We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst ever”
Review of Harley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harley Hotel
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst ever”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I consider myself to be well traveled and my job has taken me to some pretty run down and inhospitable places around the world. However, nothing could prepare me for the stay at the Harley. This "hotel" was booked for me by my boss and I will be advising him never to use this place again. Never have I experienced such noise at a time when I should be relaxing after a 12 hour shift. After going to bed at 11pm, I thought that the room was very basic, but at least clean,quiet and warm. I was woken at 1am by the bass of the music downstairs, which continued til just before 4am. This happened yet again the following night at more or less the same times. Unacceptable.
I have had a more peaceful night on a North Sea oil drilling platform during a storm, or in a cockroach infested Indonesian Hotel next to a main road and the building's generator. I am not exaggerating, even custom moulded ear plugs wont give you any respite.
This place needs to be closed down for "hotel" use or come with a government health warning about sleep deprivation, or become the next Guantanamo Bay for breaking inmates. I didn't have the breakfast as I set my alarm so I was maximizing my time in bed. The shower was taken in room temperature water and the water pressure was really low. Thank goodness it was for only two nights. IBIS budget, you are forgiven!
You have been warned.

Room Tip: Book into another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay at The Harley.

We appreciate that the noise from the bar can trouble some of our guests, which is why we make every effort to inform them pre booking and upon check-in, if you weren't aware, we sincerely apologise.

We are sorry the shower wasn't hot enough for you, we can't imagine how this was so. Thank you for your feedback on this, and we'll be sure to keep checking water temperature for the comfort of future guests.

We appreciate you taking the time to review us, even though it wasn't a positive experience for you.

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    38
    16
    66
See reviews for
14
30
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I won't complain about it for the price, the beds were comfy, the beds were clean. It's in a good area and cheap. It's obviously not luxury but not pretending to be either. I'd come back if I was back in town! It is a little loud but nothing too bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aajsmh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Harley!

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollina, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. Went to bed at 10pm (well tried..) and was awake until 4am with the noise of the club and people.
I went down for a burger, and it was reallly good food. The music in there was too loud, if thats what your into its okay.
Overall i wouldnt visit on a business trip for work.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liverpool8726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I had heard about the noise from a friend but nothing could prepare me for this experience. Awoken by obscenely loud club music at 2am. Unlike other gusts, reception did not tell me, nor was I given earplugs.

The room itself was functional, though heavily stained stools and dirty bathroom.

I left at 3am due to the noise and opted to sleep on a national express coach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmorris14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are aware that the noise here can sometimes be a problem for guests, this is why we set expectations at the booking stage by advertising the fact that we have a late bar that is open until 4am. We don't provide earplugs as this is against fire regulations.

Saying this, we apologise for the fact that you didn't get any sleep and that you had to leave us early.

If you would like to email us at: hotel@theharley.co.uk re. 'the dirty bathroom' as we'd like to investigate this complaint more carefully as all rooms are cleaned daily by specialist contract cleaners.

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

In all my many years of travelling in many countries over 5 continents this place has to take the prize for the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

OK so I read the reviews and realised it was above a pub that went on late so I made sure I had my own late night and retired to bed at 2am. I was surprised that my ear plugs didn't filter out the sound even though I was on the 2nd floor but not a prayer. So by 4am I was thinking the sound would ease off a bit and I walked down the stairs to see if it was wrapping up but I was met with dozens of people coming up the stairs with pint glasses in hand moving the party up to the top floor right above my room. This went on until gone 7am and it seems like just about every other room were having their own party too, with music at what must have been illegal levels at any time of the day blasting from all directions.

Then at about 7.20am there was some noises coming from above of what sounded like a drum kit being set up? All night long people were coming and going up the emergency exit stairs right next to my room and footsteps and conversation could be heard through the wafer thin walls. I actually woke up (from my 10 minutes of sleep!!!) to find I actually had developed bags under my eyes and bloodshot eyes too.

So apart from the horrendous, continual noise: The room was worse than many third world hotels in Bolivia. The bathroom tiles had silicon smeared across the ones that were missing. The door had been hacked to size by what must have been an axe. There was long black hairs all over the bathroom, the toilet took 30 minutes to fill and the ceiling had many patches of mould.

The carpet was stained badly in the sleeping area, the curtains just about covered the window and looked like an old rag. The bed had some board on the wall that if you leant on it during the night you could easily take your eye out.

The wardrobes had half an inch of dust on them and and the walls were full of scrapes, stains and the whole room was reminiscent of a prison. To say the place was a dump is doing a disservice to dumps, at least they are ordered and tidy.

The check in procedure was met with some sullen young lady who just couldn't be bothered. I asked one or two questions about the location of the room, directions to a local stadium and both were met with an attitude as though she really had better things to do than talk to people like me. "Why are you talking to me, who are you?"

If you are of the mind that you want to drink all night and don't mind staying in a hovel then this place is for you.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, it's awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 65KMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at The Harley Hotel.

Due to the fact it was graduation week last week, we did have a large group of guests who were looking to party. We apologise that this affected your night's sleep.

With regards to the room, although we appreciate that some rooms are in the need of refurbishment, all rooms are cleaned to a high standard daily. Carpets and curtains are currently being replaced throughout the hotel, and decoration is also in process.

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is no frills - if you're after something refined, relaxed and a good night's sleep, then this definitely isn't the place for you.

However if you're backpacking and looking for somewhere cheap, or on a weekend away with mates in Sheffield and looking for somewhere convenient - this is the place for you.

Stayed two nights with mates on a stag do, location was ideal at the top end of West Street close to a whole host of bars and clubs. Hotel is just about within walking distance of the station, however bus service takes you up West Street.

Room and washing facilities are basic, however the 'bitten alive by dirty mattresses and bed linen' reviews look grossly exaggerated. We had breakfast included, which was a hearty full English if you wanted, whilst there were also sausage/bacon/egg balms etc,as well as basic toast options if none of that takes your fancy.

When you get in after your night in Sheffield the hotel bar is effectively a club and is open until 4am which attracts guests and non-guests alike.

Overall, cheap, convenient and ideal if you're on a budget. However if you're looking for anything more, this is not for you.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road and the main entrance to the pub at the front are noisy until 4am at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will bear us in mind for any future trips to Sheffield you may have.

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My friend and I booked a twin room as we were going to a concert and wanted something central. The location is great but the hotel leaves much to be desired. The shower was disgusting with black mould covering the tiles. One of the divan beds was broken and carpet was filthy. The ceiling had stained tiles. Due to us just basically sleeping there we just made do. Breakfast was good. On returning home I checked my bank statement and realised the Harley had taken £50 out of my account without authorisation. When I rang them the receptionist said it was a charge for a wet mattress. I was absolutely livid that they can do this without even notifying me of any so called damage. I can categorically deny this was caused by either of us. I have made a formal complaint and am currently seeking legal advice. The contents of the room wasn't worth £50...never mind a mattress.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie19671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed to here you didn't enjoy your stay here, however we would like the chance to respond to a few of the claims you have made.

Firstly, we appreciate that some of the showers do need re-sealing, however, this is not dirt as the showers are cleaned daily.

Thank you for pointing out the broken bed, your feedback means that the bed is now fixed.

With regards to the £50 charge....we clearly state in reception that damages, soilage and missing items must be charged for. The charge is fair (even minimal) due to the fact the mattress needed to be replaced, linen thrown away and the room couldn't be sold the following evening.

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
657 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.0 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harley Hotel

Property: Harley Hotel
Address: 334 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harley is a small, friendly hotel next to the University and Hospitals. It is located next to the University of Sheffield tram stop and is 5 minutes walk from Sheffield City Centre. All rooms are simple yet comfortable and well appointed, with en suite, TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel bar has a late license. All room rates include breakfast. 'Please be aware that this hotel is situated above a live music and late night venue which is open until 4am most nights. Noise from the bar can be heard in the hotel rooms, so we are not suitable for light sleepers or early risers.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harley Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing