We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a modernised, freshly updated Travelodge near the city centre. It is standard Travelodge offering, but stunning value. On site parking for £7.50 for 24 hrs is convenient. Breakfast was fine. Some signs of hard use - broken lift call button and detached toilet seat slightly detracted from what is one of the best Travelodges I have used. £28 was ridiculously good value.

Room Tip: A bit of street noise so go or higher floors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a few friends for a night away in Sheffield, The location of the hotel is great with a short walk to every think you need, The hotel is around the back of the market so the noisy is low its like a back street but very safe. The hotel staff was out standing and the quality of the service and the rooms is out standing. The price of the hotel is very cheap as well a great bargain. I will stay at this hotel more if I travel to Sheffield.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

On a positive note the bed was comfortable. However, there was only one towel in the bathroom and no phone for reception. A long trip from the top floor. Breakfast had very little choice and was stone cold. There was no car park, except for a £14 per day multi storey, although a voucher for £7 per day was given.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank FriendlyDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Services at Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

It is great to hear that you found our new ‘Travelodge Dreamer’ bed to be comfortable FriendlyDakota. We are very sorry however that other aspects of your stay were less enjoyable. We would expect all rooms to be set up correctly ready for guests to check in, we would like to apologise that you did not find this to be the case during your stay. Our bar café staff are trained to prepare food to a great standard and ensure all breakfast items are readily available for our customers. We will ensure our hotel management team are made aware of your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Well presented reception, room in excellent clean condition (I understand it has recently been refurbished), brand new specially made mattresses very very comfy. The presentation of the room and bathroom were excellent. The corridors were clean too.

The restaurant was part of the reception and was also in good, clean condition.

The issues I noticed, people have removed the letters on the lift lobby, which makes it look slightly shabby.

The breakfast the toast is very thin bread which you have to feed yourself through a bizarre toaster which doesn't necessarily toast the first, second or third time and if it falls wrong you have to put your hands under this thing to get the bread back.

One of the most bizarre problems was the new units in the bedroom, the tv was fixed to them and fixed right next to the wardrobe as a result if you sit in bed and watch the tv a quarter of the screen is hidden by the wardrobe, obviously it wasn't looked at before all the rooms were refurbished, some of the tv channels had snow.

The windows did not keep out the noise of the traffic going round the Park Square roundabout, in fact I checked the window a few times as I thought I must have not closed it properly luckily I carry earplugs.

Overall these slight issues do not take away this hotel has been refurbished excellently and the money spent on the new mattresses is well worth it and I would recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face Park Square if you don't want traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just spent 2 nights in the Sheffield Central to attend a party in the city and i will avoid Travelodges from now on.
We booked our room back in August, but having read some of the reviews I was quite concerned that we would arrive and be told 'no room at the inn' That actually would have been better than the origional room we were given. Having driven in excess of 3 hours on a Friday night, tired and just wanting to relax our room was like a crime scene. Terrible smell, no bedding or curtains. no bulb in the bathroom light and.....wait for it, what looked like blood up the wall and on the ceiling!!

We were swiftly moved to another room, which was ok. Bathroom was a bit grubby, mould on shower ceiling but fine with what we had paid.

When speaking to a member of staff on Saturday morning we were told our orgional room should never have been on the system to be given to guests??? Hazard tape across the door would have been a good option!!

We were in Sheffield to attend a party, and chose the Central due to its close proximity to the venue, as did a number of friends, whom on arrival after travelling a fair distance were told that the hotel was full and they were being placed in a hotel about 1 mile away! Not great Travelodge!!

I have no complaint with the reception staff who were helpful and courteous throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the Ibis across the road!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noodle1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We are sorry to learn of your recent disappointment Noodle1975. We expect our rooms to be clean and fresh with all working facilities and it would appear your first room was allocated in error. It is unfortunate that due to having unexpected take up of arrivals at the hotel your friends were relocated on this occasion. Our hotel staff are trained in how to deal with such situations and will always try to reduce the impact on the customer by finding suitable alternative accommodation as close by the hotel as possible and we will cover any additional travel expenses. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they are able to address the issues you have raised with our hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Have stayed at this Travel Lodge on a number of occasions since it opened. Since then the chain has been upping its game and the latest refurbishment here is no exception. We stayed for 4 nights over the new year and were thoughtfully put on the 6th floor to avoid too many comings and goings, worth asking for if you are a family, older or just want a quiet time, We were not disturbed on NYE. Ideally suited for public transport or walking into city, car parking is convenient and with the hotel discount voucher is not prohibitively expensive. If coming by car it is easy to find and you may not need to use your car once parked up. Yes and they now do food till silly hours, have a (limited) bar, and serve breakfast!
The new beds are very good and our rooms were clean and everything worked. Obviously an on-going process as the bathroom had not been revamped and the bath was badly chipped in one room although I did notice that the previously noisy extractors were now a lot quieter. Now the general comments: we have previously deliberately booked family rooms instead of doubles (yes we are the ones) to get the sofa to use when sitting in the room rather than the bed. With the new beds this is no longer possible so double rooms now have a very large empty space and only one! plastic chair at the desk unit. Apart from that this hotel does have some very attractive offers as part of the overall pricing structure, Worth a look on the net, they will be competing with other chains that have new hotels in the city centre. Staff very good, a couple of minor problems readily sorted. Can recommend this hotel and is my first choice when in the city.

Room Tip: At busy times when there may be noisy guests get a room as high up as possible. Noise from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just stayed at Sheffield Central and have to say what excellent value this was.
I stayed here with my son while we visited an event at the Motorpoint Arena.
The room was spotless,great shower and the King size bed I had was great.
Staff very friendly & helpfull but efficient.The choice @ breakfast was superb with countless cereals on offer,fresh fruit (grapefruit/Orange) toast etc cooked option was also excellent.
To be honest can't really fault ,my only gripe would be the pillows supplied too firm for me.


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel

Address: 1 Broad Street West, Sheffield S1 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#22 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £41 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sheffield
Travel Lodge Sheffield
Sheffield Travel Lodge
Sheffield Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing