We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

the food was great
the rooms clean
the staff friendly and considerate

my only criticism is the wifi was turned off every night round about 1:30am

why?
they said it wasn't, but I stayed four nights and it happened every night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Philip,
Thanks for your kind words and for bringing this wi-fi issue to our attention.
We certainly don't "deliberately" turn the wi-fi off at any point, and this is the first time the issue has been mentioned.
It is possible that there may be a problem somewhere in our system. We'll investigate this with a view to ensuring the intended stable 24 hour wi-fi connection in future.
Thanks again,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    105
    30
    26
    24
See reviews for
86
132
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mold
Level Contributor
530 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

arrived in the middle of fathers day lunch!!

not the best weather so not many people outside

really pleasant check in experinece

the rooms are smaller than a prem inn ot travel lodge but they have charactor

nice colour schems, well appointed bathroom, good style and colour of bed linen and brilliant views. all this with enough room for 2 chairs and a table as well as a side table so it was cosy

in view of other reviewers comments on the prices they were average and so was the meal so a little more inspiration for the menus guys given the stunning location a few minutes from the national park border

service was unfaultable

really quiet and restful night

enormous breakfast

Room Tip: room 9 looks out over the fields to the distant moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

15 of us booked in for a meal following a walk in the countryside after work. after a strenuous walk we were very hungry and looking forward to what looked like an excellent choice - wide menu, plenty for vegetarians, sightly expensive but we thought worth paying for a special treat for my birthday. started well - the pub itself is very attractive, dog and walker friendly, the beer and wine was very good, and the arrangements seemed to be fine. 2 vegans had phoned ahead to check and ordered separately, as there is nothing properly vegan on the menu apparently. their starter was good, a walnut and pear salad that looked attractive and vanished quickly. from that promising start things went downhill. after what was a ridiculously long wait we finally got our main courses. mine, the stilton and broccoli pie tasted fine, but the pastry was burnt hard, the chips and peas accompanying it undercooked and tasteless. the others said the same of theirs - unappealing vegetables, and either overcooked or undercooked dishes followed round the table. we were hungry enough to eat what we could, but felt let down. the poor vegan couple, having ordered a simple mushroom tagliatelle, were given undercooked penne in a sauce that apparently tasted of nothing much except undercooked flour, and there were no mushrooms to be seen. it was so inedible they complained and though not charged,went hungry as there was nothing else. one person ordered a pudding, but then waited, and waited, and waited. by this time - nearly 3 hours later - people needed to get home and so he never got his pudding at all. I appreciate that the restaurant was busy, that we were a large group and one expects a certain amount of juggling to keep food ready, but scarcely anyone's meal was rated as more than average, and the waiting time between courses was appalling. and how difficult is it to make a simple pasta dish that is properly cooked? This is the first time our group has ever, down to the last person, not put in any tip, even when there have been a few mistakes. it nearly spoiled the occasion. by contrast, 12 of us went to the Plough, in nearby Hathersage last year and we were presented with spectacular food, great service and all perfectly cooked even though they were also very busy that night. we will never go here again and neither will any of the people we have shared our experience with.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsaymcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was one of a pre-booked party of 15 for a friday teatime meal at 18:15. We arrived on time and were seated all at the same table in a very draughty part of the pub that is the dining area.
I asked for some of the windows/doors to be closed, I was refused.
The pub wasn't particularly busy and I saw three waiting staff.
We waited for 25 minutes before realising we had to order our food at the bar. This in itself is a bad idea as we were eating together, and as we were a large party we sort of expected someone to take our orders. When we asked one waiter said, yes, he could come to our table, but he didn't.
We waited for 40 minutes for our main meals. None of the food was very good and pie fillings were meagre, the pastry was overwhelming and the vegan dish (pre-arranged earlier in the week) was a) not vegan, b) did not contain the mushrooms as per the description of the dish and whilst the pasta was massivelyovercooked, the sauce was n't even past the roux stage.
One member of the party ordered desert at the same time as his main course, after 25 minutes, he cancelled the order as by this time it was time for him to leave.
The remaining party were told that the charge still stood even thought the customer had left. needless to say, we did not pay for this dessert which looked likely to never arrive.
I do believe they should consider getting a competent and imaginative chef who can cope with "a bit more than busy", which is all it was.
Overall, lack of organisation and planning in the kitchen and/or staff who failed to perform, whose manners weren't the best and very overpriced mediocre pub grub.
And the disabled lavatory was lethal with a loose seat & inadequate rails for our party member who is paraplegic.
Lovely pub, fab views, but take a picnic or stick to bags of crisps!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
This post is in response to both this review and the above review from lindsaymcat, who were part of the same group:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We have worked hard to establish ourselves as a popular Peak District food and drink venue, and we take any feedback, good or bad, very seriously.

We will always admit when we have made mistakes or failed to provide the service which our guests have a right to expect, and with this in mind we collectively apologise for any meals which you and the members of your party did not enjoy.

I have spoken to the majority of the staff who worked on this particular evening, and they have admitted that the communication and organisation could have been improved on. The kitchen team have also taken on board your comments regarding the meals, and as ever, appreciate any constructive criticism. Again, our apologies for any meals which you did not enjoy.

There are however, several points which we feel warrant a response from ourselves.

Firstly, both reviews mention the ordering situation. Our wall boards state that food should be ordered from the bar. However, we will always take the orders of large parties at their table, if requested, to simplify the situation.
The front of house staff who looked after this table have said that they agreed (with a member of the party) to take the order at the table, but when they approached the table to take the order were told by a different member of the party that he had already started to write the order down himself and would order it at the bar.
It may be the case that the communication was not clear between our staff and the table, but communication also seemed to be lacking between party members themselves – if one member of the party asks us to take the order at the table and another says not to, we can‘t be held completely responsible for any ensuing confusion. Moving forward, we may decide that all parties of a certain number will place their order at the table to avoid any confusion.

Once the food had been ordered the main courses were served around 45 minutes later. This 45 minutes includes the time taken for the starters to be served, eaten and cleared, and for 15 main courses to be prepared and served. Although we would aim for a slightly quicker service time, we don’t consider this to be a “ridiculously long wait”. Much of our food is home-cooked and takes time to cook. This is especially relevant to this order which included home-made pies.
In the past we have asked larger parties to pre-order their meals, but this does not always suit all guests and can also lead to its own problems when guests turn up later than agreed. We may re-introduce this policy in future to ensure that guest’s meals are served at a pre-agreed time.

Regarding the quality of the food – three different staff claim to have visited the table to check that everything was ok after the main courses were served. No issues were raised other than those for the Mushroom Tagliatelle. The first indication which we received from the guests was a note written on a napkin which was found after the party had left. We can not attempt to solve problems if we are not aware of them.

The vegan meal had been prepared especially for this party. We appreciate that the guests informed us that they were not happy with the meal at the time, and apologise that they did not enjoy it.
We must state however, that the dish contained four, large flat mushrooms (between the two portions). We have a photograph of the actual meal being prepared which clearly shows this to be true.
There also appears to have been a miss-communication between party members regarding this meal, as the first review claims that the dish comprised of “under-cooked penne”, while the second review states that the pasta was “massively overcooked”.
The second review also states that the dish was “not vegan”. This is a serious allegation to make, and one which we absolutely contest. The request for a vegan dish was taken completely seriously, and whether the meal met with the tastes of the guest or not is not relevant in this case – it was vegan.
A full breakdown of the ingredients used is:
Soya milk, lemon juice, flat-cap mushrooms, red onions, parsley, thyme, corn flour, salt, pepper and garlic. We originally intended to use tagliatelle pasta, but realised that the pasta which had been incorrectly delivered to us contained egg. We used vegan penne pasta instead. The guests were informed in advance that we would be using vegan penne pasta.
We understand that unhappy guests wish to share their experiences with other users and in the case of this party we accept some criticism. In regard to the above statement however, we feel that what is clearly mis-interpreted information should not be posted as fact.

Finally, regarding the dessert: the gentleman ordered the dessert after his main course. Our tills keep a record of all orders and their times, and the dessert was clearly ordered some time after the main courses. The dessert was served by a member of our team, who was informed that the guest had left. We apologise that the guest experienced a longer wait than expected, but again, one of the reviews is not entirely accurate in describing the situation.

We would like to offer a genuine apology to those who did not enjoy their visit to the Norfolk Arms. We do strive to provide quality food and a friendly, efficient service and on this occasion we understand that we failed to meet expectations.

We always accept criticism when it is deserved and aim to make improvements to benefit both our guests and our business based on guests comments.
We do however also believe that we have a right to respond when we feel that guests have left reviews which are either unfair or inaccurate. If either of the reviewers would like to discuss any of the matters above further, please don’t hesitate to contact us. Apologies once more.

Steve Hobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We visited here as we were having a drive out and needed lunch.The pubs nearer to the moors where we had been walking aren't very welcoming so I suggested here as we had visited before for drinks.

The staff were very pleasant and welcoming.The food inexpensive and plentiful.My partner did comment that the halloumi on his sandwich wasn't baked as promised, the only thing which marks it down.

It is a brilliant location with nice views and if it wasn't for the fact that we already live in the countryside we would certainly book a room here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Voyagesceptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have visited many times for many occasions, but mainly in the summer as it is a great place to sit outside overlooking some great countryside.
I recently stopped overnight in the four poster room which had fantastic views from all 3 windows and I kept the curtains open all night. just wish they did offers on this room as I would stay more often. the bed was very comfy and I am fussy when it comes to comfy beds.
breakfast was cooked well but they need to improve on bar food as it has been poor on a few occasions and there are no excuses for poor food.

Room Tip: family room on the back is spacious. four poster has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Rachel, thanks for your kind words.
We do have “last minute” deals on all of our rooms, including the Mayfield View four-poster room. We may also look into running some offers and promotions during the summer so please keep an eye on our Facebook page and website for more info.
We apologise if you have not enjoyed your food on your recent visits. It would be much appreciated if you could e-mail your comments on this matter to us at enquiries@norfolkarms.com. We are always looking to improve on our service and standards and any feedback is helpful.
Thanks again for the review,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Spectacular setting on the edge of the Peak District overlooking Sheffield. From the website I expected more of a traditional pub feel but it turned out to be a small/medium hotel with modern, clean, good sized bedrooms. Would have appreciated a warning that Monday is jazz night and our room was directly over the band room, although it finished by 11pm.

Dinner was fairly standard pub-grub, nothing special. Decent breakfast.

Good last minute price via booking website.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Dave, thank you for your review.

We have tried to maintain the feeling of a traditional pub in our bar area – especially at the bottom end – the “Walkers Bar”, while also combining the more modern feel of our rooms. The bar is especially “cosy” during winter, when we have our log burning fires running in both the main and walkers bar areas.

Apologies for the lack of warning re: the Jazz night. This takes place every Monday evening between 8:30pm and 11:00pm in the Mayfield room. We are aware that this is not to everybody’s tastes and we do attempt to pre-warn guests, however it appears that on this occasion the members of our team who booked and checked you in failed to inform you. For this we apologise and we will try to ensure that this does not happen again in future.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
9.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
7.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Property: The Norfolk Arms
Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing