We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, comfort and value”
Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spectacular setting on the edge of the Peak District overlooking Sheffield. From the website I expected more of a traditional pub feel but it turned out to be a small/medium hotel with modern, clean, good sized bedrooms. Would have appreciated a warning that Monday is jazz night and our room was directly over the band room, although it finished by 11pm.

Dinner was fairly standard pub-grub, nothing special. Decent breakfast.

Good last minute price via booking website.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Dave, thank you for your review.

We have tried to maintain the feeling of a traditional pub in our bar area – especially at the bottom end – the “Walkers Bar”, while also combining the more modern feel of our rooms. The bar is especially “cosy” during winter, when we have our log burning fires running in both the main and walkers bar areas.

Apologies for the lack of warning re: the Jazz night. This takes place every Monday evening between 8:30pm and 11:00pm in the Mayfield room. We are aware that this is not to everybody’s tastes and we do attempt to pre-warn guests, however it appears that on this occasion the members of our team who booked and checked you in failed to inform you. For this we apologise and we will try to ensure that this does not happen again in future.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Rude staff especially in the bar unless you're known to them.
Worse still was the language outside our room coming from the cleaning staff in the morning.not what we expected from this kind of establishment.One young girl was particularly in need of customer service training!
A pity because it's such w beautiful setting.
Shall not return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owl164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. I would like to apologise for your unpleasant experience during your stay with us.

We take customer service very seriously, and as you can see from other reviews we are regularly praised for our friendly and polite staff.

It appears that one or two members of our team have behaved inappropriately, which would be out of character for any of them. It would be much appreciated if you could e-mail more information regarding the “rude staff” and the language that you experienced so that we can identify the staff in question and ensure that this does not happen again in future. You can contact us at enquiries@norfolkarms.com.

Apologies once more, and thank you again for your comments. We hope to hear from you soon re: the above.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Called the Norfolk Arms yesterday at sundown and explained we were 8 hungry climbers and asked if they were still serving dinner! The staff set us up a table in the back restaurant and took our orders at the bar when we arrived- bearing in mind this is around 9.00pm and their pub quiz is about to start! It was busy, especially with the quiz but the staff were extremely welcoming and keen to accommodate us, even setting up a heater by our table as we'd just come in from spending all evening outdoors. Food was great pub grub- and I appreciated they didn't have all items left by 9pm and we were told what was no longer available beforehand so we weren't disappointed when ordering. Amazing value for money, will definitely visit again. I had the gammon and was very pleased with the portion sizing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ACMARTIN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words – you’re more than welcome anytime!

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A recently refurbished and well-appointed hotel on the northern edges of Sheffield combining the countryside with proximity to the city. Good food, large car park and free WiFi. Excellent and very pleasant staff. Our room was a good size with a large double bed; there was plenty of space for hanging clothes. Very comfortable, quiet and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Peter, thank you very much for your kind words, it’s much appreciated.

We’re all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stopped in on our way to Derbyshire for a light lunch. Only one table occupied - and they were eating their main course. We ordered a steak sandwich and homemade fishcake and chips.
20 minutes later they arrived. Thank goodness we were not fifth in a queue! We would still have been waiting at dinner time. Food was average but hardly worth the wait with so many other places to eat only a few miles away. Drinks were "pour your own" from the bottle, but there was one more customer/old friend arriving so naturally we came second.
If ever you are driving past Ringinglow and see this dark and uninviting place, keep driving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Alan, thank you for your review.

We would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your lunchtime visit to the Norfolk Arms.
I do feel however that your comments regarding how long you waited for your food are unfair. As stated in our menu, a lot of our food is homemade and cooked from fresh, and may incur a wait while the meal is prepared.

The fishcakes, as you mentioned above, are homemade. Being quite “chunky” they take a while to be pan-fried and then baked through. It takes between 15 and 20 minutes to ensure that they are thoroughly cooked. To ensure that all of the guests on a table eat together, any other accompanying dishes will obviously be delayed while the fishcakes are being cooked.
Further to this, we do not consider 20 minutes to be a long time for any meal to be prepared properly. Ourselves, and many similar establishments aim to serve food within a 20 – 25 minute time-frame to ensure that it can be cooked thoroughly and prepared with due care.

Re: your comment about the drinks being “pour your own” – customers are not usually invited to pour their own unless they have purchased certain bottled drinks, such as a mixer to accompany a spirit or a bottled beer. I would appreciate it if you could contact us at enquiries@norfolkarms.com with more specific details so that we can look into this matter.

Apologies once more, and thank you for taking the time to comment.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed one night with partner on a voucher deal. Nice surroundings. Easy check in. Room clean and spacious with nice decor. The bar/restaurant was extremely busy.
All staff very pleasant and owner even came over to ask if everything was OK.
Food was good and service prompt.
Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyblahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi, thank you very much for your kind words. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and have taken the time to comment.

We hope to see you again soon.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked 2 rooms with groupon at a reasonable price. On arrival the pub was busy, we waited as the receptionist was also the waitress. I asked if we could eat in the restaurant we where told last orders where 8pm. We went up to the rooms and quickly change as we had been to a theme park during the day. Looking through the menu we picked our choices, I wanted scampi, my husband burger my son steak pie and his girlfriend wanted risotto. There was no pie or risotto we where told that the "chefs had been cooking since 10am". They quickly looked again and asked for sausage and mash. I realised that it came with swede so I offered to change my meal with my son he hates swede. My husband did ask if (the same person whom he originally placed the order with) we could have skinny fries with the scampi and no peas as I had order mushy peas, to which she reply it does come with skinny fries and you won't get peas unless you have asked for them. It just seamed it was easier if we just left it alone. When the food came the waiter brought out the 2 sausage and mash it was so cold it look so unappetising. He asked what peas we wanted with the scampi we replied none thank you so off he went for the rest. He brought the scampi at such a speed scampi pieces fell off the plate, he did look but I think he was hoping that nobody noticed. I did point out it was on the floor he said he would get some more, I told him about the sausage and mash been cold he did apologise and took it away. My sons scampi did not come with the skinny fries it was just 8 pieces of scampi and twelve chips not great value for money. My husband burger was not much better so greasy he tried to cut the burger in half to pick it up to eat it but just couldn't it fell apart most of his meal he left. When our sausage and mash came back out (after been put in the oven for a warm) the waitress brought it out not checking if we had the correct plate. I asked for a little more gravy which was not a problem she said. I couldn't believe it when it came out along with granules still floating. The sausages where breakfast not very nice at all mash was very lumpy with big pieces of swede.

The bedrooms are quite spacious with a very large bed, carpets could do with a wash so could the walls. The TV needs tuning tea facilities are ok bathrooms are very nice. We had a nice breakfast but as we paid for bed and breakfast we where given no direction as to what we could order.

In summary the bed and breakfast was good but the meal was dreadful, yes it was a bank holiday weekend and yes pubs do get busy but to produce food of that quality the chef should be ashamed. My husband and son are both chefs and both would of choose to close the kitchen rather than send food of such poor quality out. We do not complain easy but this was such poor quality and poor value I could not say nothing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I would like to start by apologising for your disappointing experience when you dined with us. As you pointed out, you dined quite late on a very busy bank holiday, which does explain why we had run out of certain items.
This doesn’t excuse the service or quality of food however. From reading your comments and speaking to those on duty at the time, it would appear that there was a lack of communication between staff regarding the accompaniments for your scampi. Typically the scampi is served with chunky chips and either mushy or garden peas – there should be no problems amending this to skinny chips and no peas.

I can only apologise for the un-satisfactory meals that you have described. We aim to prepare and serve every meal to the same high standards, but it appears that on this occasion we have not met the standards that you rightly expect. We generally receive good feedback for our food, and it is always disappointing to hear that guests have not enjoyed their meal and experience in general.

Once again, apologies and thank you for your feedback.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.5 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
257 reviews
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
793 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
279 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: £48 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing