We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, food and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beer, food and staff”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Went with a few friends for a couple of beers after a walk up the Wrekin. The staff were really welcoming and friendly and the selection of beer was great (you can never go wrong if Doom Bar is on tap). The original plan was to have one or possibly two beers and go home but once we all sat down the menu caught our eyes and the snack let alone mains selection was to great and varied to turn down (the phone call to mum to tell her I wont be home for dinner had to be made). All in all lovely little place with great staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    54
    15
    18
    18
See reviews for
49
85
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Myself and two friends visited the Swan on Saturday afternoon for a late lunch. The Swan is under new ownership and is newly decorated, the picture of the pub does not do the place justice, they have brightened up the outside wih some lovely bright green brollies and planters. Inside there is a warm, cosy atmosphere. The lovely, charming 'Blakey' greeted us and discussed what was on offer on the menus. We opted for a selection of food to share, chicken, hummus and pitta, olives, potatoes, fries, pork balls etc. The food was fab, the atmosphere was chilled and relaxed and we thoroughly enjoyed our Saturday afternoon girly catch up. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

After a long walk from Ironbridge our party were really hungry and were tempted to try the Swan by it's very smart appearance as we walked by.
What a great choice. We were made very welcome and loved the menu choices. In the end we all went for the Sunday lunches which gave a choice of three meats (you could have one, two or the 'Big Daddy' ... all three!) which were served in a large Yorkshire Pudding with all the trimmings.
The men appreciated the selection of beer too.
Despite being full we all decided to have a sweet, wow these were fantastic! All presented beautifully with some homemade chocolate on the side.
We all agreed that this was a great find, I hesitated to write this review in case we can't get a table next weekend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Popped in for a snack and ending up staying the night ( room 5 ) very tastefully decorated and very clean, I believe it's under new ownership from chatting with the staff, well good luck to you all. A lovely place to visit

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evieella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Now under new management The Swan has become a welcoming place to be. The staff bend backwards to see you enjoy yourself. The food is great, I highly recommend the hot bar snacks, little bowls of tasty treats, perfect for when you don't want to sit down to a big meal. I was told that the stew and dumplings bring back happy childhood memories, may be my next choice. The new decor cuddles you as you sit in a comfy seat in the old beamed area. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
909 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
1.8 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse

Property: The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
Address: 21 The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Ironbridge Hotel Ironbridge
The Swan Hotel Smoke And Taphouse Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing