We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for one night while visiting our daughter & found it was only a 10 minute walk. The hotel is situated in 12 acres of beautiful woodland and it is hard to imagine that you are less than half an hour away from Sheffield city centre. The reception area is quite impressive as you walk in, especially as there was a wedding party so there were lots of flowers & ribbons everywhere. There is a seating area in reception and a large dining area near the bar and the hotel also has a swimming pool with gym & jaccuzi. We did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food but our room (230) was in need of refurbishment with chipped paint and several black stains on the carpet. However the wall tiles in the bathroom looked quite new and there was plenty of space for toiletries with three glass shelves on the wall. The pillows were very flat even using the spare ones in the wardrobe but the bed was comfortable and the room very quiet so we did sleep well. Even though our room was a little tired we enjoyed our brief stay and wouldn't hesitate to book here again as the hotel is in an excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mackie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time and would return again. Although we are not modern and purpose built and our decor in parts is a little tired the in-house maintenance team are working through a programme in order to address some of the comments which you have highlighted.
Thank you for drawing these points to my attention regarding this specific room

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    422
    260
    127
    68
See reviews for
210
501
49
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I just want to say a big thank you to all the staff at Kenwood hall for pulling out all the stops and for making our wedding day that extra bit special...
Both Me and Nicola were so happy with everything you did for us and we can't thank you enough.
Gillian was a absolute star " a credit to your hotel, so friendly it's as though we'd known her for years"
So many people complimented us on the quality of the food and to have your head chef come out and see us after the meal to ask if everything was ok. Just shows you the passion your team have to strive to make your day special.....

We can't think of one negative, the day was superb in every way.....

Can't thank you enough..... Fantastic..!!!!!

Nicola and Andy. X

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your extensive and positive comments regarding your wedding day
I am pleased that Gill and the team were able to ensure that your day ran smoothly,
and that all exceeded your expectations -
I will ensure that the whole team have a copy of your feedback

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for our 2nd time saturday 21st june for one night. We used a groupon voucher to stay which included sparkling wine and chocolates in your room on arrival, 2 course meal at night and breakfast the following morning.We upgraded to a room with a balcony and it sure was worth it(20£ charge well spent)..glorious sunshine sipping champagne with great views. The meal at night was gorgeous again, i had the steak for main which incurs a surcharge but hey ho it normally does on groupon vouchers so this is not a problem and was plenty to choose that didn't cost extra. Breakfast again was great and really nice food with lots to choose from, it was really busy for breakfast and would like to have been sat somewhere less crowded but only a small complaint. The service we got from everyone we spoke to or interacted with was really professional and very polite! on check out we where asked to pay again for our supplements which we had already paid straight after our meal so that was annoying presumably there is some sort of problem putting that we had paid on the system .
Overall a great nights stay with great food and fantastic surroundings. Will definitely be back for our third stay soon!! :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swfc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your extensive feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel
With all of the beautiful weather we have been having it pays to upgrade to one of our deluxe bedrooms with your own patio or balcony -
I am pleased that you were able to take full advantage of your break and enjoyed your meals in the restaurant

I apologise for the confusion with your meal supplements and have passed to the restaurant manager for further training

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here on a groupon deal - 2 nights Band B with an evening meal and wine for the first night . The room was lovely and big and very clean . Reception staff were good and effecient
Breakfast was good quality food , buffet style.
The evening meal was from a set menu (on a groupon) and as we had an 830 reservation a few of the options were sold out , so the manager agreed to let my husband have the steak with no extra supplement (it should of been an extra £7.50) The waitressess were very helpfull and looked after us really well.
The hotel is within walking distance to sheffield centre (about 30 mins walk ) or there is a bus stop close by .
We used the Spa and leisure facilities - sauna , steam room , jacuzzi and pool which again were nice - a bit small though as it was raining, so a lot were making use of the indoor facilities . the only negative and a bit of a hazzard , was the fact that once changed you had to go down about 15-20 steps then into the pool , so equally on the way back the steps are slippery !
The grounds were beautifull with a small fishing lake .
The hotel is also situated close to the peak district so we had a lovely day at Stanage edge and Castleton .
We went for our wedding anniversary and it was the perfect location and service .. would definatly return

Room Tip: we had a large room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele12Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your positve comments regarding your experience during your recent stay. I am pleased that you were able to relax and make full use of our facilities
I apologise that we did not have your original meal option available, however I am pleased that the staff resolved this for you at the time and that you were happy with the way in which this was dealt with

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I had a one night dinner, bed and breakfast stay at this hotel. Located near the centre of Sheffield and yet you would think you were in the middle of the countryside. The Hall and more modern buildings attached to it are situated in beautiful lawned and wooded grounds with a large ornamental pond, complete with fountain!!
First impressions then very favourable - public rooms and bedroom all clean and in good order.Staff smart and polite but it appeared that drinks and meal supplements all had to be paid for there and then - couldn't be put on your room number and settled on departure as in all other hotels we have ever stayed in It seemed as though they must think everyone is dishonest and going to do a runner and seemed more concerned about making sure they had extracted all the money they were owed before one could get out of the dining room and go to bed!!

Then if you want a good nights sleep this is not the hotel for you!! Half past five this morning and the fire alarm went off . Everyone had to stand outside in the rain for 25 minutes before being let back in. Apparently a false alarm. On departure no apologies, no explanation just a request for yet more money for a further phantom supplement to our meal of the previous evening Needless to say this was not forthcoming. A more mercenary place I have never been to!! Not recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed quiet and away from traffic. TV somewhat obsolete and choice of channels poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roderick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback although a little disappointing
As with most hotel groups all guests are offered an option to open an account on check-in to charge any addtional items back to your room. It is explained at the time that should this not be required your will be asked to pay for your bill in either the restaurant or bar at the time

The fire alarm was raised during the early morning and in the interest of safety it was important that a full evacuation took place whilst the situation was investigated as it went straight to full alarm. Fortunately it was only found to be a guest smoking, and nothing more serious however the safety of the guests and the team are our prime consideration. I apologise for the disruption this caused

A letter was placed under all bedroom doors, the receptionist on check-out and the breakfast staff did aplologise to all guests as they encountered them - I can only aplogise if you were not personally spoken to during the event

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just spend an awesome stay at Kenwood hall courtesy Groupon deal.To start with,dealing with Receptionist Laura was fabulous,she was very helpful,courteous and professional.Rooms were large and clean.Restaurant breakfast as well dinner was delicious with above average service standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, from your bedroom allocation to both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant
I have passed on your positive feedback to Laura who will receive a star card and gift based on your recommendation

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is the second occasion I have stayed at the hotel and my experiences have been good. On both occasions I have found the staff to be unfailingly polite, efficient and professional ..nothing is too much trouble and it is service with a smile. Plenty of space in 'Superior' room (had standard room last visit and that was fine also), shower excellent a\nd bed extremely comfortable. My only comment would be to suggest the bathrooms would benefit from some updating. Ate in the bar and, again, food quality and service were up to the mark. Large car park, quite location, beautiful grounds and very close to the city. Room rates reflect these aspects but you expect to pay a little more for quality. Would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: It is a large hotel and some of the budget rooms (No'd 500>) are quite a distance from Recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deltablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your overall feedback of the hotel, the team and the facilites
I am pleased that you chose to return to Kenwood as a result of a positive visit the first time and that you was able to make full use of our facilities

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall

Property: Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Address: Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hall Sheffield
Hotel Kenwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing