We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service”
Review of 7 Spices Balti - CLOSED

7 Spices Balti
Price range: £16 - £24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 7 Spices Balti restaurant provides a cosy hide away for those looking for ambience, elegance and of course tasty Indian Cuisine at the best Indian Restaurant in Sheffield. The unique decor makes it one of the most sophisticated restaurants in Sheffield and UK.
Reviewed 26 November 2023

My husband and I went last night for a very rare night out. He had tried to reserve a table earlier in the week but was told that they don't take bookings for couples; only larger parties and to just turn up.
We arrived at 6:45pm and was asked if we had booked! We were told the wait would be at least 30 mins and so sat in the waiting area. My husband went to order drinks at the bar as no-one immediately asked us which prompted a waitress to come and take our order. My husband then went to find a menu for us to look through which really should have been offered automatically.
The wine and Peroni were good.
We were taken to our table at 7:30pm (45min later) and was told we had to finish by 9pm due to a large booking. The service and food was ok but I had to ask for another wine towards the end of the meal as no-one checked if we would like more drinks.
As soon as our main meal plates were taken away they served hot wipes and the bill! This was at 8:20pm and a member of staff came to tell us we had to vacate the table immediately due to the other booking but were welcome to finish drinks in the waiting area!
Very disapponting experience for our rare night out and felt like we were on a conveyor belt. I won't go again as the food was average too.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2023

Went in after refurbished, nothing really has changed except front of house staff not as friendly or welcoming. Used to be a guy called Harry who made your experience very enjoyable. Food was not up to same standard, will give it one more chance as sometimes changes take a bit of time.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ianscott369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2023

Attended Saturday night after many enjoyable previous experiences at the restaurant but clearly the restaurant was not ready to re-open due to in-experience staff members.

Food was nowhere as nice as this used to be, portions are really small and prices have gone up.

The guy who used to be front of house has left the restaurant and is clearly missed as the service we received last night was poor!

If you attended before this restaurant temporarily closed then you need to expect a poor experience.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023

This restaurant is taking reservations but has been temporarily closed for quite a while.
We all travelled and parked up only to find it locked up in darkness. Someone should take responsibility to take the website down until it re-opens to avoid the disappointment and inconvenience well experienced.
Tripadvisor can you assist?
Mike.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank mikemoorhead2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023 via mobile

We booked a table for 7 people ,for a birthday ,when we got their it was closed ,several other people also turned up to find it closed ,we had to phone Butlers Balti to see if they could get us in ,we had no email or text to say they would not be open ,very disappointed as we had been their many times before & it had always been good

Date of visit: August 2023
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed 7 Spices Balti also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.