We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like sleep do not stay here”
Review of Harley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harley Hotel
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“If you like sleep do not stay here”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was booked for us in order to attend a wedding so it cost us nowt. Thank goodness for that.
All rooms over a bar open until 4am. Music and students is the name of the game. We stayed on 2nd floor room 44 and coyld still hear the racket.
The room was very basic and worn out. Windows and window frames ibaide and out were filthy. Stains on carpets and lampshades and curtains.
Bedding and towels wwre clean but my wife sustained some bites!
Breakfast was awesome and the staff were very friendly but certainly not a place we will ever stay in again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCasey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    32
    38
    16
    67
See reviews for
14
30
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I had a one night stay on a Saturday and was lucky to get a second floor room because it was rather noisy down in the bar. Couldn't imagine how guests on the first floor got to sleep. The rooms are fairly basic and just what I was looking for.

Breakfast was good (classic full English) and the staff were friendly. If I had one gripe it was the fact I was turned away by the receptionist at 2:30pm because she said check in was open after 3pm. Thought nothing of it until I had checked out and saw quite clearly on my confirmation that check in was fine from 2pm onwards. That did put me out a bit as I wanted to drop my bag and check out the town, not lug it around for another 30mins.

Cest la vie - guess at £44 I got what I paid for.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGreatFlyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Ok so I booked on an impulse and thought myself and my partner would enjoy the music and seeing as neither of us are too old (under 30) that we could join in with the best of them nav party till the early hours!! So with the motto of "who needs sleep!" reiterated to my other half many times we set off for sheffield! When we pulled up we thought "hmmm interesting"! I got dropped off with the bags and my other half went off to brave sheffields one way system and find a place to park. I went in to check in. I walked into the bar and was directed to the reception hatch to be met by a sullen monosyllabic receptionist who was more interested in the computer than me. I paid for the room and was given a key. "I know you requested a quiet room, but there aren't any and it's very noisy tonight" was what I was told. Ok so I knew that already and was hoping it couldn't be that bad surely. I went up to the room with no instructions how to find my room as the receptionist just turned away from me as soon as she handed my receipt! I found my room on the first floor and unlocked the door. Definitely basic which is fine, it's a budget place. But I laid on the bed and fell in a hole in the mattress near the pillows! I then sat and heard how noisy just road noise was through the window and thought "stuff this maybe I can't stomach being awake till 4am when I've been working all week" so I left. It just so much to be desired! I accept that i should have heeded the warnings but honestly thought it couldn't be that bad!!! It's not great and I would not recommend in unless you are a broke student ready to party and I'm glad I didn't stick around to find out how loud it gets!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiffy_redkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Although the Harley website says beware of the noise, it doesn't quite make clear just how noisy it is - the Harley is a bonkers combination of a music venue and a hotel, and the two don't really go together. Do check first what music is playing the night you are planning to stay. They have a very late licence, and the music doesn't stop till 4 am. Followed by the clientele turning out on to the street to go home. Even on the 2nd floor, with earplugs, you will not sleep. Great location for the university. Tired and a bit grubby. Nice breakfast in the bar in the morning, and pleasant staff, but don't stay here if you need to sleep before 4 in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middleagedandgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Please read the reviews before staying here and set your expectations accordingly. This is cheap accommodation which makes no secret of the fact that it is noisy. I was well aware of this before booking. Our rooms were directly over the club so the sound was vibrating through until 4am but I knew this was going to be the case so no issues there and this was absolutely fine for our Stag Party. It met our needs very well indeed.

The rooms are a bit the worse for wear but they were clean and I found the bed comfortable.

The location is great, there's a tram stop right across the road and a Sainsbury's next door plus plenty of pubs and bars very close by.

The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was very good and available to late into the morning.

If I go back to Sheffield for a party weekend then I would happily stay here again. For a quiet weekend away? Probably not.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the second floor to at least mitigate the noise a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MulchyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Booked it on late rooms- cost double room £31- yes it was basic but clean. The bar downstairs is very lively with Sheffields finest student shinanigans till 0400hrs, and the hotel/bar is near a busy junction so be cautious if a good night sleep is what your after- if you like live bands and DJ's then this is it. Close to west street busy bars and restraunts Harley does fabulous burgers at reasonable price- and breakfast for a fiver aint to be sniffed at - exceeded my expectations and would visit again

Room Tip: second floor is a bit quieter, but the rooms at the apex have the best view of sheffield shinanigans
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Late night debauchery - every night - which is great for students living in the area - and good that someone provides this service!

I stayed at The Harley with my husband.
The hotel is central to the university area of Sheffield which is where we wanted to be.

Student parties take place each night - but they do end at 4 am.
Actually, anyone staying at The Harley is made aware that party noise travels to guest rooms. This was not a problem for us as we sometimes sleep with the tv on - and did so at The Harley.
However, I couldn't cope with more than one night.

Our room was very large and overlooked interesting streets of Sheffield but the bathroom was very small and hopeless for doing the evening girly makeup etc.

Best about The Harley is the big breakfast which is available till 11:30.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynneHaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#36 of 53 in Sheffield
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harley Hotel

Property: Harley Hotel
Address: 334 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harley is a small, friendly hotel next to the University and Hospitals. It is located next to the University of Sheffield tram stop and is 5 minutes walk from Sheffield City Centre. All rooms are simple yet comfortable and well appointed, with en suite, TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel bar has a late license. All room rates include breakfast. 'Please be aware that this hotel is situated above a live music and late night venue which is open until 4am most nights. Noise from the bar can be heard in the hotel rooms, so we are not suitable for light sleepers or early risers.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harley Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing