We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact arrangement, very suitable to budget sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
underneath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Compact arrangement, very suitable to budget sleeping”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

The staff were very friendly and polite. They answered all questions that I had about the hotel and city.

The beds in the room consist of a double bed already made with an unmade (bedding provided) single bed as a bunk above it. The beds had foam mattresses. Although these weren't uncomfortable, they were not particularly comfortable either. The foam held firmly, but did have some give. One of the best form mattresses I have ever slept on.

The TV when turned on had a very loud default volume. Be sure to be hold down the volume down button very quickly after pressing the standby button.

The shower facilities are essentially in the room. There is a sink in the room in a non-carpeted area. The wall here is mirrored nicely with adequate lighting. Beside this there is the door into the shower. This door is made of very frosted glass so the individual cannot be seen, but will be stepping in and out of the bedroom. The toilet was in a cupboard behind the room door.

There was a shelf in one corner with a hanging rail and a few hangers underneath. There were no doors or covering of any kind for this area.

The window could only be opened half an inch.

There was a desk with one plug socket (other than that the TV was plugged into), and a cheap computer chair. There were no internet facilities within the room.

The room also lacked tea and coffee making facilities. Hot drinks were available self-service 24/7 in the hotel lobby at over £1 each.

The breakfast was just under £4. It consisted of brown and white sliced bread. A very slow toaster was provided (4 to get a golden brown toast). There were also croissants, sliced baguette style rolls, and blueberry muffins. For cereals there were cornflakes and rice krispees. Milk, apple juice and orange juice was available, and hot drinks were included in price. A good selection of jam, honey, nutella, butter and spread. I did not feel this was good value.

In the hotel lobby there is a selection of microwaveable food, sandwiches, yoghurt, etc. available 24/7 and a microwave. There is also a computer for internet access.

Car parking is not included in price, nor guaranteed.

The #69 bus runs directly past and cost £1.80 into Sheffield, and £4.30 for unlimited day travel. Frequent service during weekdays, but does run every day.

The hotel is next to the ice rink and stadium, about two miles from the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ltl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Etap Sheffield. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments.
Kind regards,
Rachel heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    285
    216
    104
    86
See reviews for
199
282
81
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This was our first stay at an ETAP Hotel, We were pleased with the speed of check in as we had been travelling from Cornwall for about 6 hours. Our first thoughts were that the room was very small but as we were using the hotel as a base it was quite adequate for a short stay. The rooms are efficiently designed but don't expect any luxuries. The mattress may be a bit firm but sleep quality was good, We didn't hear anything from rooms adjacent. The location is ideal for visiting Meadowhall Shopping Centre and the Sheffield Arena. We actually went to see Sheffield Wednesday play a football match followed by a day out in the beautiful Peak district. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, So much choice it will be hard making up your mind where to eat! I'd recommend this hotel to people who don't mind going without luxuries, a good idea would be to bring a travel kettle.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owlincallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Etap Sheffield
Kind regards
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

After reading mixed reviews we had a few worries about this hotel, but once we saw the hotel we were quite impressed, it nice, clean, staff we're very freindly and helpful.The rooms were of a good size, bed was lovely and confortable, was no noise from other guest.Plus were were 2 mins from the arena which was superb plus parking only £3 too.The breakfast was lovely too food was all fresh and so much to choose from (if your not hoping for full english!)

Can honestly say it was alot nicer than we anticipated considering we only paid £18 for 2 of us which you would expect a "shabby" hotel, but i would recommend this hotel to anyone and we shall definalty be using it again ourselves in the fututre, would rate this hotel 10/10

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauz83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back at Etap Hotel Sheffield.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

the location of the hotel , the cleanliness , the staff and value was brilliant , however the bed was very hard and incomfortable , so much so it made my back really bad .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipwhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Etap Sheffield. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans. Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Couldnt reccommed this hotel more, we only paid £18 for a room which was fab! rooms very basic but very clean and tidy. Very powerful warm shower, comfy bed overall great room. We paid the extra for breakfast which i wouldnt do again on the basis that it was £3.75 just for a slice of toast really unless your going to eat loads of toast and cereal wouldnt pay for breakfast again however the toast and coffee i did have was lovely. staff very friendly and accomodating. Within 5 minutes walking distance of the metro radior arena, ice skating next door, retail park 5 mins away with loads of resteraunts, shops and a cineworld. LOVE this hotel, perfect location!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess1077005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Etap Sheffield again very soon.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Booked this hotel online for £18 there "special promo rate" filled in everything correct Inc card details recieved a call from them a little while after stating my card had been declined. No reason why it has been declined so I rang the bank was no fault on my accountir blocks and were sufficient funds in and that it was the hotels fault.

I arrived at the hotel to check in and rectify this problem and was told the online system server has nothing to do with them. They were fully aware of my booking and that I had booked at £18 however the most rude ignorant person on the desk refused to take payment of my card at hotel for £18 and told me I had to pay £35 full rate. Not only was I annoyed but it was 5pm and I was fed up after the person on reception messed me about for a good half hour fobbing me off with excuses and checking in other guests and answering the phone.
They took the card payment of £35 and it went straight through instantly !!!!!!!!!.

The room was small, the bed is nearly on the floor with all Lino peeling up around edges and on corners. I am not making this up and you will see for yourself we stayed in room 12.

This is absolutely disgusting of a hotel and should be against the law running this kind of scam practise. Their is a travelodge in Sheffield Centre and at Meadowhall for a couple of quid extra you get a much bigger cleaner room, better service and more facilities in room (etap does not offer tea etc in room no kettle)!.

So as for my bad experience on this dirty dive STAY WELL AWAY !!!.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at Etap Sheffield appreciate your feedback and we are addressing the issue.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield (Arena) Hotel
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Don Valley Hotel
The Don Valley Hotel
#38 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena

Property: Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Address: 298 Attercliffe Common, Sheffield S9 2AG, England (Formerly Etap Sheffield Arena)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mr Luis ORTIN LIZA, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena is a low-cost hotel situated close to the city centre. All 122 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and have an en-suite shower, air cooling and a flat screen TV. A continental breakfast buffet is served every morning. There is a limited amount of outdoor parking and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Sheffield Arena Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing