We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as premier as usual, just ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not as premier as usual, just ok.”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a family visit to Sheffield. The hotel overall was just ok. We regularly use Premier Inns and unfortunately this hotel was not up to usual standards which I have to add are generally very good. We had several issues during our two night stay which could have been avoidable.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor - the noise levels from the rooms above are high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smacx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    129
    42
    13
    7
See reviews for
141
143
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Recentlly stayed here with my husband as we attending a nearby wedding. The service was excellent and you cant beat £29 a night at this level of comfort!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahwright73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Usual Premier Inn experience. Friendly staff and comfy beds, clean and great deals. This one very handy for Sheffield Speedway with ample car parking and with a Tay Barns and a McDonalds and a petrol station on the door step what more could you want?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeedwayFan090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield, uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

booked 3 rooms for 6 women for a sedate hen night. easy to book online, recieved plenty of email confirmations in run up to stay. room was absolutely immaculate.
rooms were spotless, bathroom so clean it was cleaner than mine!
bedding very fresh. rooms were very clean, spotless.
receptioin staff polite, very friendly and helpful.
housekeeping staff very friendly and polite.
generous tea and coffee (more than travelodge!
the £7.99 breakfast was really good - lots of choice and all very hot. restaurant staff very cheerful and helpful - accomodated a friend who only wanted a hot drink whilst we had the full breakfast.
on checkout the reception staff were friendly and chatty, and wished us a happy weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Just wanted to say that the staff in your Hotel were really helpful and cheerful and went out of the way to help us.Just came back from a weekend at your Hotel and as per usual it was spotless and could not fault it. My family and I spend alot of time in your Hotels across the country throughout the Year. There are value for money!!!! We have only accounted a couple of issues over the years we have stayed however this has not stopped us coming back time after time. Just booked 5 days stay for July so looking forward to that. Thanks Premier Inns

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southcliff2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

No hestitation in staying here again, very clean and spacious bedroom and bathroom, Quiet, good food in 'all you can eat' Taybarns next door - and friendly staff in both
Sadly not much to do within 10 miles, but very good further afield (or stopover between sightseeing)
Stayed Premier 2 yrs ago near St Pancras that was very good too

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetshireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Really nice hotel with friendly staff and a high level of cleanliness. Better than other budget equivalents

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catlynda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
1.6 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
238 reviews
2.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,005 reviews
8.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Address: Maple Road | Tankersley, Barnsley, Sheffield S75 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M1. For shops and local amenities Sheffield city centre is 8 miles away; closer still Barnsley town centre is just 5 miles away. Conveniently situated 3 miles from Chapeltown train station. Our Sheffield / Barnsley Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Taybarns restaurant offering amazing choice at amazing value. M1(J35a), northbound exit only. Then A616 for 2 miles, or from (J36) take A61 to Sheffield. Hotel is 1 mile along, on next roundabout. Next to Taybarns, the Ultimate Eatery; opposite McDonalds and Shell filling station. Food served from 11:30am-21:30 Everyday (table bookings reccomended) Breakfast Mon-Fri 6:30-10:30am Sat-Sun 7-11am ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing