We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Swan is a welcoming place where the staff bend over backwards to help.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Swan is a very welcoming place to stay. The staff bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy yourself. The food and drink are excellent and plentiful. Stayed one night, rooms nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. I highly recommend this hotel as a base for sightseeing in the Ironbridge area. Will certainly stay again and thinking of taking 9 yr old grand-daughter next time.

Room Tip: We went as a group and took over all the rooms - all rooms nicely decorated, comfortable and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

What a gem!!
Found by accident whilst walking in Ironbridge.
Staff were so warm, friendly and hospitable, nothing was too much trouble.
Bar snacks were delicious and different. So dog friendly too!
Would love to come back

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank chester216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at The Swan for two nights for New Year, we usually stay at The Malthouse, but as it was booked we were offered a room at The Swan. The staff were so welcoming and the food and beer were excellent! We were very impressed with our room, it was well decorated and had a lot of character and a fantastic view of the river; the room was so clean and we could not fault it. We will definitely stay here next time we visit Ironbridge and as usual we will go to the live band at The Malthouse.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97Anonymous1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Dropped in by chance as it was the nearest place to where we could park in Ironbridge and that turned out to be our lucky find of the day! Welcoming team and a really comfortable bar with a brilliant selection of small plates! We had a wide range of the plates to share and a fish and chips and banoffee pie (THE BIGGEST BANOFFEE IN THE KINGDOM) - all fresh and zingy (esp the hot chicken wings!).. Great environment, food, drink and service - will return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PassionateAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Went with a few friends for a couple of beers after a walk up the Wrekin. The staff were really welcoming and friendly and the selection of beer was great (you can never go wrong if Doom Bar is on tap). The original plan was to have one or possibly two beers and go home but once we all sat down the menu caught our eyes and the snack let alone mains selection was to great and varied to turn down (the phone call to mum to tell her I wont be home for dinner had to be made). All in all lovely little place with great staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Myself and two friends visited the Swan on Saturday afternoon for a late lunch. The Swan is under new ownership and is newly decorated, the picture of the pub does not do the place justice, they have brightened up the outside wih some lovely bright green brollies and planters. Inside there is a warm, cosy atmosphere. The lovely, charming 'Blakey' greeted us and discussed what was on offer on the menus. We opted for a selection of food to share, chicken, hummus and pitta, olives, potatoes, fries, pork balls etc. The food was fab, the atmosphere was chilled and relaxed and we thoroughly enjoyed our Saturday afternoon girly catch up. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

After a long walk from Ironbridge our party were really hungry and were tempted to try the Swan by it's very smart appearance as we walked by.
What a great choice. We were made very welcome and loved the menu choices. In the end we all went for the Sunday lunches which gave a choice of three meats (you could have one, two or the 'Big Daddy' ... all three!) which were served in a large Yorkshire Pudding with all the trimmings.
The men appreciated the selection of beer too.
Despite being full we all decided to have a sweet, wow these were fantastic! All presented beautifully with some homemade chocolate on the side.
We all agreed that this was a great find, I hesitated to write this review in case we can't get a table next weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
957 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
163 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
1.9 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse

Address: 21 The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range: £61 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Ironbridge Hotel Ironbridge
The Swan Hotel Smoke And Taphouse Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing