We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value For Money....Lovely Room, Fantastic Bed”
Review of The Florentine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Florentine
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
215 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Great Value For Money....Lovely Room, Fantastic Bed”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed for one night whilst in the area on business. I looked on all the "clearing" websites but got the best rate by far on the Marstons Inns website. Stayed in room 5 which is classed as the honeymoon suite. I got this for £50.00 B and B! The room was huge with a sofa, table and separate desk. The room also has 52" TV on the wall which was an added bonus as I could watch Everton in the FA cup replay in my room whilst doing a couple of emails ( Free Wi Fi ).
The bed was top quality and the bathroom was really nice too.

There are one of two negative comments about the patrons of the Inn but I have to say that I found the atmosphere to be really cordial and the Inn is surrounded by very desirable up market property. It is situated in Sheffields S10 postcode which is as nice as anywhere, set in the suburbs of the city away from the busy city centre. I really liked the place.

The staff were really helpful and efficient. One minor issue was the size of the breakfast...I love my food and I am ashamed to say that I was unable to finish it. I hate waste and on this occasion it defeated me. It really was a hearty feast and was absolutely beautiful but it had to have been the biggest breakfast I had ever seen!!! 2 eggs, 2 sausages, 2 bacon, 2 hash browns, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, toast...if you get the picture.

I will certainly stay here again and would certainly recommend to others visiting Sheffield.

Room Tip: The Suite is well worth the upgrade...I paid just £15.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cags1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    72
    18
    11
    8
See reviews for
57
88
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Overall a lovely stay i shared a double room with my mum and it was a lovely huge room. comfy beds clean in the room not so great in the bathroom. chipped unit random beer can left under the sink and a dogy hot tap on the bath. food was nice and the two for one meals made it a great price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Lovely hotel on first view and friendly staf but as soon as u've paid for a normally £98 room you get to find a lovely bed with an ensuite bathroom featuring some numerous legged room mates, no shower and a bath with no handles so not great if like me you suffer a bad back! Also must point out the kind neighbouring rooms with their sharing of their conversations at half eleven pm when you're trying to sleep and there's nobody on reception or in the bar to politely request they keep the noise down!!! Bit of a romantic break mood killer!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumofalexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We booked this pub/hotel at the last minute to visit a family member in the Hospital. The pub is ideally placed for the Royal Hallamshire, and as it is a pub, the fact that you can check in right up until closing time was very handy. We booked last minute through the pub's website, and booked the 'bridal room', which normally costs £120. The room was HUGE. A lovely king size bed, a sofa and coffee table, and a decent size bathroom. There was a corner bath, and the shower was an attachment to the taps, but there was lots of hot water and decent water pressure.
The service was what I would describe as dour when we arrived, and the breakfast was a little disappointing, although the bacon was lovely. I am not sure it would have been good value for money at £120 a room, but we paid less than half of that, and so it was good value for what we wanted and paid.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Good location, on a bus route and 45 mins stroll into town centre. Plenty of safe car parking.
Rooms are above the bar/dining area, reached by handy staircase near one entranceway.

Checking-in area at the end of the bar, a little unusual but worked well in our case. Very efficient check-in by friendly and helpful staff who showed us to our room.

We had room 5, a huge space, recently decorated and very clean. Oak bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever experienced. Quality bedding, fixtures and fittings with 2 seater sofa very large TV and coffee table, reasonably stocked tea and coffee making facility only downside no skimmed/semi skimmed milk. Bathroom very modern and well equipped with corner bath. Tap based hand shower only though, so could have done with a dedicated shower to suit all tastes.

We had a very decent main course and pudding for dinner.This is a 2 for 1 pub and the food is reasonably priced, supplied hot and plentiful. The menu has a good choice and the staff are friendly and efficient. The atmosphere within the bar area is pleasant and convivial and appears popular with the locals as well as visitors.

The breakfast menu choice was good and the food delicious.

As a bonus, if you register your email with Marstoninns and you get access to lots of offers all year round such as heavily discounted rooms and/or 20% off food for booking on-line.

All in all a very pleasant and confortable stay for an astonishing price and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone else visiting the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Went there for the Christmas Fayre dinner. I am no Jamie Oliver but I challenge anyone who would say that this food was acceptable. Starter - went for mushrooms, nearly broke my teeth and injured someone when one flew off my plate. So hard could not puncture them with my fork. Main - roast potatoes that were obviously from a freezer bag, carrots and sprouts that were possibly the same, had gone cold and warmed up in a microwave. Were like rubber. Turkey - ok. Pudding - bits of fruit on top of a great big lump of chewy dough. Obviously not been out of the freezer long either.

The meal cost £12.50 which some of my colleagues said 'not bad value for the money'. How English is this kind of attitude? There is simply no feasible excuse for any restaurant, be it a small cafe to a large chain, to not serve freshly prepared and cooked food. I hated it.

This is a shame as the atmosphere is a very warm and pleasant one but I will not be crossing over the freshold ever again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed here on Saturday night and was really impressed with both the service and quality of the rooms. We stayed in a really big room with sofa and 50 inch tv!! Breakfast was also great and made to order, which makes a nice change.
Just a couple of miles from the city centre so the location is also handy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unbiased_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
720 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
460 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.6 mi away
The Briary
The Briary
#39 of 53 in Sheffield
25 reviews
6.9 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florentine

Property: The Florentine
Address: 1 Tapton Park Road, Sheffield S10 3FG, England (Formerly The Fulwood Inn Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fulwood Hotel Sheffield
Fulwood Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing