We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Above average Travelodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My second Travelodge in two days - just come from their slick Derby hotel which got 5/5. This one is similar. A newish build in a built-up part of the city near the river. Just minutes from the train station and the city centre itself.

Nice roomy room, big bed with the new four pillows feature. Bright and airy, very clean. Has a bath where most newer Travelodges only have showers. Only one plug working which was annoying as I had to power up several items. Not all channels working on TV. Glad they got rid of the tiny soap bars and replaced with a little bottle of nice smelling liquid wash!

Had a room facing the trams, the swimming pool and station but to be honest when the window was shut was not too noisy (apart from a refuse van emptying bins at 4am!). I would still ask for a room at the back though. Tiny niggle, the floor boards in the corridor outside the room creaked a bit. They may need to fix that.

It has a bar and the normal standard food service that is to be expected in a budget hotel. Guys at reception knew their stuff and were always on-hand. Vending and coffee machine welcome and were working.

As I only paid £28 this was excellent value as it is a great central base for the city and I had a good sleep. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyWozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    203
    84
    29
    25
See reviews for
137
135
63
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the beginning of a week in March 2014. Cost a total of £50.

Given an upstairs room which although double- glazed was still subject to traffic noise; even sometimes during the night.

(Across the corridor the rooms face onto the multi-storey car park.)

I had to ask for some soap and Travelodge won't provide shampoo nor a toilet bowl brush...

It is within a short walk from the bus and railway stations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Fine by Travelodge standards. Reasonably situated. Could not check in early which is normal for Travelodge. Staff were fine, very helpful. I use Travelodge regularly and they are fine for a nights sleep

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff in bright looking hotel. Room was spotless and had plenty of room. The bar area was nice & peaceful, ideal for relaxing and the City Centre was just a short walk away. Television & remote worked with no problems too, always a bonus! Plenty pillows as well. Will be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We needed a hotel with easy access to Pond's Forge as the kids were doing a weekend swimming gala there. Over the years we have done a number of Travelodges and this was as good as the best of them (in most areas). The parking is in a Q Park facility next door at a discounted rate. However, all though we were there for over 24 hours, I thought £16 to park as a customer was a little steep. Out of the car park and straight into the foyer and we checked in. As was repeated throughout our stay, the member of staff who checked us in was efficient, helpful and efficient and we proceeded to our family room on the 5th floor. Unfortunately, the key card didn't work and I had to go back to reception - but that does happen elsewhere and the second time was the charm.

The room was the size that we expected and very clean. It had a double bed and 2 temporary single beds all made up. As the kids were swimming, they tossed a coin to see who got the double and I got one of the singles. I will say now, it was a terrible nights sleep - there was noise outside the hotel in the early hours and some inside the hotel at odd intervals and the bed was very uncomfortable. My daughter, who had the other single bed also complained in the morning about the bed.

Back to the evening, I had a quick shower in the very clean bathroom under the fairly poorly powered shower and the kids did some homework (yes, I insisted) and took advantage of the 30 minutes of free wi fi. We then had a meal down stairs in the bar. The menu is fairly simple and fast food based, but we all enjoyed what we had - though the prices are fairly typical of a city centre and could not be considered as particularly good value. The staff were very attentive and helpful. We then watched telly and had an early night. In the morning we had an excellent breakfast - check out was simplicity itself, chuck the key in the hole in the front desk. We would return - but would not look forward to the single beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy.priest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Great travelodge!! Went on a girly weekend here. Firstly parking is next door and payable of 7pound but extremely safe with Access only via parking ticket!room was immaculate and reception were very helpful and gave extra towel and quilt when asked! Had the buffet breakfast for 7 pound was nice with great selection! Town center is close to shop with wetherspoons 5 mins away. Location perfect for partying is only 5 pound in a taxi! Would defo recommend :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harborough123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for one night and it was a great hotel. Don't bother with the breakfast though, it didn't look great and there's a wetherspoons a short walk away as it's very close to the town centre, it was half the price

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel

Property: Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
Address: 1 Broad Street West, Sheffield S1 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#22 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sheffield
Travel Lodge Sheffield
Sheffield Travelodge
Sheffield Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing