We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!”
Review of The Tontine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tontine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just stayed here for 2 nights for the V Festival x had a lovely welcome from all the staff and the food was outstanding! I recommend the Sunday dinner x the room was spotless and we couldn't have asked for better x good drink last night in the bar x defo recommend staying here and the place is picturesque :-) x
Becky from South Wales

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arsenal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had food here and a few drinks the food which was simple, cheap and very nice and the Ale was very good with a choice of 4.

we did not stay here so can not comment on that but on reading the other reviews I have to agree it dose need a lick of paint and a bit of a update. Smoke dose woft in from outside. it is right oppsite the bridge so a great location. The staff where really nice thou and happy we would return for food.

someone recommend the malt house just take not it has live bands and the weekends till 1am and its very loud.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our strong advice would be to avoid this hotel. We had booked it for a treat on the last night of our holiday on our journey back from Wales. The location was ideal as I wanted my elderly mother and two young children to see the Ironbridge and surrounding area. The hotel boasted history, a great view of the bridge and these it had. However, we were greeted by a rude, bored member of staff who loudly protested about having to leave her lunch. She slammed an invoice in front of us (without any welcome) and demanded to know how we wanted to pay, whilst still shouting through the bar about her lunch. Outside smoke wafted in from a group having a cigarette immediately outside the front door. I enquired about the parking permit advertised on the website and she made us feel like beggars, before reluctantly going and finding one. She plonked keys to the rooms on the counter and left us to it, not even telling us which floor our rooms were on. There is no lift. Carpets are old and dirty and smell. Everywhere needs rennovating. Rooms are not clean - dust, cobwebs everywhere and the toilet/bathroom in ours stank. The cistern fills by some pump system which sounds like a pneumatic drill ( no exaggeration) and lasts about two minutes. At night (about 8.00pm) the bar area and space outside the hotel filled with a large number of drunken people who shouted, swore and revved engines until about 1pm. The bar was continuing to serve people who clearly could not stand up or walk straight. Breakfast was a poor mixture of cheap ingredients, 'full English' consisted of tinned chopped tomatoes, baked beans, and egg, a sausage that tasted like sawdust, and a hash brown. The waitress serving breakfast was the only polite member of staff we saw the whole time. When we handed in our keys the member of staff did not check that everything had been OK and seemed oblivious to the fact that we had been paying guests. Based on our experience, this is not a place to go if you like a quiet, clean, hospitable stay, or value for money and other places in Ironbridge looked far more pleasant. It is a great shame that such a magnificent building in the centre of a world heritage site is so badly managed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Jackdaw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I spent three nites here it was average welcome room needs more attention detail lots of dust and cob webs and room 4 needs tp lose the bath and become shower beter use of space. Then came breakfast first day I had scramble eggs Like rubber and notice the full English other guests were have very greese rubbish selection of cearl no fresh fruit one day no white bread no cornflakes tea was from.old urn and taste foul all in all the hotel lost in time needs to be more effort. And customer service could be better as well

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank LRA1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I love this hotel, the staff are so friendly, the food is amazing and the owner is so helpful. The hotel has stunning views of the Iron Bridge. I have stayed here quite a few times and can't wait to return again very soon.

Room Tip: I like the stories about room 5 and have to stay in this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bournebeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This pub is a traditional and welcoming pub, currently sat in it on weekend away and its not dated its traditional and rooms clean and great location and lovely staff, looking forward to good sleep xxx

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoneexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Tontine has the best location, right opposite the iron ridge & should be an amazing place to stay, unfortunately it isn't.
It is in major need of renovation and a deep clean & tidy wouldn't go amiss, Christmas decs still hanging off the lights in the breakfast room. Dirty windows hidden behind dirty nets & curtains.
Having said that our room was clean & bed was comfy. It served its purpose as a stopover so we could enjoy all the museums in ironbridge. We were two families staying and the man who checked us in (presumably the owner??) was very helpful, it's a shame his staff on the Sunday morning weren't quite so helpful. Breakfast was a bit of a sham & a good job we were in no hurry.
Silly thing is I probably would go back but only because it has the family rooms & the location, I assume that's the reason they don't bother to do it up, the tourists still keep paying to stay?!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shazbatzannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.6 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
952 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
1.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
0.0 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#2 of 9 in Ironbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tontine Hotel

Address: The Square, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range: £67 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Tontine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Ironbridge
The Tontine Hotel Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing