We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home cooked food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Very good home cooked food good service excellent staff.
I had gammon you could tell it had been carved off the joint nice chunky chips and fresh veg.
My wife had a lovely chicken breast with salad very generous portions.
The black sheep beer was very nice will go again bri soon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chasweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    103
    30
    26
    24
See reviews for
85
132
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Minus the fact there was a couple getting married one of the two nights we stayed here. You can't really fault the hotel for that though. The rooms remind me of American Motel 6. Don't expect super fancy. The bed was comfortable though, so they get two points for that. My fiancee is vegan and although the only thing on the menu that she could eat was a baked potato, the menu was quite extensive and impressive for those of us who eat everything else. ^_^

The best thing about this place was the view. We were in room 3 which sits right on top of the pub, while looking out on to Ringinlow Road. There is an old toll house right across the street, in the shape of an octagon....absolutely beautiful. The staff allowed me to keep my soy milk and a few salads in their refrigerator, which I greatly appreciate. The hotel is in a perfect location. If you take a left from the hotel, the city of Sheffield five minutes away. If you take a right from the hotel, the edge of the Peak District five minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is one of the friendliest places we've stayed in. The rooms are comfortable, and there are some out the back if you need to avoid stairs. The food is very good, and breakfast is served till 10:30 or so, so plenty of opportunity for a lie-in. Handy for both Sheffield and the Peaks.
Beds are a little on the small side, but still comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid stairs, ask for a room round the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theatrebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I need to admit, the Norfolk Arms holds an attraction for me as it was one of my social haunts back in my teens. Its transformation to hotel has given it a much different feel.

My recent visit was as a traveller, weary from strains of the Derbyshire Hills and desperate for coffee. My friend and I ordered a pot of tea and a cappuccino from the bar. My coffee was very enjoyable and a convivial chat in a couple of easy chairs was just what was required.

The hotel seems welcoming, warm and is located just before you get to the Derbyshire Hills which are but a few miles away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumowesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Recommended!
Immediately on our arrival, a friendly greeting was given by the young lady in reception, she was very keen to find out why we were staying and if she can help in any way. The rooms we were given, were large and clean. Possibly a bit more heat in the bedroom and bathroom would have been nice but it was still warm enough to be comfortable.
After an evening meal, we then settled in the bar for the rest of the night. The staff behind the bar were were excellent - good company and knowledgeable about the area and the drinks. We had a good nights sleep in a very comfy bed with large fluffy pillows!
I was not convinced the breakfast was value for money.....for a couple of pennies short of £9, I was expecting a bit more. Was it locally sourced produce as claimed on the poster? Mmmmmm not sure!
This place COULD be terrific......a real gem......superb but it just had that something missing that I can not put my finger on. But do not let that put you off, this is a very pleasant pub / hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezza_S1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The service was very good we had a evening meal and breakfast.
The Evening Meal was very good and it was a little to much for us but we did eat all.
Breakfast was very good, all I can say about that was the cook could have been better mannered.

I know Northern folk are very friendly but came up and said do you want a full breafast or not, but that is one down side of staying at the Norfolk Arms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Used this hotel a couple of times. It's a great location, up on a hill side over looking Sheffield, yet it's so quick to get into the city from there, but also very handy for the Peak District. There are one or two great walks to be done from the hotel front door.

The rooms in the main building are better than the ones round the back in the courtyard. Room 4 is massive. Great beer, good food, though service can be a little on the slow side. Staff friendly, price reasonable. Next time I'm in these parts I'm coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy_academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
7.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
9.0 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#33 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Property: The Norfolk Arms
Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing