We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Valley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tontine Hotel(Ironbridge)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge(Telford)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
International Hotel Telford(Telford)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge(Telford)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson Telford(Telford)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,042)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveller rating
570
340
83
32
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
570
340
83
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschez mawlovely hotelleisure breakwould highly recommend this hotelbuffet stylewithout exceptionfour poster beddale endbreakfast and dinnerthe main housewedding partyplenty of parkingsingle roomiron bridgepot roastold houseno lift
Filter
Updating list...
676 - 681 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice staff, lovely location, but uninspiring food and ghastly depressing dining room. Also, our room had little light or ventilation. Would have been hell in hot weather. And the shower was pretty useless

Room Tip: Avoid room 16
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with certain aspects of your stay with us. It is most unusual for us to receive feedback of this nature, particularly about the food in our award winning Chez Maw Restaurant, please accept our apologies that it did not meet with your expectations. In regards to the bedroom, we would have been very happy to investigate other available bedrooms for you, for the duration of your stay. I am pleased to learn of your enjoyment of the service from staff and of our wonderful location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Let's start with the positives: Very friendly staff, great location within 5 minutes walk to the Iron Bridge & plenty of tea-rooms, pubs & a very nice Thai restaurant. Room was clean & missing towels immediately provided. Lovely back garden situated next to a well kept park. Accessible by road without having to drive through very busy tourist areas. Good breakfast choices served in pleasant restaurant area. Very good wifi - you'll need it as mobile coverage is non-existent in large parts of the hotel even EE.
Now the not so goods: Room 3 in old part of house - small room, if I sat at dressing table, hubby was marooned on his side of the room as space was so tight (I'm slim before you wonder). Air-conditioning unit right outside window constantly noisy when window open, unfortunately too exhausted to request room change when discovered this on opening the window as too hot during the night :-( Only one bottle of hair/body wash on wall by shower, nothing by sink to wash hands with. Totally Ibis style (but they do it better) & definitely below standard for a Best Western. Absolutely no sound-proofing, could hear every word of people walking in corridor & lots of noise from room above whose kids were obviously wide awake at 6am. No mobile coverage in room, not always an issue but was for me on this occasion as waiting on news from overseas - wifi worked well so switched to checking via the Internet - great as long as you don't want to sleep! Hubby & I went up for cooked breakfast separately & both experienced long wait as they kept running out of food (large wedding party in but should have been more prepared).
This was a last minute booking via booking.com & occupation in the town was high for Bank Holiday weekend. However, less expensive options were available at up to 1/2 price paid but went for Best Western as wanted quality night away. I always try to be objective in my reviews but there were issues here which were acknowledged on check-out & the bill reduced by a token amount. Don't feel totally negative about this hotel as lots of good points as noted - just overriding feel that it was poor value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zymotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
We were sorry and naturally disappointed to learn that not all aspects of your stay with us met or indeed exceeded your expectations on this occasion. We take guest feedback very seriously, so pleased be assured that all of your comments have been given very careful review.
Due to the nature of the building we do have varying bedroom sizes, and I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with your allocated bedroom. We would have been very happy to explore other bedroom options with you despite the Hotel being busy. In regards to the bathrooms toiletries, we have hair and body wash at the bath/shower plus two small soap bars for use at the basin and bath if required. Please accept our apologies for disturbance from surrounding guests and for difficulty in telephone signal. Our location in the Gorge can result in some areas of the hotel having difficulty on certain mobile networks, with whom we are in constant contact, trying to improve this service to our guests. I am pleased our WIFI network was providing you with an efficient service. I am sorry for any delay at Breakfast, I have passed your comments regarding this to the Restaurant Manager.
It is our intention that all guests leave us having had a positive experience, and I am pleased that your feedback was addressed upon departure. It is good to learn of your enjoyment of the service from staff and of our fantastic location in this scenic World Heritage Site.
We very much hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for two nights and found the staff very accommodating (we arrived late but they were more than happy to provide us with a bar snack as we only wanted something light) The hotel is very interesting in a quirky sort-of-way.It used to have alleyways between the outbuildings but a roof has been fitted covering the alleys and the old cobblestones are now carpetted.Highly unusual to look outside and see carpet! The room was clean and well appointed but we found it a bit stuffy being inside and inside (if you get my meaning!)It would improve sleep quality if the inside lights were dimmed at night,the curtains don't shut out much light!
Having said that,we could not fault the service and the warmth of the staff.Helpful and polite,they gave us ideas about local places to visit.Great to have people you can have a bit of banter with.We found that sitting outside overlooking the park was a very peaceful way to start and end the day with birdsong serenading us and little else to spoil it (you can barely hear the traffic going past)We walked in the park which is beautifully kept and were lucky enough to see an otter down by the river.
The breakfast was well presented with lots of cereal, fresh fruit and yogurts on offer.the full English was a hit and served up by the normal cheerful staff.
We will definitely be back.Many thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugsy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
We are delighted to learn of your enjoyment of your recent stay in the hotel. In particular I am very pleased to hear you were well looked after by the team. The converted outbuilding that you mention were once the stables and servants quarters to the house, and is a popular feature with guests.
It was amazing to hear you had seen an otter, something we have not witnessed, so you were definitely in the right place at the right time..!
Thank you for all the feedback, we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Valley hotel during a business trip. The staff is very friendly and attentive to your needs. The location of the hotel only a short walk from Ironbridge makes the hotel very convenient. I am going to stay here for my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
I am delighted to learn of your enjoyment of your stay at our property during a recent business trip. It is important to us that our business guests feel welcome and at home in the hotel whilst travelling and working away. I very much hope that this was the case. It is wonderful that you intend to return to us, we look forward to welcoming you back.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is at a very good location, with walking access to the river Severn, and the Ironbridge. Food at the restaurant is especially good. The staff are helpful. Rooms are comfortable, and clean. The plumbing of the bath and shower could be renovated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
Following your recent stay in the hotel, we are very pleased to learn of your feedback, particularly of our awarding winning food and service from staff. We very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews