We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - we were very impressed”
Review of The Wortley Arms

The Wortley Arms
Ranked #45 of 1,454 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$42
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Wortley Arms was originally built as a coach house in 1753 at a cost of 188 pounds and 66 shillings! After an extensive renovation period we reopened our doors in November 2006.You will find we have retained many of the features that have given this historical building its renowned character including its revolving doors and the solid oak beams. Customers can enjoy themselves in our warm welcoming environment in front of our wood fire, whilst enjoying a locally brewed ale or some excellent fresh food like our famous Wortley Pie.The Montagu Rooms occupy the upper floor. Here we can accommodate private functions for all purposes. You can hire part or the whole of the top floor for exclusive private dining, for seated parties of up to 50 or buffet style catering for larger gatherings. Alternatively you can reserve the entire venue including the facilities of the Wortley Arms.Food for both the Wortley Arms and the Montagu Rooms is prepared under the direction of Master Chef of Great Britain Andy Gabbitas. Andy uses recipes that he has collected in the course of his experience as private chef to well known celebrities and on his world travels to produce a cuisine at its most pure, simple and seasonal.
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding - we were very impressed”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We're not local and we didn't expect much here beyond good 'pub grub' - so we very impressed by the high quality cooking and first class food we enjoyed for dinner at The Wortley Arms. Far better than plenty of smart restaurants in South Eastern England and half the price. It's true (as some other reviewers have said) that service is slow, but it is very polite and friendly too and anyway, it's a lovely old pub to relax in. The salmon with asparagus and poached egg was particularly outstanding, but everything was clearly very high quality ingredients, freshly cooked and stylishly arranged on the plate. Lucky you if you live near Wortley!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    121
    39
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The taste .....”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Took my family for an evening out, we only had mains and a couple of drinks, approx. £20 per head, not a morsel left on any plate, the food was delicious. Service friendly, staff polite, what more can you ask for?

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tapas and Jazz Guitar night”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Table for 7 friends on the Tapas and Jazz guitar night 11.7.2014. At £20 a head the night was excellent; great entertainment from the guitar player and singing from Beth which was just lovely. The service staff were polite and efficient tending to our needs and ensuring we were happy serving the food and drinks in the upstairs tastefully decorated restaurant. Authentic Spanish dishes were delicious and freshly prepared, if anything too much food but with hungry males it wasn't a problem!! A great night, happy atmosphere we would all go again if further "events" are organised.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food from a good choice on the menu”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Nicely prepared food from a good menu with loads of specials. Good portion sized main courses were £9 - £16 with sides at £2-3.50. Good range of drinks and some nice wines available.
Not sure why but they had only a couple of staff working front of house which meant getting served to order drinks and food took longer than it should have. Once ordered food arrived timely and all staff were friendly and helpful.
All portion sizes were very good, including a large side salad.
Good choice of vegetarian dishes, not the usual suspects; no mushroom stroganoff here and meat was well prepared.
Excellent place for a Saturday treat.

Helpful?
Thank Antony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Cuisine”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Excellent food, Great service, well worth the extra money. I can recommend the canon of Lamb, absolutley beautiful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank kris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wortley Arms also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Wortley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing