We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in all respects” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Valley Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

As my company had used Best Western with good results, decided to try for personal use. We were a family party travelling with Grandpa (87). This hotel was a great hit with all concerned. It was a historically interesting building (look out for the tiles) which backed on to the River Severn across a park which made for a quiet morning walk. Ideally suited for World Heritage site locations. Car park was spacious.

The hotel experience itself was top notch and the owners are to be congratulated on their staff selection policy and induction/training. Everyone was attentive without being intrusive and the decision to eat dinner in the restaurant was certainly not regretted. I can still recall every mouthful of the Welsh lamb! The rooms were as warm as you could have wanted in winter, the family suite was spacious and the reception area well set out so bags and party members could be assembled.

Overall a very comfortable hotel, with warm staff and an excellent location. This will not be the last Best Western that we stay at!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at our property, it is wonderful to learn that you all had an enjoyable experience. Your kind words regarding the staff are greatly appreciated by us all. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel and indeed other Best Western properties in the future.
Wishing you a Happy New Year.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    287
    70
    28
    12
See reviews for
110
462
16
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We live locally and love visiting The Valley Hotel in Ironbridge. During December 2013 we booked the Gourmet Evening on a Saturday evening. The bar and restaurant were buzzing and tastefully decorated for Christmas. As usual the standard of food, restaurant, hotel and staff were exceptional. The hotel staff remain friendly and attentive ensuring that your visit is as good as can possible be. Special thanks to Chris, Caitlin, and Chef - oh, and not forgetting Ryan the "Washer Upper" - crockery was sparkling! The evening began with canapes and mulled wine in the bar whilst a guitarist sang, setting the scene for a lovely evening. All our courses were attractively presented and absolutely delicious. Chef even included a surprise Pre-Starter of Ham Hock Terrine. My husband always enjoys the fish dishes here and this evening was no exception! We finished our meal with coffees and homemade confection in the bar. The hotel is located in the beautiful Ironbridge Gorge area, ideal for exploring local attractions with plenty of parking. We look forward to returning to the hotel in the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wasessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Previous Guest
I am delighted to learn that your latest visit to the Hotel and Restaurant did not disappoint. Many thanks for all those special mentions; they are greatly appreciated by us all. We will be hosting more special events throughout this year and so we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Booked to go to the Valley for a Soul and Motown Christmas night complete with meal and disco. Unfortunately that night was cancelled and that meant that there were 15 of us without a works Christmas do even though we had paid our deposits. Not to worry as Lisa at the valley changed us to a Saturday night at no extra cost (Difference of £7 each!) The customer service was excellent and they could not apologise enough even though it was not their fault. We went on saturday and it was brilliant. The food was excellent and piping hot. Almost no time between courses, no sitting around and waiting inbetween. The service staff were young but so polite and attentive. The disco was great and the atmostphere brilliant! Will definately go next year! Great night out!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Previous Guest
Despite having to move your Christmas Party date due to reasons beyond our control, we are delighted to learn that your celebrations were enjoyed by all. Your wonderful feedback has been passed to Lisa and all the team members who looked after you on the night. We very much look forward to hosting your Christmas party in 2015; we start taking bookings in January! So please don t hesitate to contact us early to book your places..
Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royal savoy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst visiting Ironbridge and family. Everything fine, hotel warm tidy and served a good breakfast, my wife lost her ring which they found on the stairs and handed in. Rarity these days to have such honesty. Ideal spot to stay and visit area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank steve1234RoyalSavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Previous Guest,
I am very pleased to learn of your satisfaction with all aspects of your stay with us and that your lost ring was found and quickly returned.
With being in close walking distance to the Ironbridge, we are as you say in an ideal location. We hope you will come back and visit us and our wonderful local area again soon. If we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife & I booked a 2 night stay when visiting Ironbridge.The premises were superb,with a lot of historical interest incorporated into the site.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, with none of the commercial gimmicks or buzzwords used in too many modern hotel chains and catering establishments.The food was superb,and comfort all that one could hope for.Definitely a hotel to use in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyclopsMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Previous Guest
Following your recent short stay at our property we are delighted to learn of your enjoyment with all aspects of the stay. Your compliments of the food and service are greatly appreciated by myself and the entire team. Ironbridge and the surrounding towns and villages have so much to offer, we hope you are tempted to revisit us again soon and see a bit more!
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Quickly and easily booked a 3 night stay over the phone and even came with free 3 day pass to local attractions, admittedly only a few pounds but a nice extra. Check in good but should have asked for ground or 1st floor room when booking as there are many, many steps to 2nd floor. Receptionist gave tips on what to see and in what order also good local information about surrounding towns such as Shrewsbury. Comfortable and well equipped room with views over the garden and river. Good that they have plug points next to dressing table mirror for doing hair etc. Service good in the bar and really pleased to see that they stocked local ales and not just usual fizzy beers and lagers. We were given the menus in the bar and some nibbles whilst choosing and then shown to table. Service quick without being rushed from very friendly staff. Food very good from a varied menu and no supplements for anything, including steaks, on the half board menu. Good free WIFI in reception but a bit hit and miss in the upper floor bedrooms. They also had a PC for guests use in reception area. Staff happy to print off bus timetables and plans for you free of charge. TV did not have all channels on arrival but sorted by staff when we were out the next day. I hate buffet hot breakfasts and glad to see in this hotel your order was brought to the table although of course cereals, fruit and juice was buffet style.
My only complaint was guests smoking outside the bar on the patio below our room.
Would definitely stay again if in the area and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the gardens with views of woods and of (just) the river. Around 38 or ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuandmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Previous Guest,

Following your 3 night getaway with us I’m very pleased to learn of your enjoyment of all aspects of the stay, in particular of the food and service from staff.
Please accept our apologies for smoking close to your room. We do have a dedicated smoking area as guests are restricted from smoking on the patio, and so your comments regarding this have been passed to the Operations Team for future monitoring.
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting our county.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Swan Taphouse
The Swan Taphouse
#2 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
13.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have direct dial telephone with wireless high speed internet access, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western
Best Western Valley Hotel Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing