We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gil Singleton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gil Singleton”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

An excellent stay, albeit for one night only. I was particularly impressed with the restaurant and the ambience within. The attention to detail, cuisine and the care shown by the staff would put many a London restaurant to shame.
A most enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilSingleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
It’s wonderful to learn of your feedback following your recent stay at our Hotel. We are particularly delighted to hear of your enjoyment in our award winning Chez Maw Restaurant. The team will be very pleased to read your compliments. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon, hopefully for a little longer.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    296
    73
    29
    13
See reviews for
116
468
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked an overnight stay through Travel Zoo. Hotel was over and above our expectations. We had three rooms, two twin rooms which were average size and a third room which was a lovely spacious room with three beds and bathroom with corner bath. All the staff were helpful and pleasant especially Lee who served us in the restaurant and he was very attentive and polite.

Room Tip: Room 19, top floor not great if you can't do stairs but a lovely spacious room per above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
We are delighted to learn that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our service from the team; your kind words are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back with us again soon.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

One of the most friendly hotels we have stayed at and with a superb restaurant offering a wide choice. The food was excellent, fresh and beautifully presented as well as being quite reasonably priced. We stayed 2 nights but would have been happy to stay longer. All of the staff were very personable, extremely helpful and made our stay most pleasant. The hotel is within easy walking distance of many of the Gorge attractions and also very well placed if you want to explore some of Shropshire.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAST20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
Following your recent stay in the hotel we are delighted to learn of your enjoyment of all aspects. All of your kind comments and compliments are greatly appreciated. As you rightly suggest we are in an ideal location for exploring Ironbridge and the surrounding county of Shropshire, and we very much hope to welcome you back to enjoy some more of the hotel and wonderful local area. We hope to see you soon.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have just returned from a 1 night stay in the hotel . We were a party of 4 [mature travellers] .I cannot fault the hotel in any way at all . All the staff were so helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was well presented and hot. In the evening we had a bar meal which was good value for money and with a good choice. We purchased our passport tickets for the museums from the hotel and had 15% discount .The hotel is well placed to walk to the bridge and the Gorge Museum. I would have no hesitation in recommending anyone who wishes to stay in this area. Thank you for adding to a memorable short break

Room Tip: We were in 16 and 17 which overlooked the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHLEEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
We are delighted to learn of your enjoyment with all aspects of your recent stay with us. All of your kind compliments and comments are appreciated by myself and the entire team. A Museum Passport allows you 12 months to visit all the attractions and museums so we hope you are strongly encouraged to come back and stay with us again! We hope to welcome you back soon.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent 3 nights relaxing and taking in the sights. The Hotel was ideally situated to visit the local Museums and very easy to find. We eat in the Restaurant each night and the food was of a very high standard and well presented. The Hotel staff were very helpful during our stay. Lee one of the staff was smart, polite and very helpful and nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
Following your recent stay we are delighted to learn of your relaxing time with us. We do certainly have an excellent location right in the Gorge and we hope you have saved some areas and attractions to come back and visit. Thank you for your kind staff compliments, I know Lee will particularly appreciate your feedback. We very much hope to welcome you back again, so please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Comfortable and friendly hotel. Well positioned. Staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant and bar lack a little atmosphere but offer good food and value. The room was quite bland but spacious with a very large bed but, bizarrely, both cold water taps turned the wrong way.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
Following your recent trip to the hotel we are very pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay. Thank you for your comments that we constantly review in order to help us ensure enjoyable experiences for all of our guests in the future. We very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for two nights as a late winter break treat. We were very warmly greated by Roy on reception nice quick and easy check-in. We were in room 26 which was a lovely large room. We were really happy with the room until the people in the room above arrived and we realised that the floor boards were extremely creaky not just in one section but the whole floor. Also we could hear everything else that was going on in the room talking etc. We don't belive that the couple were actually being loud just that there does not seem to be much if any noise insulation. This sadly resulted in a very bad first night stay. When we returned from a day out on Saturday Roy was on reception again and we notified him of the fact that it is a very noisy room and he couldn't have been more helpful. He managed to find us another room and helped us to move our luggage. He could not apologise enough. We had a much better nights sleep. Breakfast was lovely all restarant staff extremely friendly and very fast service. Roy advised us that he had not been working on reception for very long but he is a real asset to the hotel and we wanted to express how much we appreciated all his help and what a lovely young man he is. We will be back but will request a 1st floor room.

Room Tip: Can't comment for the main part of the hotel but the two rooms we stayed in on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Previous Guest
Following your recent stay in the hotel, I am sorry to learn of the difficulties you encountered during your first night. We take all feedback very seriously so please be assured that your comments have been given our full attention. I am pleased that you had a good second night. Thank you for your kind compliments of Roy, I know that he will appreciate your kind words. We are delighted with your intention to return, and look forward to welcoming you back.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western
Best Western Valley Hotel Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing