We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed 19 December 2010

This used to be a old pub that has been modernised and extended without losing the old charm. There are about 10 bedrooms of reasonably good quality. Bed was good and slept well.
Meals and breakfast available in the pub area which were excellent and good value. Going back to stay there again soon.
Great location at Ringinglow with superb views and access to Peak District.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    109
    35
    26
    24
See reviews for
95
135
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2010

we stayed for 1 night after seeing a lovely well presented website. The staff were helpful if a little untidily presented on arrival and gave us complicated directions to a simple to find room which featured a non secure lock on the inside and a broken curtain rail. The hygeine standard was generally good, but shortcuts were noticable such as a duvet tucked halfway under the bed with the cover only half on! The bed was very comfortable but we were in a converted stable which was very loud with noise audible from next rooms and staff talking loudly at 10 at night then wheeling bins around at 7am! I would recommend this hotel especially with the very fast wireless, but would request a main building room and go elsewhere for breakfast as the prices are extortionate for a simple menu.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumofalexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Checked in at lunchtime and this pub hotel is a real hidden gem in a great location. The staff, without exception have been attentative, and the food coming out of the kitchen has been great (And good value too!). The room was of a high standard, and cleanliness is 10/10. I love the open fire and log burner, and there is a good selection of wines and drinks. I will be back, just a shame the hotel side does not allow dogs.

Booked through Active Hotels for the best rate.


P.S I had the breaded mushrooms and cheese burger on the early bird menu ...... top dog!! And they serve Amstel ......

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayInnAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I recently visited Sheffield for my friend’s wedding in September 2010, as the wedding was a few miles out of the centre I was looking for an alternative place to stay from the usual generic hotel chains & whilst searching I stumbled upon this little hidden gem on laterooms.com. Everything about our stay was to a very high standard....the staff on arrival were welcoming & extremely helpful, our room upon entry was clean warm welcoming & spotless, We found the decor to be very modern but with a country twist...the views from the hotel windows were glorious & it was an absolute bonus that the onsite parking is free to all guests. This hotel is 10 min’s drive or taxi ride (about £8) into the centre of Sheffield so is easily accessible if you are there to party the weekend away. To summarise my experience id say " A FANTASTIC HIDDEN GEM WITH FRIENDLY STAFF PUT THIS GUEST HOUSE ON YOUR LIST OF PLACES TO STAY IF YOU VISIT SHEFFIELD " :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KARLEY-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Nice rooms rather spaceious although our bed looked like it had been in a tropical storm (made realy untidily) the quiet was pushed so far under the bed the bottem end stuck up, one of the pillowcases had a nice boogie on it, my bath had hairs allover it, the floor looked like it hadn't been hoovered nice staff although the young bar lad seemed to have great interest in my girlfriend more than letting us purchase wine

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javahaulage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Wonderful, little hotel, tucked away on edge of Peak District and Sheffield city centre. Chosen last minute for price really, as celebrating birthday with family who live in Derbyshire. Also tied in with visiting Sheffield as possibly University choice for one of my children.
The hotel is wonderful, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful setting, didn't want to leave the sunny beer garden as view was great with the Alpacas in next field. Food was gorgeous and good value too. We had an extremely pleasant stay and will definately be visitng again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyRobinson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The Norfolk Arms was recommended to us, by friends who have previously stayed here.
We stayed here on 3rd June 2010 in room 13. which was clean,well presented,with adequate wardrobe and drawer facilities. with an extremely comfortable bed. a decent sized ensuite bathroom. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from checking in to checking out next morning. Inside the hotel bar there is a extensive range of available drinks and food. We took our drinks to the outside seating area as the weather yesterday was a brilliant warm summer evening. The views from the outside seating area is fantastic overlooking Mayfield Valley and beyond.
The only negative was the full english breakfast priced at £7.95 although the food was of good quality - the quantity was quite sparse and perhaps £4.95 would have been a more appropriate price. However the room rate of £44.00 was excellent value.
We will definitely stay here again soon - and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertnSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
745 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
443 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
7.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#1 of 53 in Sheffield
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Property: The Norfolk Arms
Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing