We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“inconsistent”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

It was interesting reading jimmy h's review.
My wife and I ate here with friends only recently.
This was at lunchtime, mid week, so it wasn't busy.
The waiting time for food wasn't short, but not quite to the point of being unreasonable.
Mine arrived at least five minutes after all the others. A chicken burger from the specials board.
I was surprised to find that despite the wait, the meat was cold and very dry. Accompaniments, apart from chips were sparse.
An offer was made to exchange the dish, but in view of the delay and the progress made by others, I decided against it. Eventually I wished I hadn't.
A free dessert was accepted as compensation, and this was excellent.
Overall only one meal was considered worth the price, one was presented differently to our previous visit, another was also disappointing,
We'll let our friends suggest the location next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart6610_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    105
    30
    27
    24
See reviews for
87
132
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

a few of us stopped here about a month ago now for Sunday lunch managed to get a table after a wait which is understandable with is been Sunday. to be totally honest we wish we hadn't staff far to rude and to interested in texting and talking than serving people. as for the food we last came here back in April and the food was fantastic I don't know what has changed since then but clearly something has gone terrible wrong behind the scenes. the food was cold the plate was cold potato's were dry. my advice is go back to what you were doing in April or you will loose loads more customers

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed one night whilst on business in Sheffield. I arrived after a long drive, it was blowing a storm outside and I wasn't dissapointed. An impressive building from the outside with spectacular views across the valley and plenty of parking. Inside was a treat. open fires the smell of good food and a great welcome from the girl on reception. My room was very spacious, and very adequate for my needs. I was soon changed and downstairs in the bar where I plonked myself down in a chair by the fire and didn't move for the rest of the night - even though I was supposed to do some work. I slept solidly and went to have a nice breakfast before deciding to go for a walk through the forest before heading off to work. All this for.....wait for it....£49. Best value ever Thank you Norfolk Arms for a lovely stay. See you next month...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed one night at the Norfolk Arms and had decided to pay an extra £10 for room upgrade, as had already got a reasonable deal by booking last minute - I can understand some people feeling annoyed by higher rates the earlier you book!

The room was nicely decorated and we had a fantastic view across the rolling countryside outside. The bed was really comfortable, and enjoyed a pleasant nights sleep, however left feeling like the whole experience could have been made much more enjoyable by a little attention to detail. Nothing enough to trouble staff during our stay but room was let down by: one of the wall lights not working, tv not tuned properly (I couldn't find half of terrestrial channels!), bathroom cleaning not great, cleaning staff working noisily right outside the door in the morning, and the room being freezing cold when checking in.

Didn't try the food, but from an accommodation perspective, I would stay again but would hope for a few small improvements.

Room Tip: Beware the proximity of the superior room to cleaning cupboard in the mornings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCASS_Spotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

stayed last weekend for a christening in Sheffield as soon as we walked in we were greeted by friendly helpfull staff, showed to our room in no time at all which was clean and warm.Down stairs in the bar there was a great choice of beers and at the right temperature and we settled down to a nice pleasent evening of drinking and eating. Had a good laugh with the staff,nothing was to much trouble and food was superb.Would definately stay there again and would strongly recommend it to all. Thanks again Mark Ellwood .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great welcome from the start. Staff really friendly.
We ate in the bar/ restaurant that evening - great beer & wine selection available.
Our meals were of a mixed review - the traditional dishes like mixed grill and fish dishes were good - but the vegetarian option was nothing to write home about.
Rooms were very clean & comfortable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel & would stay there again!

Room Tip: Plenty of space in the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxb662013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We live in Lanzarote and visit the UK about 3-4 times per year, we always stay at the Norfolk Arms. They do not have a lot of staff turnover which is always a good sign for any business, so we know all the staff very well. Everyone is always so welcoming. We have stayed in rooms both inside, and the courtyard rooms and all have been clean and tidy. The breakfast is lovely and a great start to the day, infact every meal we have had there is good. We once arrived very late at night (about 11pm) and it was no trouble for them to provide something for us to eat, although the kitchen had officially closed 2 hours previous. On one of our visits at the beginning of this year, we were chatting with the reception staff when we arrived telling them we were getting engaged during this visit, and they upgraded us to their superior suite free of charge. We appreciate everyones expectations and experience are different, but for us, its a little jewel. Well done everyone, keep up the good work, (and remember when we visit again, alittle more pressure is needed on my partner to book the wedding! hahaha.) See you all again soon.

Room Tip: We like room 4, or any of the outside room in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
691 reviews
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
969 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#32 of 53 in Sheffield
108 reviews
9.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Property: The Norfolk Arms
Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing