We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hazel”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We met friends and family in Sheffield for an Engagement Celebration. The Premier Inn was in a good location on the outskirts of Sheffield. Rooms were very clean, comfortable and the staff were polite and helpful.The restaurant attached had a good buffet selection "all you could eat" for £8.99. We were pleasantly surprised with the Hotel as it was much better than the Travelodge we once stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    120
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
135
133
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vale of Glamorgan
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was a half-way overnight for us on a trip from Kent to Scotland. Strange location, it has to be said, but the hotel was great. The receptionist on arrival couldn't have been more welcoming, and the staff the following morning were very helpful. Our car was shrouded in ice, but one of the ladies went out with a spray and cleared it for us. Brilliant. The room was clean, comfortable and most of all, quiet. Dinner in the barn was an experience - fun and good food, though not one we'd probably want to repeat.

Room Tip: Aim for the back of the hotel, with only a grassy embankment outside the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberogwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed in a family room with a mattress on the floor and an additional single bed/sofa. Accommodation is just what you expect at other Premier Inns. The restaurant Taybarns, an all you can eat buffet is next door. Nice choice, decent food for the money (especially at the lunch time price)

The location is on a very busy roundabout coming off the Peak district and the hotel itself is on the beginning of an industrial park, so in the morning, very busy. There is also a petrol station with a shop and a McDonalds across the street, so convenient for snacks or drinks if needed without driving.

The actual hotel isn't near any attractions but it's a quick drive to Sheffield (within 20mins).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The location suited us for our visit. Staff very friendly and a recently refurbished room all helped. Breakfast was first class.

Work at the hotel means the builders start about 8.30, but not a problem for us.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We found everything to be very good except for the bed - the mattress was very hard and uncomfortable, We had booked for 2 nights but only stayed 1 night, because we were so tired we thought it would be better to go home rather than face that bed again ! We did not ask for another room because we don't like to complain ! . Since our stay we were asked to fill out a questionnaire, we told them about our experience - so much for the goodnight's sleep or your money back guarantee !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK4ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a relaxed stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Always ask for a room facing away from the main road and the corridor fire doors.
Otherwise, reasonably comfortable and clean rooms with freeview tv and 30 minutes free internet (though slow connection).
I would use this hotel again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room facing away from the main road and the corridor fire doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Excellent, clean facility with beds that would do your own home proud and there were even extra pillows. The towels were an unusually generous size as were the pillows. The staff were helpful, courteous and friendly and as it was over Christmas, that was an unexpected blessing. We visit this area quite a bit and we won't stay anywhere else from now on.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAE6144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
14.8 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
517 reviews
8.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Address: Maple Road | Tankersley, Barnsley, Sheffield S75 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M1. For shops and local amenities Sheffield city centre is 8 miles away; closer still Barnsley town centre is just 5 miles away. Conveniently situated 3 miles from Chapeltown train station. Our Sheffield / Barnsley Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Taybarns restaurant offering amazing choice at amazing value. M1(J35a), northbound exit only. Then A616 for 2 miles, or from (J36) take A61 to Sheffield. Hotel is 1 mile along, on next roundabout. Next to Taybarns, the Ultimate Eatery; opposite McDonalds and Shell filling station. Food served from 11:30am-21:30 Everyday (table bookings reccomended) Breakfast Mon-Fri 6:30-10:30am Sat-Sun 7-11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing