We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy and convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Leopold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leopold Hotel
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy and convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

This hotel is located in the middle of everything....right along West Street which is like the main street for bars and restaurants. Particularly good for me as it is just 8 min walk from both office locations I had to visit.

It is very new and it uses only the finest material for all its amenities....modern flat TV, iPhone dock clock, sturdy slippers. Free wifi in public area and 10 pounds a day for wired internet in the rooms. I was lucky to be in the 2nd floor close to the lift lobby, and was able to catch the wifi signal in my room.

Breakfast is not bad too...full English breakfast plus fruits and cereal. The staff were very helpful - we arrived early morning and were not due for checkin until 2pm, but they accomodated our request for early checkin into one of the rooms (we are a party of 3 people but the two other rooms were not ready yet) to get changed and freshen up before going to work.

As others noted, most of the rooms had windows facing the inner of Leopold Square, a place of restaurants and bars. It wasn't bad at all for us as we stayed for only Mon-Thu, no crowd at all. But I can imagine it could get noisy for Fri/Sat evenings.

BTW, I don't know if this is now common in UK hotels, but it allows settlement of hotel bills in your local currency (as opposed to settling in GBP and let your card company converts). DO NOT USE that option. I found that its rate is much worse than the my Mastercard's rate (13.4 HKD to 1 GBP as opposed to 13.1 used by my card company).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scl1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    416
    125
    50
    19
See reviews for
115
473
70
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

Lovely location but sent on very long detour to find carpark. our booking was messed up and the twin rooms we booked were not available so not very convenient for a group pf 4 ladies.
Lovely breakfast on first day but sunday sent into conference room very much second class citizens - no menu choice, make own toast, plastic jams, very disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky53cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

The position of the hotel is great and the surrounding, The hotel staff were most helpful, rooms and bed OK, But there is no proper restaurant and breakfast was self service, which i did not expect for a SLH, after along journey the last thing we wanted was to look for somewhere to eat and the bar food although it sounded good was the last place I would choose to eat, too busy not relaxing enough.
I was suppose to have gone to Portugal, but it was cancelled, as my father had just passed away and this was to be a treat to cheer me up....my husband felt as if he had let me down!
Sheffield seemed a nice place and we would visit again..but not stay here...

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank richhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

I did not know this wonderful hotel existed! A client booked it and i am happy they did.Located in the heart of the city yet calm and quiet.On a wet miserable night my room was warm and snug.No expense spared with Starck ghost chairs and luxurious bedding.
The young lady on reception was genuinely charming and even helped me sort out the internet.The best hotel by far in the city.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicBathEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

We've just returned from a two night stay in the Leopold and I can't recommend it highly enough. The staff were fantastic and very helpful, and the room was gorgeous. The bed was just about the comfiest I've encountered, and the bathroom was beautiful too (nice toiletries, very thick fluffy towels, great shower and bath). Everything was stylish, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included with the package deal we booked and it was delicious. The rates were very reasonable and the location of the hotel couldn't be better (city centre, backing onto a square filled with great restaurants and bars). As they have no parking facilities you can get a special rate for a nearby car park if you let them know. It's quite tricky to find, but the hotel gave us a map and the staff gave great directions too. All in all, we had a fantastic break and would recommend it to anyone - much nicer than the usual chain hotels you would get for the same price!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittynoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

I stayed at the Leopold a couple of nights ago. It wasn't my own choice (booked for me by a colleague) but I would book it for any future visit to Sheffield without any hesitation. My room was lovely, laid out over 2 floors with plenty of space, decorated tastefully and with possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. All I could have wanted was provided - good quality toiletries, plenty of clean white towels, a bathrobe, a shower cap, even a toothbrush & toothpaste incase you'd forgotten yours, and an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. There were TWO flatscreen TVs (one in the bedroom and one in the living room area downstairs) and an ipod docking station/radio/alarm. The staff were incredibly well-mannered and quick to help, but totally unobtrusive, and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. I'd describe the hotel as smart, tasteful, comfortable and extremely well-located. If I'm visiting Sheffield again, I won't even think about booking anywhere else - this ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danishscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel while we were attending the snooker world championship. We got a really great deal for bed and breakfast and we were simply amazed. The staff were so friendly, the room was absolutely beautiful. It was a bit small but we didn't care as the decor was outstanding, it still had the original wooden beams and the bathroom was modern and quite big. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I normally have great difficulty sleeping but this bed was so cosy and warm. I'd just had a kidney removed and this was the perfect way to relax and recover! We had breakfast in bed on both mornings and it was hot and extremely filling. We were genuinely sad to go and are definitely going next year for the snooker!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinkvenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager80, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Leopold next Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel

Property: Leopold Hotel
Address: 2 Leopold Square, Sheffield S1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#18 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leopold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing