We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Sheffield City(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$262
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$329
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Sheffield(Sheffield)
US$101
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Sheffield(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
US$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$72
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
250
149
46
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
250
149
46
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsall you can eattankersley manorstayed hereattached restaurantpetrol stationfamily roomroom was cleanbusy roadno liftself servicegood nights sleepan evening mealwould definitely stay here againeasy accessnight staygreat roomexcellent stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Called here end of Dec for a one night stay, £52 for a double room only, on arrival tried to pay cash could not do so unless I had photo id which I find odd then I had to sign a form which also required me to put my nationality which I found even odder, the room itself although the furthest away from reception was ok the standard fare but it was cold and I really couldn't do with the hassle of getting it sorted. These places are never going to be top notch hotels just cheesy stop overs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasWilkins, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Good afternoon, it is Premier Inn policy that all guests paying by cash do show a valid ID on arrival for the safety and security of our guests if paying by cash and this is highlighted in the terms and conditions and on the website at time of booking. In terms of the registration doccument it is a legal requirement we ask for a nationality and signature on check in also, so i apologise you find this odd but it is the same in every hotel and Premier Inn nationwide. For future reference if you had contacted reception at any time throughout you stay we could have helped with the temperature in the room or provided an additional heater and the number to contact us is in the room. If you have any other queries or would like to speak to us direct please email sheffieldbarnsley.pi@premierinn.com,
Kind Regards Tom Wilkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Good value price but not good quality sleep, noise from room above

Had to complain and move rooms. We had travelled up for a sporting event and feel performance was effected by the poor nights sleep had.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasWilkins, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Good Afternoon, firstly I apologise again for your disturbed nights sleep, we know that moving room was not practicle although we always try to help you have a good nights sleep which we want for all our guests. If you have any other queries please contact us direct at sheffieldbarnsley.pi@premierinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Got the twin room at a really good offer rate which excluded breakfast. We decided to go for the hotels breakfast the following morning in the restaurant next door, and regretted it. Limited choice, luke-warm and over cooked. Well below the standard of other Premier Inns I have stayed in. If you like your full English go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz3orbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasWilkins, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Good Afternoon, I am pleased you had no problems with the rooms, and in terms of breakfast I will pass your comments onto the manager of the Taybarns restaurant located next to us, if you would liek to discuss this further please email sheffieldbarnsley.pi@premierinn.com Regards Tom Wilkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We chose this as a cheaper alternative to the Premier Inn we actually wanted at Meadowhall, a few miles south - deal clinched with a good price and 'newly refurbished' tag on the website!

This one is very easy to find from M1 jcn36 - straight up the dual carriageway end just off the roundabout, opposite the filling station and McDonalds - literally about 5 mins drive from the motorway.

Lots of parking spaces and a well-lit car park. Arriving fairly late after a long journey, we received an efficient, warm and friendly welcome from receptionist Tom - we asked if we could have a room overlooking the rear car park, away from the main road; and no sooner asked than granted! It was a long walk through corridors but worth it for a very quiet room with no traffic noise.

Our room was very warm but the thermostat worked a treat to moderate the temperature quickly. Large and typically comfy Premier Inn bed with plenty of pillows (one other budget hotel chain only ever gives you 3 nasty flat pillows between 2 people, so if you both want 2 it means trudging back to reception - never the case at Premier Inn!) Big flat screen TV up on the wall to watch from the comfort of bed was a big plus, while my other half soaked in the bath.

Almost perfectly clean and spotless room and bathroom apart from quite an obvious blood stain on the carpet of the main room.

Yet again Premier Inn come up trumps with another superbly staffed, very comfortable hotel in a very good location - wouldn't hesitate to go back or to recommend to others!

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise from the main road, ask for a room overlooking the rear car park
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasWilkins, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Good Evening thankyou for your detailed yet fanatastic review of our hotel. Just an update we have recently have the windows replaced to remove the traffic noise problem if you do return to us, and the blood stain was dye from a cheerleading comeptition just before your stay with us, but due to your review and other feedback the carpet was replaced! I will pass your kind comments onto the team, and thanks again for sharing your review with other guests. Regards Tom Wilkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I stay at a lot of Premier Inns, and they are normally very good. However, I was not happy with this newly refurbished one. The room was clean and well-equipped (like all Premier Inns) but the WiFi was troublesome and unrealiable. The shower was powerful but would not keep a constant temperature - one moment lukewarm, the next scolding hot. Worst of all was the attached restaurant 'Taybarns'. I say 'restaurant' but it's not really a restaurant at all. It's an all-you-can-eat buffet. It was very cheap and was packed with young families. However, Whitbread need to think about which market they are catering for - pile it high, sell it cheap, is fine for young families but most people who stay at their hotels, particularly during the week, are working people. These are completely different markets. I for one after a long day's work want to get an evening meal in a proper restaurant and not something more akin to a school canteen. I will be avoiding this hotel in the future.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please be assured we will forward your feedback onto our Marketing Team for their consideration. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews