We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

After visiting this pub back in march 2013 for my boyfriends birthday, we were so impressed by the quaility of the food that we couldn't wait to return. Really wish we hadn't bothered! My boyfriend had booked a table with it being a weekend, to which we were shown straight away into the restaurant area, which had no atmosphere and had one other table with a family in. We asked if we could move into the empty bar area instead, which wasn't a problem. We ordered the Norfolk Arms Sharing Platter, to then be brought basically the only way to describe it, was a Batter Platter. Everything was covered in batter, the onion rings you can expect and some cheese, but also the chicken was in batter too?? Safe to say, we didnt finish this. Then we recieved a steak and ale pie, and a chicken, ham and cranberry pie. The pastry was like cardboard and tasted of nothing, to the point I picked the meat out and the hard carrots. The mushy peas were like pouree and looked as though they'd be sat there a while. My boyfriends pie wasn't much better, the sauce wasn't very nice inside his pie, and again the pastry was bland. We were so disappointed, and after looking at the price, there was no way we were paying for it. I went to the bar, and spoke to a nice lady with red hair, sorry can't remember her name, who couldn't apologies enough, but then another lady decided to get involoved and asked what the problem was, to which I had to again explain in an open bar area while people were waiting to be served. She couldn't understand what the problem was clearly by the face she was pulling at me but finally took the food off our bill. Really hope things will go back to how they used to be, but sadly won't be visting again to find out.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Manager at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi, thank you for your review. It is important to us that we hear the opinions of our guests, good and bad.
We are as disappointed as you that your visit was not up to the standard that you expected, especially as you had enjoyed your previous visit so much.

The quieter setting of the Mayfield Room, in which you were initially seated, suits some guests while others prefer the atmosphere of the bar area. We try to time our bookings to gradually fill this room, rather than sitting several tables at once which would have a detrimental effect on the service.

Regarding your meals; we haven’t received any previous feedback on the number of battered items on the Sharing Platter, however, we will take your comments on board. Chicken Goujons are usually served either battered or crumbed, and as we make our own beer-batter we felt it appropriate to use this for the chicken, especially as the batter goes so well with our caramel glaze. There is no reason why we can’t use breadcrumbs in future – a decision which we will base on any further feedback.
As stated in the menu, the platter also includes scampi, breaded mushrooms, nachos and three types of garlic bread, none of which are battered.

We can only apologise that you did not enjoy your pies. All three of our pies have been very popular since being launched in January, and until now the feedback has been very positive. Your comments regarding the pastry and peas have been passed on to our kitchen manager, and will be taken seriously. Our pastry is homemade and several recipes were tested and altered before we made a decision on the one which we currently use.

Once again, thank your for your comments. We strive to achieve the same level of quality and service for every guest, every time they visit, and your comments will help us to work towards this. We can only apologise that your visit was not to the standard which you would rightly expect from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    109
    34
    26
    24
See reviews for
92
135
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I booked the Mayfield View room (a 'luxury' double with a four poster) for myself and my partner as a surprise for our anniversary. The hotel and restaurant (think typical Yorkshire pub - character through and through from the people to the stone walls, beams and wood burner) are lovely, the staff we met were very welcoming and helpful and the room itself was gorgeous. The photos don't do it justice - 'luxury' is definitely the right name for it. I would definitely recommend (will be taking my parents there for a meal next time they visit as the food was great too and very generous portions) and can't wait to go back both to stay and to sample the hog roast on Friday nights! The hotel is also in a great location with really nice places to walk nearby and only ten minutes outside the city. Thank you for a memorable weekend - it would only have been improved by being able to stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Manager at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi, thank you very much for your kind words. We always appreciate positive feedback as it lets us know what we’re doing right.
We look forward to seeing you soon for a Friday night Pig ‘n Pint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We visited the Norfolk Arms for lunch today and were disappointed by both the standard of the food and the rude staff response. Myself and my husband both ordered sandwiches which were nearly inedible due to half of the bread being soggy and half of the bread being stale. When we pointed this out the staff member was surly and confrontational and refused to reflect our comments in the bill. We both ended up paying £6.75 for our almost inedible sandwiches. I won't be returning.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wombatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Manager at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi, we would like to offer our sincerest apologies for your disappointing visit. We always take guest’s comments and criticisms seriously, as feedback such as this helps us to locate and rectify problems within our service.

We have carried out an investigation into the issues which you have raised and can only apologise for the quality of your sandwiches. Presumably the filling contributed to the “soggy” texture of half of the bread. The stale half however, should obviously never be allowed to leave the kitchen unless being thrown away.

We have spoken to the staff on duty during the time of your visit, and will be dealing with the particular team member who was unpleasant towards you when you raised your concerns about the food. It appears that the duty manager, who would normally have spoken to you personally, was unfortunately engaged elsewhere at the time. This does not excuse the way in which you were spoken to by our team member, but under “normal” circumstances we would expect senior staff to deal with any issues and complaints in a helpful and professional manner.
We have worked very hard to build a reputation for being a team of friendly and helpful individuals, and we take any incidents which threaten this reputation very seriously.

It is clear that action needs to be taken by ourselves to ensure that these avoidable incidents are not repeated. Once again, we offer our apologies and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This is one of my favourite oub in Sheffield! It is one of the few pub with sofa close to the fire I have found since when I moved to Sheffield two months ago. Moreover the view from the garden is beautiful and and food is really good!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tizitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Loverly location, even if the weather was poor for our 2 nights, views from the rooms were good. Stayed for 2 nights as part of an extended family get together. We had 2 rooms, one was fine, but the other very cold the first night - after the radiator was bled the next morning it was slightly better - but still too cold. Some rain came in though the old leaded light windows.
The bar was pleasent, frindly and had a good fire. Bar food in the evening was good and reasonably priced. Unfortunatly we waited 45 minutes for (4) cooked breakfasts on the second moring - only one other couple being served in the mean time. Having complained gently 25 minutes after ordering we were offered the excuse that it was all freashly cooked, and eventially after more complaints a grudging appology when it was served. This took the edge of an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveS_Magnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had a great time. There was lots to do and see locally as the hotel is situated on the edge of the Peak District. The hotel is lovely with a warm, homely feel and the staff were extremely helpful and efficient. They have obviously thought a lot about their customer's comfort - there is even a mini bus on site!. The breakfast was really nice - you help yourself to toast, juice, etc. whilst chef prepares your meal. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fansofclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We visited Norfolk Arms for the second time and was excited for a quiet and relaxing weekend however was very disappointed with the service and overall experience we had.

We booked the overnight stay through booking.com, directed by the hotels website and the options to include breakfast for an additional £6.00 for both was not available, unlike what was offered on the hotels website. I made reference to this at the time of booking but had no response from Norfolk Arms.

On arrival the staff was friendly and the Hotel was how we remembered it from our first visit, a lovely, inviting place in a great location.

However our disappointment started upon having dinner in the pub downstairs. The service was poor and lacking attention to detail. An example, our glasses and condiments not taken from the table or other tables around us cleared within the 2 hours we was sat their despite there being over 5 front of house staff working? They seemed more intent with chatting between themselves then checking the meal and refreshing us with cutlery which we had to steal from another table and my partner ate his steak with a normal knife.

The food was below average not how we remembered it to be, the steak was ordered medium/rare and was well done at best, but there was no opportunity to bring this to the attention of the staff as nobody made the effort to come over to the table. The ultimate burger I had was average, a good size portion but not much flavour.

The pub was cold and a portable heater was brought in rather than make use of the lovely open fires. The music was on extremely low and seemed to be on a loop of 5 songs, this added up to a poor atmosphere so we headed to our room.

We was kept awake until 11:45 by the screams and loud music that was emanating from the private function room directly below us. I enquired when the party would stop and the member of staff laughed it off and didn't seem empathetic that a guest had come down at 11:30. This was very disappointing and It became evident that attention of the staff was on the party rather than other guests that night.

We understand it was a Saturday night and are not strangers to socialising later at night but I feel we should have been notified of this at booking or being given an alternative option to stay in a room which wasn't directly above the function room as we had come away for a peaceful weekend.

A top tip for anyone staying here, avoid room 9! This room is extremely small in comparison to other rooms that we saw in the morning during cleaning and it seems strange that we was charged the same as these other rooms. When we checked out I was not asked how are stay was and therefore did not explain the disappointing stay we had.

Breakfast was a strong point, the Full English was good value at about £6 and came with 2 pots of tea, toast and juice. Good value when considering a continental breakfast was about 50p less.

Great location for the Peak District and Sheffield.

Room Tip: Room 9 uncomfortably small and directly above the functions room, other rooms are twice the size and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheNewfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
736 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,005 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
9.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Property: The Norfolk Arms
Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing