We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but gloomy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed here for three nights and was generally pleased with the standards offered. The staff were all friendly and efficient, the room comfortable and the food of a good standard.

A bonus is that there are some reasonable restaurants and pubs within walking distance if you fancy venturing out.

A minor frustration was the keycard access failing on a couple of occasions necessitating a (long) trip back to reception. I have had this happen at a few hotels so no real downer on this place in particular.

What was more odd was the lack of illumination in my room. There seemed to be a lack of lights rather than anything not working and I was left groping in semi-darkness at times. A ceiling mounted light that illuminates the whole room would be welcome.

Overall pretty good and I will return when I next have business in Sheffield

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesha100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have raised please accept our apologies with regard to your key not working, at times this is due to have the key next to a mobile as this effects the magnetic strip.

Wtih regard to the lighting we would be more than happy to place further lights in the room should you request these.

We are pleased to hear that you will be returning for a future visit, in the meantime, should you have any further queries or need anything else at all please do feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

My family stayed for two nights and we had a nice stay. We found all the staff to be very nice and accommodating. The room we had gave our family plenty of space. The breakfast was good and in the evening our meals all went down well. Overall as a family with one 12 year old and a 3 year old, we had a pleasant stay and we will go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us.

It delights me to see that you had a enjoyable stay and that the staff were of help and were welcoming to you and your family.

We hope to see you again soon.

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed for one night and had a very nice stay, breakfast was a good buffet style with lots of choice. Our room was large and clean, the only downside being the Tv reception was not great.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank t0p_0f_the_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to review your recent syat with us.

I am dissapointed to learn the TV reception was not very good in your room ,and I have passed your comments onto the maintenance team for them to look into. I can assure you that this is not the usual standard we deliver.

Hope to see you again soon.

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Ups
Located in what must have been a country squires estate, now surrounded by urban sprawl Kenwood is something of an oasis. The GPS had some difficulty is negotiating the twisted and tight street layout of Sheffield to get there, and the roads are in a very sorry state, so take your time.
Staff courteous and helpful.
Reception / bar area has a contemporary feel to its design which soon evaporates the further your room is located away until the decor becomes circa late 80's early 90's. The room itself has a nice vista of the gardens which is quite refreshing after a day in the urban jungle, and the decor is good if somewhat dated,old style TV , Internet service is supposedly free but only for 30min intervals at which time you have to re-login through the corporate website and it also seems speed restricted --why is that? - just annoying.
Bathroom/ toilet area has been updated, however as always the shower controls belie the last major refurbishment, being the 80's type i.e. 1-2mm left or right being scalding hot or arctic cold water, N.B the water temperature is combined with impressive water pressure you could easily operate a steam cleaning business (car /truck engines) with a few tappets and extension hoses, so shaving time is fun!
Amenities include free guest access to a small swimming pool (so no diving, you'll break you neck) jacuzzi and stream / sauna room and a reasonable if space restricted Gym over 2 floors.

Downs:

other TV's and noises encroaching into the room, varied considerably again luck of the draw as to what type of guest was next door.
Slamming doors due to poor / useless "door restrainers" are on epic proportions in this establishment, room service tended to be a bit wooly, e.g windows needed to be cleaned (lot of natural guests in the grounds including Owls so consider where you park! etc) but it seemed like a bucket of water and some hope was used to do the job, the ironing board cover snapped and so needed replacing and so I got another ironing board making x2 in the room ? rubbish tied up in a bag (bins are on the small side) could remain, Door restrainer problems problem noted but hard to say if really fixed etc..
Saying that I would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank centroweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Firstly may I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

As a new General Manager to the property, I can aasure you that I am working with the team to improve areas of the hotel, including updating the decor and certain services we provide.

I have passed your comments on to the teams and they have found your constructive feedback to be of help.

Many Thanks and hope you visit us again soon.

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stay here a lot and the rooms are lovely as are the grounds of the hotel. It's a little out of the centre but is good for Ecclesall road bars & restaurants.

Parts of the hotel are looking tired and the room service menu could do with updating but overall its great value

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

It pleases me to see that you consistently have an enjoyable stay with us and that you find us of great value.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kenwood Hall soon.

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here this 19/02/12 Sunday, and have mixed feelings about the hotel.
The grounds were lovely, and on arrival the hotel gives a good impression. The check-in was easy and the receptionist was polite. The room 206 was nice, if a little dated, of a good size and had a comfy bed. Both taps in the bathroom were hot which was not ideal!
The pool, spa pool and steam room were lovely, but the changing room showers were both not working properly (in both female and male changing rooms).
The breakfast was lovely and the breakfast staff were lovely and helpful.
In the evening we requested directions into the city from reception, and were given very vague and unhelpful instructions, we'd hope that this (reasonable!) request is something that reception should be able to provide without too much hassle.
Overall the stay was adequate, as were the facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLloyd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us.

Please allow me to extend my sincere apologies for not providing a
completely satisfactory stay for you. We note your comments regarding
the issues you experienced in your bedroom and the Leisure Club. I wish to assure you that the issues are not representative of our usual standards and we have of course addressed these with both departments to ensure this is not repeated. With regards to your comments about the service you received from the Reception team, I can assure you that retraining has now taken place.

Finally, thank you for your positive comments, these will be passed on to the team who will be delighted to read them.

We hope to see you again soon
Simone Sansom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

For a cheap, posh stay this was very good - we went so the kids could enjoy a pool, and we could then walk in to town to have a look around, which Kenwood did for us. When we checked in there was a problem getting in to our first room, but we were given another one immediately (better too!) We went to the leisure centre - yes the pool is small, but you can see that from the pictures, so no surprises .. it was fine for the kids, and very warm too.
Town itself is close enough, but the best area of Sheffield for eating is close by on Ecclesall Road.
The grounds were very pretty as was the setting - probably the only thing that wasn't up to scratch was the cooked buffet breakfast .. pretty awful, but hey-ho!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Many thanks for your feedback.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that we delivered a service you were impressed with. I have passed your comments on to our Head Chef regarding breakfast and he assures me that this has been addressed and will not happen again in the future.

Hope you visit us again soon.
Simone Sansom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,569 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel

Address: Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £50 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hall Sheffield
Hotel Kenwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing