We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Wharfage Cottage

Wharfage Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ironbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wharfage Cottage
Ranked #9 of 9 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a superb place to stay - Lovely old building with bags of character. It's on the main road, so there is some traffic noise, but everything else makes up for that minor minus point. The room is actually a suite with a little sitting room which has a fire place, table for two, fridge, TV etc. and breakfast is served in the room while you gaze out at the river and the Ironbridge. The bedroom also has a window overlooking the river.
There are lots of little touches that show a lot of thought has gone into making this place somewhere you can enjoy staying.
Caroline is a superb host and cooks a first class full English, or anything else you want.
Our deal included a pass for all the museums and taking that into consideration, was very good value indeed.
We would definitely recommend The Wharfage as a great place to stay and explore the Ironbridge area from.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villageidoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just spent a couple of nights in this ideal B&B. The room is in fact a small suite comprising sitting and dining area with adjoining bedroom and bathroom. Well and comfortably furnished, TV with radio in both rooms. The supplied fridge is good for keeping the wine chilled as well as for fresh milk for the tea and coffee in the room. Breakfast is excellent and hostess Caroline is very welcoming. A short walk from Museum of the Gorge and the village centre. Near the museum shuttle bus as well.

Room Tip: There is only one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Wharfage Cottage, We had the suite at the front of the house which meant we had a comfortable bedroom and shower room plus a private sitting/dining room. Lots of nice personal touches including fresh milk and drinks in the fridge and breakfast served in the room. Strongly recommended

Room Tip: Choose the suite for a little luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLB1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Our second stay at Wharfage cottage, the first time was six years ago, so didn't have to think twice about where to stay the second time. A lovely old restored 300y year old cottage, reasonably priced B&B in Ironbridge. Situated over the road from the river and very central to the local attractions. Rooms small, but very cosy with tea and coffee making facilities. The hosts were very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrier19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Centrally located in Ironbridge, very convenient for all the historic attractions of the area, the accomodation was of a high standard, as was the included breakfast. Only very small gripe was the lack of space in the bathroom, but as I'm well over 6ft tall I'm used to these problems, but that did not spoil our stay in the slightest. Would definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

17 The Wharfage, Ironbridge TF8 7AW, England is two 300 year old cottages timbered and sympathetically maintained in a simply marvellous location in Ironbridge. Having parking is a room boon. Caroline is a naturally warm, hospitable yet unobtrusive landlady, perfect for a B&B. Our room was characterful and comfortable. We are two adults and a 10 year old and our room was plenty big enough for us. Not modern and not glamorous, but really pleasant. We were all very happy. There are pubs along the Wharf but we were not disturbed by noise at all even tho there are a couple of ( appearingly very decent and pleasant) pubs nearby. The breakfast was good made with good ingredients. The tariff was good, we paid £70 for the 3 of us B&B.
As for the location, all the Ironbridge attractions are within 2 miles and there are some lovely walks. If you've never been to Ironbridge, do go and do stay here - it's fun and good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_finchley_lees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

This was a lovely old, and most of all reasonably priced B&B in Ironbridge. The cottage was over the road from the river and the owner was a very friendly helpful woman. The room we had was not large, although that should be expected in a 300 year old cottage. The room did however have tea and coffee making facilities and there was a seating area in the room as well as on the landing. A great oasis of a B&B and I would have no hesitation in suggesting it to others.

£50 B&B with en suite.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
1.8 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Malthouse
The Malthouse
#7 of 9 in Ironbridge
425 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#2 of 9 in Ironbridge
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Firs Riverside B & B
Firs Riverside B & B
#8 of 9 in Ironbridge
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharfage Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharfage Cottage

Property: Wharfage Cottage
Address: 17 The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Wharfage Cottage Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing