We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great little Break”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Went on a groupon voucher and we came back today. Lovely pool, room was great and hotel and gardens where lovely. Even though we had a few hiccups ie they forgot to book our table... They added a extra £44 to our bill I would return. We upgraded so our room was fab.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leala27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you were able to make full use of the facillities
I apologise that the reception team did not reserve your table on arrival at the hotel

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    445
    284
    139
    73
See reviews for
234
548
52
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April 2014. we needed a hotel close to the Peak District and Sheffield town which this hotel is perfect for. The grounds are lovely and they have good facilities. I was disappointed when we arrived at the hotel that you aren't taken to the gorgeous entrance that is shown in all of the pictures, you go to a slightly business-looking reception. We had a standard room, which was a good size and clean, but the walls are so thin I can hear the conversation next door. There are also old 3-pinned plug sockets that can't be used and only 2 normal plug sockets. All in all if you're not looking for anything amazing then it's a good stay, although we didn't pay full price and got a deal through Late Rooms. I wouldn't pay the full price for what we got.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your comments
The main reception is as you approach the hotel and is more modern than the entrance at the other side of the building within the old house, however the old house entrance has easy access to the bedrooms located in that area and all of the conference rooms

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A friend and I stayed one night in a twin room whilst visiting the Peak District and for us, the location was ideal. The staff was professional and helpful, and our room was spacious and beds large and comfortable. Unfortunately, the room was in dire need of redecorating; carpets looked really old and dirty and the bathroom suite was worn to the point where it just did not look clean anymore. The shower tap diverter did not work and had to be wedged to stay in the 'up' position. The television was ancient (expected a flatscreen - this was not), unsurprisingly it wasn't working properly and also, the remote cover was missing. For the price we paid (£49), it was simply okay. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFredriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your comments especially regarding the team.
The hotel is not modern and purpose built however all of our upgraded bedrooms do have flat screen tv's with a variety of channels. I have passed on your other comments regarding the room to both the housekeeping and maintenance manager to review

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our family stayed for 2 nights 12/13 April 2014.

Plusses -

Hall exterior and grounds very attractive

Central location but in a quiet leafy area

Room a good size

Has a (albeit small) pool

Although the 'Tempus' bar menu was a little limited and quite pricey, the food was very good - pizza base was obviously made from fresh dough, crisp on outside and soft in middle. Feta salad was high quality and the Feta was delicious

Found staff to be very courteous and friendly

Minuses -

Our daughter's pull out bed was lumpy and uncomfortable (no, she's not princess and pea) so she slept on top of the duvet with the main bed valance as a cover

The main bed mattress too soft and I found myself waking up repeatedly with an aching back, turning to try and get comfortable

What decade are we in? We're Luddites and even we've had a HD digital TV for a few years now. Room had analogue TV with no more than 10 channels and appalling reception - 50% snow! Daughter most dis-chuffed no kids channels!

Put breakfast that we didn't have on our bill (but took it off again no quibbling :-)

Drinks in bar expensive

Overall -

An okay place to stay but it won't knock your socks off

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and I apologise about the child's bed if brought to our attention we would have been able to exhange for you
Unfortunately only our upgraded rooms currently have flat Screen TV'S with a variety of channels, however I apologise as this is no way an excuse for not having a clear picture

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to treat ourselves to a night away from the kids and saw this on groupon so decided to go for it.
On our arrival the staff were very welcoming and we were checked in quickly.
The rooms are very spacious and cosy but could do with a tidy up and decorating. Bed and pillows very comfortable.
Pool was nice and warm and jacuzzi was divine. There was also a steam room and sauna.
We had a 2 course meal included which was lovely. My only criticism would be that the chips could have done with a little longer to cook but that is being very picky!
The desserts did take quite a while to come out after our main meal but were well worth the wait!
We did have to pay a supplement towards my husbands meal which was steak but that was fair enough. (Although they did try and charge us twice for it).
Drinks were a little pricey but then it is a hotel so accept hotel prices.
Breakfast was also included and was very nice with a good selection of foods for different tastes.
However I did find the waiter we had very rude indeed when he was showing us to our table.
All in all I think we would defiantly return to this hotel if another deal became available.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive feedback of your recent stay and I am pleased that you were able to take full advantage of all of our facilities from the dining room to leisure

I apologise about the team member in the restaurant and have passed on your comments to the F&B manager. This is not ususally the response we receive relating to team members as overall our team feedback is generally positive

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights - staff were very friendly and helpful; food, particularly breakfast, was very good and the room was large and recently refurbished. The grounds are beautiful, with a lovely lake. Our daughter also had a room and brought her dog - that worked out very well. Handy location for both city centre and the Peaks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_V2189423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Kenwood Hall adn I am pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. As we are set in 11 acres of grounds overlooking the lake it is an excellent place to walk your dog and relax after an evening meal especially as we approach the lighter nights and warmer weather

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014


The receptionist (I think his name is Jacob ) was so professional and friendly we would not stay anywhere else in Sheffield ... For me it's all about how the staff treats customers and how approachable they are so even if there is an issue they sort it out for you . That's what impresses me and The guy at the reception Jacob had such a pleasant and lovely personality I forgot all about My experience of another hotel that I went to from there I came to kenwoodhall and I was so glad I made the right choice the location is great too.
London 12/04/2015

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ss278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Kenwood Hall.
I am especially pleased to hear comments regarding the team, customer service and professional approach and will ensure that Jacob receives a copy of your review . He will be delighted

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
743 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,496 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Address: Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hall Sheffield
Hotel Kenwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing