We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Harley Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Harley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harley Hotel
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Harley Experience”
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Staff were pleasant, sheets were clean, towels were clean, that's the only positive things I can say about this hotel! There were five of us staying in three rooms, and we couldn't believe the state of it!!! The shower cubicles in all three rooms were filthy!!! One shower head wouldn't stay on the wall! The walls were filthy, the headboards were stained and slashed! Net curtain ripped and scruffy, the carpets were stained, muck and dust was thick on the headboards, windowsills, kettle, cobwebs and stains on lampshades, etc..Even the shelves inside of the wardrobes were thick with dust!! .The whole place is really in need of rufurbishing, but there is no excuse for lack of cleanliness!! Do they have a cleaner??

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness and state of furnishings
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret55newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    30
    36
    16
    64
See reviews for
12
30
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fenland
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2007

My girlfriend and I were booked into the hotel by a third party as we were following a band on their UK tour, who were playing at the Arena that night. We arrived early afternoon, given our keys and went up to our double room on the 1st floor at the front. To see ear plugs provided was a sure sign there would be noise at night. The room was very dirty, towels, carpet and bedcover all stained, but worst of all was finding a pair of dirty knickers in the bedside cabinet. My girlfriend was horrified at this and would not stay. The member of staff that was on duty was courteous, is the only positive thing I can say about this place. The photos on the website do not seem representative of what we and our fellow travellers found.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — where do we start!!
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rushfanFenland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

manchester
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2007

I stayed at the Harley hotel in September of this year. I booked through the hotel's website and got a prompt response.
The hotel itself is pretty basic, but the bed was comfortable and i had everything i needed.

I was a bit apprehensive after hearing about the late bar downstairs, but i stayed on a saturday night and i wasn't bothered by the noise - and sometimes it's a bonus to have a good bar on your doorstep! They even provided earplugs just incase the noise was a problem, which i thought was a nice touch.

The best thing about the Harley was definitely the staff whoi are friendly and very helpfull, and the breakfast, which is included in the price.

I'm sure i will be returning to the Harley on my next visit to Sheffield.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank singlewhitefemale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2007

Being from the North of London, I am used to paying around the £30-£35 mark for a decent B&B. Thus, I was a little surprised that the Harley was asking for £42pppn and even more so that they wouldn't give me a discount for an extended (7-night) stay. I booked over the telephone and wasn't really sure what to expect; so colour me disappointed to be confronted with a boarding-school dormitory type room containing only a desk, a single bed and a 12" borderline black&white TV. The en suite bathroom was so awful that it was the first bathroom that I've ever felt dirty inside and even worse leaving! The shower was scummy and the remnants of the guest(s?) before me were still visible- their Imperial Leather shower bottle was lying on the side of the shower! The window was tricky to control and I ended up spending my nights in a stuffy and cramped room. There is no Internet access available in the rooms- so one has to either spend their time at the (noisy) downstairs bar to surf the web or sit in the "reception area" which consists of one bench by the Porters' cabin.
The breakfast was barely palatable and the staff was luke-warm.
It was all so unbearable that I found myself having to leave after the second night and moving on. The funny thing is that the hotel I moved on to is £7 cheaper per night (they even gave me a discount for my 5 night stay!!!) and miles better- I'm writing this review from my comfy Queen-sized bed and enjoying its inclusive WiFi Internet.
All in all, I'd say about the Harley:
On the positive side, the room (3rd floor) was rather quiet considering that it is relatively small and is a hotel/bar.
On the negative side is.. well everything else.
I really couldn't recommend this hotel and wish I'd read a review like the one I've just written before parting with my £84!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank starslilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2006

Came here with a large group for a friend's hen weekend and stayed the Saturday night. Knew it was a budget hotel- paid just over £30 for b&b so wasn't expecting too much.

We were lucky and managed to park right outside the hotel (you have to pay for the daytime but it's only a few quid) but you may well need to look for an alternative if you're driving.

My single room was much like a study bedroom in a hall of residence, a bit battered round the edges but nice enough. However, the cleaning could have been better (found the last person's soap in the shower), no teabags or hairdryer were provided, there was no way of getting the window open (to be fair, I was on the first floor), and the shower temperature dial appeared to be broken so it was stuck on cold. On the Saturday evening, I wished I'd had a shower at Spa 1877, a lovely place where we'd spent the afternoon- didnt cos it was throwing it down with rain outside and didnt want to spoil my new cleanliness... mistake, it was like being back in the plunge pool. BUT- the bed was the best part of the room, it was comfy and looked clean, which was the main thing. And the morning after, a cold shower wasn't the worst thing in the world.

There is a late night bar on the ground floor with DJ- and bouncers- so keep your key with you as you'll need to show it to get back in, and the atmosphere is great if you're out on the lash. It wasn't even too noisy when I went to bed. Tip however, if you have been drinking, borrow a glass from the bar for your late night water, as they only provide you with a little teacup in the room.

Breakfast wasn't great, I have to say- it runs between 9 and 10.30 at the weekends and even though we were down before 10 they had already run out of a lot of the items on the menu. Also be warned, you can't have much if you dont have the fry-up- it's only two items eg cereal or toast- assuming they've got what you ask for- if you like a piece of fruit as well. The service was slow with only one poor lad having to deal with all the diners. But it evoked nostalgia in that it was a bit like dining in a college canteen, and I understand the cafe is indeed popular with students.

Generally the staff- what we saw of them- were nice enough.

Overall- this is a great and atmospheric place to stay if you are here for a night out on the town, or if you are a traveller on a budget who isn't remotely fussed about luxury or snappy service. If you're expecting more, look somewhere else.

  • Liked — The late night bar- and it's dead cheap
  • Disliked — Freezing cold shower and poor breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Borrow a glass from the bar for your late night water as they don't give you one in the room
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jay1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2006

Stayed recently whilst visiting our daughter at university. Excellent location, helpful staff, decent sized rooms, think they're in the process of refurbishing as one room was much more upto date. Bar downstairs was open late with loud music however this couldnt be heard from the 2nd floor. Full English breakfast and freshly ground coffee included in the price made an excellent start to the day. At £52 per night we will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fjbLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,088 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harley Hotel

Property: Harley Hotel
Address: 334 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harley is a small, friendly hotel next to the University and Hospitals. It is located next to the University of Sheffield tram stop and is 5 minutes walk from Sheffield City Centre. All rooms are simple yet comfortable and well appointed, with en suite, TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel bar has a late license. All room rates include breakfast. 'Please be aware that this hotel is situated above a live music and late night venue which is open until 4am most nights. Noise from the bar can be heard in the hotel rooms, so we are not suitable for light sleepers or early risers.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harley Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing