We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Visit -Very Impressed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Leopold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leopold Hotel
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Visit -Very Impressed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Recently visited this hotel with my husband for their Afternoon Tea. We had never been in the Leopold Hotel before . It is in the city centre and very easy to find. From the moment we went in nothing was too much trouble ! The staff are very attentive and welcoming, the place is immaculate and the food very good. White tablecloths and proper napkins are always a good sign of an enjoyable Afternoon Tea and we were not disappointed. It was our first visit to the Leopold Hotel - it will not be our last.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A4973TPSue_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for you review following your recent afternoon tea with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the occasion and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    416
    125
    50
    19
See reviews for
115
473
70
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

For those who have not visited Sheffield they are in for a real treat, and what better place to stay than the Leopold. Located right in the city centre, the hotel is a converted boys' technical school dating back to the inter-war years. This is not readily apparent from the lay out of the hotel, so to remind guests of the building's fomer life, the walls are festooned with pictures of earnest young men and their teachers staring out at the camera dating back to the period. The pictures are other worldly and as such it is difficult to pass down any of the corridors without being drawn to them. In particular, I liked the one of Roger Taylor who was an old boy at the school and before Andy Murray was our only claim to fame on the professional tennis circuit, reaching the Wimbledon semi-finals no less than three times.
The hotel is functional rather than grand but is perfectly adequate to the task. The staff are friendly, the bar area is comfortable, offering a wide array of snacks, and Wifi is free (a real plus as many hotels now see Wifi charges as a source of revenue). At £77 per night, the hotel is good value. Minor complaints would be the breakfast, which is limited and rather dull and the bedroom, which in my case did not allow me to open the window to vent the bedroom,as it was in the ceiling. When I opened the door of my bedroom I was greeted with a sauna from the heater, which took sometime to cool off. Altogether though, this hotel is one to be recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that overall you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We came here with two young children and were greeted with a warm welcome from the staff. The room was ready early and was very clean and being on the fourth floor we had a great night sleep with no noise from the square. We had our room upgraded for free because we went to them directly and joined their loyalty club so were also really happy with the value for money!

Only reason not five stars is because of the cost of drinks and food - as we had young children with us we had to get back to the room early so needed to order from the bar which turned out pretty expensive at £4 for a small bottle of peroni... just felt that maybe there should be a separate price for paying guests and the public - they certainly would have got a lot more from us if it had been a bit cheaper!!

Overall would definitely recommend to family and friends after a city break and would also return ourselves, maybe without the children next time though!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us recently. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope that we get to welcome you back to us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Leopold is in the city centre, walk distance to the market and shopping centre. Next to West street too, so bus and tram are all available. There are all kinds of easy restaurants in Leopold Square, very convenient to everything. Comfortable rooms and reliable service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and comments following your stay with us. I am delighted that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

From checking in to checking out,we were made to feel very welcome.The room`s were comfortable,clean.The food was excellent,& plentiful,the disco was great,with a great choice of music.The staff also excellent,,nothing was to much trouble for them to make our night a memorable one, well done the Leopold.

Room Tip: some standard rooms dont have a bath so ask for one it you prefer although the showers are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Carol F
Thank you for your review and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your New Years Eve with us and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

from the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. the room was very clean.new years eve ball started with a great welcome by all staff and all through the meal the staff were brilliant big smiles nothing to much trouble.the food was of excellent quality and plenty of it.the disco was great.was a great way to see the new year in.breakfast was very good and the service was excellent and all the staff were very pleasant .even checking out was a very pleasant and yet again excellent staff.well done to one and all .well worth as stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review and feedback following your stay with us For New Years Eve. I am delighted that you had a great night, this was the first year we held such a Ball so we are particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed it so much.
Thank you again
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Nice hotel, great location. Rooms small but fine. From earlier reviews we were a bit worried about noise from Leopold Square, but that was not a problem. The trip was however spoilt by the noise of the overnight roadworks. Hopefully those are all well finished by now! The hotel tried to help. They moved us to a different room on the second night but it did not reduce the roadwork noise very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for you review following your stay last summer. The road works you mention were over that period you were here only. I do hope it did not detract too much from your stay.
Thank you again
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel

Property: Leopold Hotel
Address: 2 Leopold Square, Sheffield S1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#18 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leopold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing