend had the pork but it wasn't accompanied by a portion of apple sauce which he felt was a missing key element of the dish. But the pork he said was excellent and nicely cooked.
I had the fish and chips, again it was missing a key element of a wedge of fresh lemon garnish, the tartare sauce of which there was plenty did lack flavour and found it to be quite bland, it looked freshly made and not bought in which is a positive point. The battered fish was somewhat over greasy and the batter was over cooked and over browned, a lighter colour would have been more pleasing to the eye. However the piece of fish itself was lovely.
Despite my nit picking issues on my meal it was overall pleasant to eat and reasonably enjoyable.
My partner had the chicken based Sandwich and thoroughly enjoyed it with no complaints so full marks on that.
Our overall eating experience was good in very nice and pleasant surroundings.
Thank you for a pleasant evening.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 167neilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel and Spa.
I will share your feedback and hope we can use it in a very constructive manner to improve our services to our guests.
Best Regards
Luisa Esposito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

I have stayed here several times, with friends, with my husband, for a hen do. It’s a lovely hotel with fabulous staff and the breakfast is amazing!
Spa facilities are good too and location is brilliant.
Always look forward to my next stay!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KatandLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear KatandLeigh
Thank you so very much for taking the tiem to write such a fabulous review of Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel and Spa.
I was so pleased to read such lovey comments and do hope you will return
Best Regards
Luisa Esposito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We spent the day at the hotel spa last week.
The facilities were lovely and the staff extremely warm and friendly. The lunch in the main bar was included with wine which was hearty.
We particularly enjoyed our treatment's. I had a wonderful facial with DANIELLE. My skin felt revitalised and hydrated for days afterwards.
Her technique was superb and I felt totally relaxed throughout. Highly recommended.
Will return for more relaxation!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Heather
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel and Spa.
I was delighted to read your feedback and hope you will return
Best Regards
Luisa Esposito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews