We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love quarry house”
Review of Quarry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quarry House
Ranked #9 of 32 Sheffield B&B and Inns
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“we love quarry house”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

our second visit to quarry house. this is a delight on the north western edge of town as you go into the Rivelin valley. the setting in a quarry is gorgeous and Penny and Neville the hosts provide a welcoming and tranquil ambience. you can sit on the balcony and drink wine and listen to the birds. there is a walk through the valley into town which is rather magical. this is a special place and a great setting for exploring Sheffield and the Peak district.

Room Tip: doesn't matter all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
40
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here twice in as many weeks as I needed a chilled place to stay close to a contract I was working on in Sheffield. Speaking purely from my own perspective it's a lovely place to stay as a refreshing alternative to bland, corporate hotels. The room I stayed in was like a little flat in that it had a larger than usual en-suite (with bath) and in the bedroom there was a nice little area with a sofa and coffee table on which to relax. The touches such as the complimentary port, whiskey and sherry, the retro Roberts radio, new toothbrushes in the bathroom and also being very clean make it a lovely place to unwind. Also, if you get talking to Neville he is a wonderful character with an interesting history. Oh also, having fresh tea in a pot delivered to your room in the morning is lovely. The price is also very good, especially as the breakfast is wonderful, really wonderful with some lovely local produce. I slept like a bear every night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ET_Highway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Returning to Quarry house IS returning to my home from home, Neville and Penny are attentive but not intrusive, genuinely welcoming and helpful. The rooms are amazing after a lifetime of travelling for work I have finally secured a local job and how I miss staying at Quarry House. So much so that now my wife and I go just to enjoy the best B and B in the UK. An early spring weekend in March was excellent as always and a pleasure to be back,
visit and Enjoy!

Room Tip: All brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gileswrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I was looking for somewhere to stay whilst visiting my daughter at Uni, I decided to take notice of the 77 good reviews not the two negative ones and was so glad I decided to do this as I had a perfect stay. To me Quarry House was a great find. the warmth of the welcome and the outstanding range of breakfasts and attention to detail is really better than I have ever experienced. Be assured this is still a great place to stay and well worth my trip up from Shropshire. I will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We has a similar experience to the American guests who were badly let down in July 2011. We had arranged to visit friends in Sheffield and booked a Saturday night at the Quarry House which was confirmed by e-mail. On the morning of our booking we received a curt e-mail telling us that they had double booked the room. How is this possible when they have only 3 letting rooms? I suspect it may be due to a better offer from other visitors who wanted a multi-night stay. There was no attempt to suggest suitable alternative accommodation and the owners response when my wife called them was, frankly, pathetic. I note the generally favourable reviews on this site; however we ended up having a stressful couple of hours trying to find alternative accommodation. It is no good offering a nice room in pleasant surroundings if you can't get a simple booking right. Avoid this place if you want certainty that you will actually get what you think you have booked.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Excellent stay, lovely hosts. Clean and cosy room, a nice mix of traditional and modern. Lots of additional useful things - shampoo, conditioner, bubble bath, toothbrushes, towels, robes, moisturiser, DVDs, books, magazines, whisky, sherry, tea, coffee, biscuits, hot water bottle, mini fridge and I could go on. Bath and separate shower, luxurious bed and bathroom. Great breakfast, brought to your room! Very quiet at night. Nice walks nearby but 10 min from town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Stay here and you won't be disappointed. Very well appointed room, clean, comfortable and very quiet. Some lovely extras too. Tea served on arrival. Great choice at breakfast. Run by 2 very nice people. Interesting location. Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.0 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
420 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
736 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry House

Property: Quarry House
Address: Quarry House Rivelin Glen | Rivelin Valley Road, Sheffield S6 5SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Organic and Fair-Traded 5 star Guest House.Interesting rural location, whilst being 2 miles from city centre. Good access to Crookes, Walkley and Broomhill.Located within the City Heritage Park, beautiful riverside walks 2 minutes away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing