We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Better West Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Better West Western”
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Stayed with Partner over a long w/e in March. This is one of the better Best Westerns. The location is great right on the river, a minutes walk into the centre. There aren't many hotels in the heart of Ironbridge. How refreshing to be served by polite, well manoured English staff. Lovely park at the back of the hotel. Be mindful, this hotel is perfect for weddings, if you go at the w/e expect there to be one. Having said that, apart from a few extra people about, you wouldn't know they were there. Good honest value and service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    310
    75
    29
    14
See reviews for
122
488
19
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The best of the Best Westerns I have stayed at. The quality of the restaurant is of a standard of cuisine far above that which one would expect of a reasonably priced hotel. It makes a refreshing change for breakfasts to be cooked to order and served piping hot on hot plates. All meals are freshly cooked with fresh ingredients.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickandlynparris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramsey isle of man
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

My Wife and I have just returned from a four day long weekend at the Valley Hotel and it exceeded all expectations. Very clean and comfortable. Ecellent location for 'doing' the Ironbridge attractions with visitor entry passport worth £21.95 each included in break package cost. Food first class (2 AA Rosettes) including breakfasts. Staff all young, well trained and attentive and pleasant. Not an eastern european in sight and nothing too much trouble. Could not fault anything and would highly recommend. Thankyou Valley Hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Stayed for 1 night in The Valley hotel. We booked online with no problems. The setting of this hotel is very nice leading down to the river. Check in was very efficient and as we arrived early we were able to leave the car in the car park and walk into ironbridge.
The staff without exception, were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was a good size, very comfortable and quiet despite there being a wedding at the hotel.
Dined in the chez maw restauran., Menu offered good choice and the food was a high standard. A thoroughly enjoyable meal in a nice setting.
We would definitely stay here again and our expectations were far exceeded.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIONKOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

My husband and I have just returned with some friends from the Valley Hotel and had a really nice weekend. The staff were efficient and very friendly. Our rooms, though quite small (they were originally used for staff quarters which would account for their size), were pleasant, spotlessly clean and warm with a recently refurbished ensuite. The only downside were the very creaky floorboards which we were very conscious of,even if we tiptoed, the room below must have been able to hear us moving around.
However the highlight of our weekend was the amazing evening meal we had in the restaurant. January special rates were 2 courses and a glass of wine for £20 - amazing value !! I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I've had in recent times in this country. Our waiter, Lee was a darling and so attentive. Our compliments to the chef, he/she deserves the recently awarded 2star rosette - it should be more.
The hotel is very convenient for all the Ironbridge attractions and in lovely surroundings,
I would recommend a vist to the Blists Hill Victorian town, did'nt know what to expect but we spent a very pleasant afternoon there.
All in all would definitely like to go back .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvrilmastWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Stayed here for four days arriving sunday to a pleasant welcome. Allocated room 33 which had a pine four poster bed which was a bit over the top and frilly for me. Immediately noticed that the room was very chilly so I turned the radiator to maximum which made no difference. Spent a freezing cold night and so asked for someone to look at the radiator which they did but still needed a portable heater which made very little difference. Thin duvet didnt help, no radiator in the very small bathroom so morning ablutions were very rushed. Spent an uncomfortable and cold four days. Arrived back one afternoon to find the hotel had no electricity so went out (in the rain) to get a hot drink. Free secure wifi which was good. Very unusual arrangement about food, you cant eat in the bar and must eat in the formal restaraunt or have room service if you want to eat in the evening. Had a burger which was very nice and reasonably priced by hotel standards but felt a bit isolated eating it in my chilly room. I would prefer to have eaten in the bar area with other people. the man below had a rasping smokers type cough which kept me awake every night and I could hear everything from the room next door, including phone conversations and the alram clock, very poor in terms of privacy. Breakfast was nice with very pleasant waiting staff but overall would not recommed as there were much nicer looking bed and breakfasts in Ironbridge (which I saw when looking for somewhere warm to sit when the hotel had no electricity)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidexplorersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Dear Guest

Following your recent stay at our property, I am sorry to hear that your experience with us did not meet with your expectations. We take all customer feedback very seriously, so please be assured that your comments have been given due attention. The items you raised will certainly be further investigated to ensure enjoyable experiences for all of our guests. I would like to assure you that the power was down on the afternoon you mention for less than an hour and was due to some emergency maintenance that had to be carried out. This is extremely rare, and I am sorry for any inconvenience caused to you. I am pleased that you received pleasant service from our team members and enjoyed the food prepared by the kitchen brigade.

Thank you for your feedback. If we can be of any assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Booked 2 night break (interconneting rooms) with ironbridge passport ticket included. The rooms were lovely - comfortable beds with tv's in each room, lovely bathrooms, adequate clothes space, tea/facilities, full breakfast (waiter service) with everything we could imagine. The staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Ironbridge itself has 9 museums and blists hill - all were very enjoyable. All in all a very pleasant stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suec2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
2.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western
Best Western Valley Hotel Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing