We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Bryn E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

My experience of Best Westerns in Paris has not been goood so how pleased we were with our experience in the Valley Hotel. The building is lovely, the staff are very helpful and the food is exceptional - consistently good and some of the best I've had.

We loved all the decorative tiles and the style of the 'streets' where some of the rooms are. The beers in the bar were good (especially the Charles Darwin) and a good selection of wines.

The hotel is conveniently located close to the iron bridge which can be reached through a nice garden and a river walk. We liked the way the guy in reception remembered us and had our key ready for us on our return.

One piece of advice for visitors; if, like us, you like fresh air at night, be sure to ask for a room with an outside view. Some rooms look out onto a covered 'street' and the windows are sealed.

And one for the management; the 'industrial' bread in the packed lunches was somewhat at odds with the overall standard of catering.

But would we stay there again - no doubt!

Room Tip: If, like us, you like fresh air at night, be sure to ask for a room with an outside view. Some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungry-Hedgehog-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
Following you recent short break in the hotel we are very pleased to learn of your enjoyment of the stay; in particular of our award winning food and service from staff. Our original tiles in the hotel are very appreciated by our guests and are a real treasure of the building. We are delighted to learn of your intention to return, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Lovely hotel in perfect location, being ideal for visiting Ironbridge. Stayed two nights and would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to visit the Gorge.
The staff were excellent, all were very efficient, friendly and most helpful.
Room clean and very comfortable. Food of the highest quality.
Beautiful view from our room of the river below and the lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Townfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
Thank you for your kind words, compliments and recommendation following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn of your enjoyment of all aspects. Our location is, as you say perfect, which is great for both our leisure and business guests. We very much hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy some more of what this wonderful World Heritage site has to offer.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Enjoyed a weekend stay at The Valley in February, despite the river being in flood, Ironbridge is lovely. We thought that the quality of the hotel was really good, the room was spacious, clean and very pleasant. The bar and restaurant were excellent for service, food quality, presentation and price. And the breakfast offered a wide choice of items, well cooked and well served. Sounds like a paragraph from a brochure, but it's all true!

Room Tip: The simple way to get a good room is ask for it, we did and it worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
We are delighted to learn of your satisfaction with all aspects of your recent stay with us. In particular we are very pleased to hear of your enjoyment of the Restaurant and service from staff; your kind compliments are appreciated. Ironbridge is a lovely place with plenty to keep everyone occupied; today the sun is shining, and signs of green shoots can be seen! We hope to welcome you back soon perhaps when the weather is bit warmer so that all of the wonderful outside areas can be enjoyed.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

An excellent stay, albeit for one night only. I was particularly impressed with the restaurant and the ambience within. The attention to detail, cuisine and the care shown by the staff would put many a London restaurant to shame.
A most enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilSingleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
It’s wonderful to learn of your feedback following your recent stay at our Hotel. We are particularly delighted to hear of your enjoyment in our award winning Chez Maw Restaurant. The team will be very pleased to read your compliments. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon, hopefully for a little longer.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked an overnight stay through Travel Zoo. Hotel was over and above our expectations. We had three rooms, two twin rooms which were average size and a third room which was a lovely spacious room with three beds and bathroom with corner bath. All the staff were helpful and pleasant especially Lee who served us in the restaurant and he was very attentive and polite.

Room Tip: Room 19, top floor not great if you can't do stairs but a lovely spacious room per above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
We are delighted to learn that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our service from the team; your kind words are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back with us again soon.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,219 reviews
2.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range: £66 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western
Best Western Valley Hotel Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing