We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of The Tontine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tontine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
1 review
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I love this hotel, the staff are so friendly, the food is amazing and the owner is so helpful. The hotel has stunning views of the Iron Bridge. I have stayed here quite a few times and can't wait to return again very soon.

Room Tip: I like the stories about room 5 and have to stay in this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bournebeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    31
    34
    25
    25
See reviews for
35
68
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This pub is a traditional and welcoming pub, currently sat in it on weekend away and its not dated its traditional and rooms clean and great location and lovely staff, looking forward to good sleep xxx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoneexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Tontine has the best location, right opposite the iron ridge & should be an amazing place to stay, unfortunately it isn't.
It is in major need of renovation and a deep clean & tidy wouldn't go amiss, Christmas decs still hanging off the lights in the breakfast room. Dirty windows hidden behind dirty nets & curtains.
Having said that our room was clean & bed was comfy. It served its purpose as a stopover so we could enjoy all the museums in ironbridge. We were two families staying and the man who checked us in (presumably the owner??) was very helpful, it's a shame his staff on the Sunday morning weren't quite so helpful. Breakfast was a bit of a sham & a good job we were in no hurry.
Silly thing is I probably would go back but only because it has the family rooms & the location, I assume that's the reason they don't bother to do it up, the tourists still keep paying to stay?!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shazbatzannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ironbridge hotels

Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is right on the iron bridge, with great views from the front windows; which makes it extra sad that it is not better maintained. The whole place is just worn out, while it could be so much nicer! Some points that need addressing:
- overall decor, tired and dirty walls and carpets, bathrooms worn out
-there were two toilets on the first floor, one with no light and the other without a lock
-bathroom on first floor out if order
-bathroom on second floor had a lock which hardly worked
-wifi is some annoying login service, and in most places does not work (really only in the pub area, and then only sometimes)
- tv in the room only received a few channels, the rest had no signal.

Ok, it's very cheap, but this whole place just makes you sad...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had a great night at the Tontine, only booked the one night but would definitely go back! The staff were great, very friendly and welcoming. My only negative is that it could do with a bit of a deep clean and overhaul. But i tell you something i had one of the best night sleep i have ever had there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richardson21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

a brilliant hotel, with very accomodating, friendly and welcoming staff. the only criticism if you can call it a criticism is that some of the decor is in need of renewing, however this in no way affects our opinion of the hotel and the excellent rating is well deserved. would definitely stay again and have already reccommended to other people.

Room Tip: unless you want a private bathroom, the double standard room is more than adequate and a nice sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in December, must say the owner was very welcoming when we arrived and showed us to our room.

During our stay we were well looked after by the staff and even stayed up having a few drinks with them one night, they we are very polite and made us laugh with their jovial stories.

Food was great and the carvery was to die for, this is a must

This is also a great location right next to the first iron bridge ever built and a lovely country box location.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simplycoldbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.6 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
918 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
1.8 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
0.0 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#2 of 9 in Ironbridge
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tontine Hotel

Property: The Tontine Hotel
Address: The Square, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Tontine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Ironbridge
The Tontine Hotel Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing