We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food”
Review of Aftab

Aftab
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited after reading the reviews here and needed somewhere to go after a long hard day. The setting is idyllic and the restaurant warm and comfortable. The staff were friendly but not really service trained so everything was slid to us along the table.
The food was of excellent quality and tasted just as You would imagine a good curry to be. Not greasy or overspiced just satisfying and delicious.
You could see great care was taken to prepare the dishes and we all enjoyed the food.
We laughed over the price of a bottle of cobra beer as a pint of draft was £3.95 and a bottle was £8.95. It must have been massive! The bill worked out at around £20 a head including drinks.
The manager was very helpful and generally I could recommend this restaurant if you want to enjoy traditional curry house fare cooked as it should be. Not flash, contemporary or pretentious. Food that satisfies and lives up to your expectations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank santzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    48
    14
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never ever again ....always check your change !!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Well were to start I've been in aftabs many times over the years and always found it ok ..but after last Saturday night I'll never go in there again and would advise anybody that chooses to go there to be aware of what happened to us as it'll happen again !!!
Had been out for a couple of beers around ironbridge with 2 mates and came out of the tontine at about 11.50 with a decision walk down street to another pub or go for an Indian ...well we opted for the latter and went into aftabs ...the waiter explained that they were not taking anymore sit in customers but we could order a takeaway ..that wasn't a problem ordered takeaway and booked a taxi for half hours time ...we asked if we could have a beer while we waited ...no problem .
Waiter fetched over 3 pints and my mate gave him a £20 note he returned from the till with the change and this is were the fun started ...obviously he must have thought we were pissed or just plain daft ....the round came to £10.60 as he approached my mate he slid the fiver out of his hand handed it to my mate and palmed the change ..as he turned to walk back he slipped the change into the other waiters hand ...very slick almost practised...then dissapeared into the back never to be seen again .
Not happy with this I ask the waiter ( with the change in his hand) what he thought was going on to which he said oh do you want your change ( no mate I wAnt to pay a fiver a pint !!! )
He claimed the other waiter had been confused and handed over the coins sheepishly ..I asked for the other waiter to come back and explain his version of the confusion but like I said he was un available for comment ...by now things are starting to get a little heated so to diffuse the situation before it got proper out of hand ...told the manager to keep the takeaway and refund us which he did without even questioning why we were unhappy and when told him he could keep his beer to he refunded that in a flash and once again it was without question.
At that we left ...this was a very slick and practised routine that I imagine has been played out many a time when a waiter thinks a customer has had a drink and isn't 100% with the programme...in this instant it didn't work and caught them out ..but they will give it another go to an unsuspecting customer...so if you do go in there
Be aware!!!
.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beanyboy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Indian cuisine, typical UK restaurant.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Attentive staff, good Menu and Food. Comfortable surroundings. Bit on the boring side for a Night out. Nothing special.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St helens
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice decor, great value and lots of choices on the menu. Service was extremely quick, maybe a little too quick but would visit again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank alisonat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hadn't booked, happy to seat 4 adults, 4 kids & a baby in a buggy at 9pm on a sat eve & made us feel welcome.
Food was good, not the best I've ever had but it was really nice & not overpriced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shazbatzannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aftab also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Aftab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing