We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenhead House

Greenhead House
Ranked #164 of 1,427 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rotherham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our first visit and certainly wont be the last. From the first minute to the last we enjoyed every minute. Great staff, menu and the food was fabulous. Worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirecouple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    10
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Sheffield - deserves a Michelin Star”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We went here tonight for my 65th birthday. it must be 15 years since we last came. The food was some of the best we've tasted in a very long time and the service was efficient and friendly. Clearly the owners run a tight ship but all the staff seemed very happy to help and it was a pleasure to dine here. A very warm welcome was waiting for us as we were shown into the fire lit lounge and canapes and drinks served promptly whilst we chose from the menu. Just little touches here and there made the difference between acceptable and outstanding service. We would certainly return and not leave it another 15 years before we did. If you like good food, company and friendly and efficient service this is the place to try. Well done to the owners for keeping up the high standard that they have set themselves and a big thank you to the helpful staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning Evening”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We ate last night at The Greenhead. This was our first visit and cant believe we have never been before. To coin a phrase the whole experience was Fab-U-Lous! We were treated like guests visitting the owners personal home, which in effect, it is. Drinks and canapes in the lounge with open fire and period decor and furniture. Through to the dining room, again tastefully decorated, attended by a team of waitresses where absolutely nothing is too much to ask. Their serving skills, along with their inter personal skills just continue with the feeling of being a guest in their home. The food is unbelievable, and there's lots of it!! By far, the best meal either of us have ever eaten bar none. The menu is varied and caters for all tastes but is fixed for a couple of months at a time but dont be put off. You wont be dissapointed. Dont expect to rock up without a booking. we waited several weeks for last nights table, so plan in advance when you want to visit. Congratulations to Anne and her team for providing the ultimate in excellent dining experience not only in Sheffield, but in the North Midlands and beyond. We'll be back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

An excellent place for a special night out, you are greeted by Anne the owner and served drinks and canapés in the lounge while choosing from the menu.everything is home cooked using fresh ingredients and is to a very high standard, our party choose steaks cooked to different stages and everyone's was cooked to perfection, the food is very well presented, it seems a shame to actually eat it. The staff are really friendly and very helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
The menu changes each month so I can't wait to go back and try something different.
Altogether a very enjoyable experience and one I can't wait to visit again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samokov, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Goog grub, friendly service”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

With a choice of either a suit and tie or cords and boat shoes to wear I was a little crestfallen when our host said we should dress "formally" for our dinner at Greenhead House. So, suit it was and I prepared myself for pomposity. Arriving there it transpired that the dress code was far from strict; more than half the diners had taken a more relaxed line and did not look out of place (though neither did we).

Menus and aperitifs were served in a cosy sitting room. One of the group took a ginger-beer-based non-acoholic fruit concoction which sounded ridiculous but tasted great. there was a choice of gin for my G+T. The five-course menu was priced according to the main course selection and the only item I could not imagine choosing was a pork terrine starter, because it included hazelnuts. All the options were under £50 a head.

In the end I went for a gruyere and arugula pithivier (small round pie; never heard of it before), followed by cauliflower and bacon soup, beef filet steak with red wine sauce, chocolate tart with coffee cream, petits fours and coffee. A £37 Rioja accompanied the meal and I had a glass of Brown Brothers orange muscat with the chocolate tart. It was good food, nicely prepared and tasty.

The one quibble was the filet steak. Two of us ordered medium rare and one ordered medium but all three turned up medium-well done. Such was the mood, though, that it would have seemed churlish to make a fuss about it. So I didn't, and nor did the other two.

The plusses: The ambiance at Greenhead is upper-class farmhouse chic, with eclectic furnishings and friendly service.. The couple who own the place are hands-on in the kitchen and front of house and their enthusiasm and manner have been captured well by the other staff. The wine list is not long but is sensible and one of the least rapacious I have ever come across in a top-flight restaurant. Water from the tap is offered gratis, without the tussle that is too often necessary if one is to avoid paying through the nose for funny foreign bottled stuff.

All in all a very pleasant and most enjoyable surprise. Unreservedly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Akrido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenhead House also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Greenhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing