We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A complete disaster.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A complete disaster.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

Took my wife here for her 60th birthday and was a complete disaster. First room shown had a picture window which opened onto a a patio,window would not slide open and local fishermen fishing 20 yards away looking directly into room, carpet dirty and a piece of plastic wrapper still on floor. Asked to have another room and this room had dirty carpets,dust on surfaces,urine stains on toilet, scum ring on the bath, sheet on bed had a hole which had been darned and grease marks on the mirror in room. We were shown a further two rooms which were no better. We were told that if we waited in the lobby for an hour or so they would give one of the rooms a power clean, the whole hotel needed a good clean and should have been clean to begin with We asked for a refund which we received and left the hotel and came home. I had planned a treat break for my wife's retirement birthday and a celebration meal in Sheffield the day we arrived, which was her birthday, instead she was in tears all the way home, a special celebration which cannot be replaced was ruined. Please do not go to this venue.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steele_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerDE55, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Dear Guest

I am very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations in terms of cleanliness of the hotel and we will take your feedback on board.

I am also very sorry that what should have been a celebration ended in tears, this isn't how we aim to treat our customers and as you can see from reviews many have positive experiences.

Please do contact me should you be prepared to give us a second chance as I know we can deliver so much better.

Kind regards
Janet Gurr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    413
    255
    123
    67
See reviews for
198
493
49
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Deal
Level Contributor
118 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

Just spent a wonderful long weekend at this hotel. Welcome from Scott on reception was second to none and all the staff throughout the hotel could not have been more attentive or helpful. We had a lovely clean, spacious, quiet bedroom on the 4th floor and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was fresh, varied and plentiful but could have been boosted with individual yoghurts and a selection of cold meats and cheeses.
Hotel is in a quiet area of Sheffield but the town centre can be walked in approx 25 minutes. There was a wedding on the Saturday night we were there but we did not experience any noise or disturbance whatsoever. We will be returning to this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

We recently stayed 2 nights at Kenwood Hall and prior to going were a little concerned by some of the reviews. OK it is looking a little worn in places, but our room was very clean and the hotel staff were as helpful as could be.
Basically you get what you pay for, and at £66 a night for bed and a full breakfast with a bottle of wine included for the first night, then I feel we certainly got good value for money.
The grounds are lovely and if it had been nice weather, unfortunately it was cold and wet, it would have been lovely sitting outside having a drink.
I would certainly use it again at those prices.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awizzbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

We have stayed here before and found the old part of the hotel has spacious rooms but need a lot of repairs and cleaning!! Ask for the newer rooms
This time in the newer part everything was spot on. No complaints at all.
Breakfast in the dining room was excellent. I asked for freshly cooked eggs. it was not a problem.
Had breakfast in the room, perfect, beautifully layed out.
The hotel was full but we had no problem with noise or service.
Arrival and departure service was speedy, pleasant and cheerful.
Lovely location.
We found all the staff helpfull and cheerful.
We will be staying here on our next visit to Sheffield .

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Stay here on a regular basis for work. Staff are faultless but too many niggles with rooms I have been allocated (all over a long time though):
Light bulbs blown and not replaced;
broken furniture;
missing shower curtain;
missing radiator (in the winter I kid you not);
no milk with tea and coffee in room;
no toilet rolls in bathroom - discovered "After the event" as it were;
cleanliness leaving a lot to be desired especially in bathrooms.

I have fed back that is these things that let the hotel down but I return time after time as I love the location and the staff are really nice and do deal with any problems I have raised. Saying that though I do not personally pay for my stay, if I did I would be complaining more and seeking a refund in some instances.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerDE55, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for the nice comments about our staff we do pride ourselves on offering good customer service and I will give the feedbcak to the team.

As you said any "niggles" we do our best to resolve them to customers satisfaction. We have employed a new Maintenance Supervisor and I look forward to improving in this area very quickly.

Once again thank you for your comments, we always openly welcome feedback from guests regarding their experience as we find it an invaluable tool for catering for our guest expectations and continually improving our standards of product and service.

Yours sincerely

Janet Gurr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

I have recently stayed in this advertised 4 star hotel for a leisure break on 19.3.10. No information re the spa had been broken since beginning of March. Also the room was not cleaned properly and covered in dust that had been sat for some time, no toiletries on first night and no replaced tea / coffee on second night. I have complained both directly by email to the Hotel Manager, Janet Gurr and the Guest Relations Manager, Lindsay Steele at Head Office in Harrogate. The responses i have acknowledge i should have been made aware of the broken spa and that they have problems with housekeeping which they were aware of prior, during and probably still now so beware you will not get the advertised service. This hotel can be booked for £59 per night per 2 people via hotel.com. As compensation i have been offerred a reduced b and b rate of £49 per night - wow. Needless to say i find it insulting to say the least.
Should anybody wish to see the emails i have received to prove the poor service and quality of this hotel and company please feel free to email me on michael.kelly1137@live.co.uk and i will gladly forward them on to you to prove this is real. DO NOT GO THERE

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtk1137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerDE55, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
Dear Mr Kelly

Thank you for your feedback I am sorry that we have fallen short of your expectations in terms of room standards and maintenance of the Jacuzzi in the Leisure Club.

We are closely monitoring Housekeeping to improve standards in this area through retaining of the team. The Jacuzzi was waiting for parts for repair and this has now been completed and is back up and running.

Once again thank you for your comments, we always openly welcome feedback from guests regarding their experience as we find it an invaluable tool for catering for our guest expectations and continually improving our standards of product and service.

Yours sincerely

Janet Gurr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Have just spent two nights at this hotel, the group consisted of myself and wife, two teenage children and Scamp our 14 month old border collie. Had planned on staying one night as we were in Sheffield to watch Dancing on Ice at the Arena but ended up staying an extra night. On the first night we had two rooms and on the second night just one as the hotel was full.

Lets start with the niggles and negative bits, but please read on after them.

Our room, 235, needed some TLC, silly things like a ceiling height hatch into the heating held up with tape, grouting in the bathroom needed replacing and the bath was perfectly useable and clean but probably needed to be replaced as it showed some signs of wear.

There were no fridges in any of the rooms and I am not aware of there being any secure storage. The furnishings are a little old fashioned, but I suspect more by design than age.

The freebies were rather limited and we had to ask for extra towels on the first night as insufficient were supplied.

Breakfast was fine but not amazing, rather limited choice especially for vegetarians, an issue for my older daughter. Being charged £3.50 for hot chocolate at breakfast time is also a little unusual! Service at breakfast on Sunday was a little slow, but I suspect we arrived shortly after everyone else in the hotel so it was busy!

Ok, if you are still reading the positives.

12 acres of very lovely well kept grounds, trees, flowers, wild life, peace and quiet in a busy city and a lake which we could see clearly from our second night’s room 437.

Staff were faultlessly polite and helpful. The young lady who dealt with us on the Saturday morning when the world and his wife were booking in and out and we wanted to take up two more rooms dealt with us with courtesy and politeness finding us one upgraded room sufficient for the four of us, although polite to those waiting her attention stayed on us until we were booked into another room, her attention only shifting to others when we needed to check something and I suggested she dealt someone else while we made up our minds. Contrary to many of the comments made about hotels here her first language was English with a Yorkshire accent, that being the case with the majority of staff we came across.

The hotel was clean, service generally was very quick and it was comfortable, the view of the lake from our second room was a real bonus and our dog loved the grounds!

Wireless internet throughout the hotel is free – that makes a change!

We booked on the net in advance at a cost of £59 per room per night; the second night cost £79 for the four of us that’s £25.50p per person per night, including the hot chocolate! We’ve paid more for an average B&B or even a travel lodge!

There are some minor niggles with this hotel but those really are out weighed by the positives. If things like peace and quiet and restful grounds are important to you, this really is quite a good choice. If you want ultra modern rooms then perhaps it is not.

Chris

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Densley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall

Property: Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Address: Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hall Sheffield
Hotel Kenwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing