We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service”
Review of Mediterranean

Mediterranean
Ranked #70 of 1,454 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$49
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Established over 25 years, The Mediterranean Restaurant serves fresh fish and seafood and authentic Spanish tapas. Fully licensed. Open lunch and dinner Monday - Saturday.Tapas available 12 - 2.30pm Monday - Saturday and 5.30pm - 10pm Monday to Thursday.A la carte menu and specials available Monday - Saturday lunch and dinner. Closed on Sundays. Please call to make a reservation.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Can't believe I haven't been here before when I live in sheffield. Extensive menu with lots of fish and seafood. The goats cheese filo parcels were to die for. My friend had the fish stew and described it at the best she has ever had (and she's had a few as she rarely eats meat). Shared a dessert and even the coffee tasted great. Reasonably priced too and the staff are lovely and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    63
    29
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The title says it all! I used to visit here fairly regularly years ago and as other things and other places intervened so did the lack of visits. What a pity - because this restaurant continues to have excellent dishes and an excellent tapas menu too available on various days. Staff are helpful in advising guests. The chef/kitchen staff also deserve mention and the gentleman from Morocco who owns the place is a perfect host. The food is exquisite!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Living just 5 minutes away we often walk past but have never got around to go in. This changed on Friday & I was not disappointed. The selection of food is fantastic, the service was something else. The waiter helped me choose dishes from the menu (I struggle in making a decision when it all sounds so nice) the food arrived & it was delicious, I will definitely return. I think this is completely reasonably priced, with 2 starters, 2 mains & a dessert to share all with a bottle of wine & a large sparkling water at £76. Amazing! A lively restaurant & one that I am proud to call 'the local' I can't wait to go again. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A bit disappointed as very keen to go here. Completely empty when we arrived at 1pm but we were only given the menu with a few starters and main courses - after asking we discovered we could also order from the specials blackboard. After ordering more people arrived who all ordered from the tapas menu (a lively, fun and well priced choice) which we were never given and then got their food before us.

The food was delicious and we had an excellent waiter for the latter part of the meal but felt cheated of a good experience by weak initial service. Our first waiter's attention was certainly somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Ate here on 7th October with my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Why oh why have we waited so long to visit? The service, choice and food were excellent. There is so much to choose from on the specials board; all cooked and served excellently so you can have a nice, unhurried dining experience. We had crab salad (including crab ice cream) and mussels to start, followed by lemon sole and gilthead bream with an excellent pineapple polenta cake and vanilla ice cream to share. We had a good bottle of Pinot Grigio to share too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nickowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mediterranean also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing