We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I had a one night dinner, bed and breakfast stay at this hotel. Located near the centre of Sheffield and yet you would think you were in the middle of the countryside. The Hall and more modern buildings attached to it are situated in beautiful lawned and wooded grounds with a large ornamental pond, complete with fountain!!
First impressions then very favourable - public rooms and bedroom all clean and in good order.Staff smart and polite but it appeared that drinks and meal supplements all had to be paid for there and then - couldn't be put on your room number and settled on departure as in all other hotels we have ever stayed in It seemed as though they must think everyone is dishonest and going to do a runner and seemed more concerned about making sure they had extracted all the money they were owed before one could get out of the dining room and go to bed!!

Then if you want a good nights sleep this is not the hotel for you!! Half past five this morning and the fire alarm went off . Everyone had to stand outside in the rain for 25 minutes before being let back in. Apparently a false alarm. On departure no apologies, no explanation just a request for yet more money for a further phantom supplement to our meal of the previous evening Needless to say this was not forthcoming. A more mercenary place I have never been to!! Not recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed quiet and away from traffic. TV somewhat obsolete and choice of channels poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roderick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback although a little disappointing
As with most hotel groups all guests are offered an option to open an account on check-in to charge any addtional items back to your room. It is explained at the time that should this not be required your will be asked to pay for your bill in either the restaurant or bar at the time

The fire alarm was raised during the early morning and in the interest of safety it was important that a full evacuation took place whilst the situation was investigated as it went straight to full alarm. Fortunately it was only found to be a guest smoking, and nothing more serious however the safety of the guests and the team are our prime consideration. I apologise for the disruption this caused

A letter was placed under all bedroom doors, the receptionist on check-out and the breakfast staff did aplologise to all guests as they encountered them - I can only aplogise if you were not personally spoken to during the event

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just spend an awesome stay at Kenwood hall courtesy Groupon deal.To start with,dealing with Receptionist Laura was fabulous,she was very helpful,courteous and professional.Rooms were large and clean.Restaurant breakfast as well dinner was delicious with above average service standards.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, from your bedroom allocation to both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant
I have passed on your positive feedback to Laura who will receive a star card and gift based on your recommendation

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is the second occasion I have stayed at the hotel and my experiences have been good. On both occasions I have found the staff to be unfailingly polite, efficient and professional ..nothing is too much trouble and it is service with a smile. Plenty of space in 'Superior' room (had standard room last visit and that was fine also), shower excellent a\nd bed extremely comfortable. My only comment would be to suggest the bathrooms would benefit from some updating. Ate in the bar and, again, food quality and service were up to the mark. Large car park, quite location, beautiful grounds and very close to the city. Room rates reflect these aspects but you expect to pay a little more for quality. Would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: It is a large hotel and some of the budget rooms (No'd 500>) are quite a distance from Recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deltablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your overall feedback of the hotel, the team and the facilites
I am pleased that you chose to return to Kenwood as a result of a positive visit the first time and that you was able to make full use of our facilities

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The setting is excellent, with nice gardens and a walk around a lake, but inside the décor is tired and the leisure area was especially in need of refurbishment. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast excellent. The staff were friendly but in need of management support. My biggest gripe was the "free" Wi-Fi that refused to work on my smartphone, with a complex log in. Next was the outrageously high bar prices that would be acceptable in a 5 star London Hotel, but not in Sheffield!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidlowe46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your comments which I will feed back to the team
I apologise that you had problems with the WI-FI which I will forward onto IT as we have recently had an upgrade which was to aid access and speed.

The hotel is not modern and purpose built however we benefit from, free car parking and 12 acres of grounds which allow you to relax and enjoy the setting just minutes away from the busy city centre

Unfortunately the bar prices are set in line with the company, however they are competitve within Sheffield in similar style hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with husband. Lady on reception very friendly and helpful. Room was nice an spacious. Big bed and a seating area. Old TV with very few channels but you don't go away to sit and watch telly. Room and bathroom were clean.
Dinner was included in our deal, and while nice enough food the portions were quite small. The service was odd as initially we were hounded by waitresses, being offered the dessert menu after finishing the starter, then couldn't get the bill! Waited an age and had to go the desk to pay.
Breakfast is a buffet again food was nice enough but the service of one waiter was just disgusting. He dropped all the cutlery down my husband and didn't apologise, he was rude and had no manners.

Over all the hotel and stay was nice. The setting is very nice.
I enjoyed the stay, but I wouldn't be rushing back

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrstwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I apologise about the Restaurant service. I have passed on your comments to the restaurant manager in order for him to address
We do have a great setting in 12 acres of grounds which is an ideal place to relax
I am pleased that you restaurant experience did not prevent you from enjoying your stay

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having just enjoyed a one night stay here, the setting is beautiful with very nice gardens and a small lake that is very relaxing to walk round and sit reading by. We ate at the restaurant and found the standard of food very good. Likewise the breakfast. All in all, excellent. But...I have to take issue with the bar prices which are not far short of a disgrace. We have just ordered a coke and a lemonade and it was £7.70. How is this justifiable? That's half the price of my evening meal. The lager was over £5 per pint. A lovely hotel, but such a shame that they have to tarnish it by ripping people off in this manner.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and was able to take full advantage of our 12 acres of grounds.
Unfortunately the bar prices are competative within the local area for hotels of a similar standard

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here for business, but I will be returning with my partner for that weekend break.

The interior decor will not be to everyone's taste, but the superior room I stayed in was well appointed with plenty of power sockets and actual wardrobe space.

the bathroom was the only real let down, tiles around the tap end of the bath had moldy grout around them and the shower screen had a ripped seal so water poured all over the floor. The bath side also showed signs of a poor cleaning regime. The hotel maintenance staff though are brilliant and after telling the guy as I passed his door in the morning about the shower screen seal it was replaced by lunchtime.

A word of warning though if you are a light sleeper like me, the room doors do slam quite loudly - or at least they do on the 400 range - and late night guests will wake you up as they traverse since few seem to give consideration for sleeping guests these days. Which is a shame as otherwise the beds aer very comfortable and the pillows varied enough to cater for most tastes

On the up side, the hotel boasts a spa, gym and pool and whilst i haven't tried the spa I did make use of the Pool, gym, steam room and sauna. The pool is not huge, but large enough to swim around rather than laps and they have a "no kids" time between 12 & 2 pm.

The restaurant is appropriate for the style of the hotel and the quality of the food is good. If you do not fancy this though the Ecclesall Road abounds with restaurants of all types and styles, but if American is your flavor then a visit to Uncle Sam's Chuck Wagon is a must.

Room Tip: The hotel has wonderfully groomed garden so a room over looking this is both good for a view, but al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggles3309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your extensive feedback and i am pleased that you were able to take full advantage of all of our facilites including the grounds and leisure

I have passed on your comments to the team

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,569 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel

Address: Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £50 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hall Sheffield
Hotel Kenwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing