We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of India Garden

India Garden
Ranked #955 of 1,464 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Average”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The decor is fine but the staff are not up to scratch, they are not very welcolming, and the guy we spoke to didnt seem to understand our query?

The food selection is adequate, but they don't exactly sell the dishes, mine tasted burnt but my complaint fell on deaf ears, unfortunately its symptomatic of a lot of Indian restaurants nowadays, where pre prepared food is systematically warmed up!!

It's a shame because the place is ideally located, on a main road, close to Pubs etc.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    18
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food!! But please wash the smoking chefs clothes!!!!!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We visited today for the first time, after enjoying a wonderful tasty meal, we paid up and left the friendly restaurant, and to my horror!!!!!!the chef was outside having a cigarette,he looked filthy, his clothes looked like he d wiped the floor with them, I was horrified to what I saw....it made me feel sick to think he had cooked my food and I d eaten it!!!!! I won t be returning and what a shame cos we really enjoyed it !!! THANKS CHEF!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppymay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Groupon offer but would not pay full price”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Partner and I got the Groupon voucher which was £9 for 2 starters (up to £3.50) and 2 mains (up to £6.50). The service was ok but very rushed even though restaurant was not very full - we were in and out on 35 mins! The food we ordered was nice but I would not pay full price. I know we had a Groupon but I thought the ides of Groupon was to give customers the opportunity to try their food and portions?!?! My chicken tikka was 3 small pieces of chicken and both our Korma and bhuna contained 5 small pieces of chicken each. The nan bread was lovely but felt almost second class for using Groupon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EKater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Went using a groupon and bill came to £20, was really nice food and very fast/good service without feeling rushed. Waiters/waitress's very polite and helpful. Chicken vindaloo very nice and very hot! Parked on side road next to India garden no problem, would go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We were a bit worried by some of the reviews but went there with a Groupon voucher not knowing what to expect. No need to worry. The welcome was friendly, the food very nice and the service efficient. Will certainly come again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grannyannie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Garden also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to India Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing