We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Good Experience'”
Review of Baan Thai

Baan Thai
Ranked #323 of 1,467 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“'Good Experience'”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

First visit here after a couple of years since the last time. The greeting on entry is polite and friendly by a young lady dressed in the Thai tradition. - restaurant around half full on a Wednesday evening. But got busier as the evening progressed. We chose the set meal A @ £19.95 per person. - The bottled beers were very expensive at around £4 + So opted for the French Chardonnay @ £15.00 which was extremely palatable & 13% by volume - A complimentary starter was brought to our table (extremely tasty) Our main starter was presented promptly and was a selection of meat on a stick plus spring rolls plus other selections which tasted good.
Our empty plates were cleared promptly and the main course arrived soon after and each dish clearly explained by the attentive server. All the main course dishes were of good quality and quantity and were delicious. We chose the banana fritter with ice cream as a dessert and finished our visit with well presented latte coffee. Our bill came to £70.00 - service was good so we left a tip. - overall a pleasant dining our experience and we will back again soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertnSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    72
    27
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A spicy taste of the Orient”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Enjoyed Lovelly meal tonight in the Baan Thai, Sheffield with my wife and teenage son. This has always been one of my Children's favourite destinations when visiting a Sheffield. I was delighted to see tonight that it has been renovated since our last visit. The menu choice us huge. Our best choice tonight was the steamed sea bass but we also enjoyed the green curry and beef and potato dish. To begin we had the plate of mixed starters and because my eyes were bigger than my stomach I Aldo had a spicy fish soup!. The staff are always so polite and attentive. It is possibky a little pricey but the quality is exceptional and you get what you pay for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic food at the Baan Thai”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good food with now a shortened menu which is still comprehensive. The service levels are excellent as is the food, its ambience is proper Thailand, can get very busy at nights. Parking couldn't be easier, with a rear carpark.Eaten at the Baan Thai many many times and will continue to do so.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PBandDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and awesome food”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely experience and the staff were very warm and welcoming. It wasn't the busiest of nights but we were given a lovely little corner. The service was great and the food excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great everything, little expensive, made up by great everything.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went here on a whim and it was fantastic. The service was second to none, the food was very nice, the complimentary dumplings were a nice change. It has been a while since i have been to a restaurant which has a comfy, but yet sophisticated feel to it. It was a bit expensive but the service, food and atmosphere made up of it. Would i go again? yes. Would i take my parents, yes?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wardysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baan Thai also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing