We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country pub”
Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This is one of my favourite oub in Sheffield! It is one of the few pub with sofa close to the fire I have found since when I moved to Sheffield two months ago. Moreover the view from the garden is beautiful and and food is really good!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tizitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Loverly location, even if the weather was poor for our 2 nights, views from the rooms were good. Stayed for 2 nights as part of an extended family get together. We had 2 rooms, one was fine, but the other very cold the first night - after the radiator was bled the next morning it was slightly better - but still too cold. Some rain came in though the old leaded light windows.
The bar was pleasent, frindly and had a good fire. Bar food in the evening was good and reasonably priced. Unfortunatly we waited 45 minutes for (4) cooked breakfasts on the second moring - only one other couple being served in the mean time. Having complained gently 25 minutes after ordering we were offered the excuse that it was all freashly cooked, and eventially after more complaints a grudging appology when it was served. This took the edge of an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveS_Magnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had a great time. There was lots to do and see locally as the hotel is situated on the edge of the Peak District. The hotel is lovely with a warm, homely feel and the staff were extremely helpful and efficient. They have obviously thought a lot about their customer's comfort - there is even a mini bus on site!. The breakfast was really nice - you help yourself to toast, juice, etc. whilst chef prepares your meal. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fansofclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We visited Norfolk Arms for the second time and was excited for a quiet and relaxing weekend however was very disappointed with the service and overall experience we had.

We booked the overnight stay through booking.com, directed by the hotels website and the options to include breakfast for an additional £6.00 for both was not available, unlike what was offered on the hotels website. I made reference to this at the time of booking but had no response from Norfolk Arms.

On arrival the staff was friendly and the Hotel was how we remembered it from our first visit, a lovely, inviting place in a great location.

However our disappointment started upon having dinner in the pub downstairs. The service was poor and lacking attention to detail. An example, our glasses and condiments not taken from the table or other tables around us cleared within the 2 hours we was sat their despite there being over 5 front of house staff working? They seemed more intent with chatting between themselves then checking the meal and refreshing us with cutlery which we had to steal from another table and my partner ate his steak with a normal knife.

The food was below average not how we remembered it to be, the steak was ordered medium/rare and was well done at best, but there was no opportunity to bring this to the attention of the staff as nobody made the effort to come over to the table. The ultimate burger I had was average, a good size portion but not much flavour.

The pub was cold and a portable heater was brought in rather than make use of the lovely open fires. The music was on extremely low and seemed to be on a loop of 5 songs, this added up to a poor atmosphere so we headed to our room.

We was kept awake until 11:45 by the screams and loud music that was emanating from the private function room directly below us. I enquired when the party would stop and the member of staff laughed it off and didn't seem empathetic that a guest had come down at 11:30. This was very disappointing and It became evident that attention of the staff was on the party rather than other guests that night.

We understand it was a Saturday night and are not strangers to socialising later at night but I feel we should have been notified of this at booking or being given an alternative option to stay in a room which wasn't directly above the function room as we had come away for a peaceful weekend.

A top tip for anyone staying here, avoid room 9! This room is extremely small in comparison to other rooms that we saw in the morning during cleaning and it seems strange that we was charged the same as these other rooms. When we checked out I was not asked how are stay was and therefore did not explain the disappointing stay we had.

Breakfast was a strong point, the Full English was good value at about £6 and came with 2 pots of tea, toast and juice. Good value when considering a continental breakfast was about 50p less.

Great location for the Peak District and Sheffield.

Room Tip: Room 9 uncomfortably small and directly above the functions room, other rooms are twice the size and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheNewfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff on arrival and throughout the stay were amazing. The food was decent, and the Mayfield suite was brilliant, the bath is to die for and the four poster bed was great. It's very good value for money in a superb location.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and go in the "Mayfield view" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

It was interesting reading jimmy h's review.
My wife and I ate here with friends only recently.
This was at lunchtime, mid week, so it wasn't busy.
The waiting time for food wasn't short, but not quite to the point of being unreasonable.
Mine arrived at least five minutes after all the others. A chicken burger from the specials board.
I was surprised to find that despite the wait, the meat was cold and very dry. Accompaniments, apart from chips were sparse.
An offer was made to exchange the dish, but in view of the delay and the progress made by others, I decided against it. Eventually I wished I hadn't.
A free dessert was accepted as compensation, and this was excellent.
Overall only one meal was considered worth the price, one was presented differently to our previous visit, another was also disappointing,
We'll let our friends suggest the location next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stewart6610_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

a few of us stopped here about a month ago now for Sunday lunch managed to get a table after a wait which is understandable with is been Sunday. to be totally honest we wish we hadn't staff far to rude and to interested in texting and talking than serving people. as for the food we last came here back in April and the food was fantastic I don't know what has changed since then but clearly something has gone terrible wrong behind the scenes. the food was cold the plate was cold potato's were dry. my advice is go back to what you were doing in April or you will loose loads more customers

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
765 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
237 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,300 reviews
9.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
265 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: £48 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing