We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Relaxed Little Place”
Review of Zanzibar African Cuisine - CLOSED

Zanzibar African Cuisine
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: African, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Vibrant, colourful background adourned with African exotic beautiful carvings, masks and paintings etc. Pretty surroundings with excellent ambience, homely and relaxing: out of this world African & Caribbean experience.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly and Relaxed Little Place”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Bought an Amazon Local voucher and visited early on a Friday evening. The menu is not extensive but that's possibly no bad thing. The owner was very charming and friendly. We ordered the garlic bread and chicken wings to start. For mains my partner had the curried goat and I had jerk chicken. We ordered rice to accompany. My partner did not enjoy the fact that the food was not piping hot - however it was very tasty. There is a chilled vibe and the service was slow but relaxed - I cannot abide feeling rushed. We did not indulge in pudding. Drinks are extremely reasonably prized and the beer had a lovely taste. Our cocktails were great too. My biggest moan was that the menus felt greasy - which never fails to irk me! We had been wanting to try this restaurant for some time and are glad we finally had the opportunity to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Polargirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godson O, Owner at Zanzibar African Cuisine, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Oh well, many thanks for your review/comments. All the same, if seeing is believing those who want to believe come to see. Im pleased you enjoyed your stay and had the extra cap(beauty) of African/Caribbean exuberance of entertainment... JOY JOY JOY!!! When people are reasonable with us we are more reasonable with them. When they give us love and respect we give them much more love and respect. It goes both ways. You have indeed demonstrated how it should be and all readers should take note from your review I hope, because people shoould come with an open mind, relax and enjoy the experience with love respect and tolerance as opposed to be at the edge with negativity. We are all brethren and should be given equal opportunity: we should be bold enough to try new things and embrace change positively. We have the goodies in the tank for all our customers, and they can miss out if they are not tolerant/patient and nice hence havent come for the good experience on offer. Good things come to those who waite and you did just that and thus enjoyed both the food, ambience, entertaiment alongside the love of Our God OOO given freely to all. We would love you to come back and with your friends. This is why we are here for : serve with all deligence to the highest quality possible, provide the difference ie the missing dimension that only the few chosen/elect can provide to HIs people. There are higher heights and deeper depths, the half has not yet been told so please dont stop coming. UK & Zanzibar Sheffield need you. All the best. May God bless you and the ones you came with. Thanks also for being honest not because you gave a good review but beacuse you listened to the good spirit inside you and took time out to be accurate without fear or favour. The true Children of God will never lie that's why they are always blessed not matter what! WE can make it, He will not let us & you to be ashamed we are working so hard for this country and His people and GOd is not dead!! He loves his people and His genuine customers, He wants them to be fed wright so we will continue to do our best. One day there will be free meals for all!!!! Bless. TYF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    64
    19
    6
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Quirky little place but great food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went last night with some friends who had a voucher. The total bill at the end was £83, so just over £20 each. That included 4 cocktails and 2 bottles of red wine so you can't fault the value for money aspect. The service was a little slow, but we were in no rush and when the food came, it was hot and full of flavour. We ordered lots of different starters, mains and desserts, which were all superbly seasoned and the wine was reasonably priced too. The atmosphere was a little quirky, reminding somewhat of the scene in Live and Let Die when Roger Moore has a drink in an African Bar. I was rather expecting our table to disappear into the wall. That said, the place was really clean and the food was superb. The evening was rounded off by the owner, me and my mate playing the bongos and xylophone in what can only be described as some sort of Afro/Anglo boy band. A rather quirky place, but we really couldn't fault it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank britishSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
2 reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Tasty food and a really nice and upbeat atmosphere. Very laid back but the food is worth the wait, will be returning - a great night out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tasty food, relaxed atmosphere and friendly service.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just been tonight with a groupon deal but would be happy to go back and pay full price. The food is yummy and service great so friendly and came and had a chat after our meal. We were made welcome and relaxed. I even got to play some african instruments. Great meal would definatley reccomend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pikey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The food was tasty and plentiful and value for money, I will be going back there again. Only downside was lack of professionalism it felt like we were in his home and had to wait ages for him to finish phone calls. He was very friendly though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Black-Puma007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zanzibar African Cuisine also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing